Update on us 7/1/12

1 Jul

I don’t get out much.  I’ve never been one to travel, party or venture too far from home.  It’s just how I am.  I have my mother to thank for that.  Grocery shopping now takes place at 10pm while the kids sleep.  It’s just easier.  I did risk going to the beach yesterday with all the kids and we actually had fun.  Graham even came, which I desperately needed to help corral everyone.  I was encouraged while I sat in those white beach chairs and dug my toes into the sand.

A lady, noticing little 8 week old Fallon had to come for a closer look.  She asked the usual questions.  ‘What’s her name?’ and ‘How old is she?’  After sharing my own name with her and where I lived she looked more closely at me.  She paused a minute.  ‘Wait…..are you the one whose husband was so hurt?’  We chatted as I pointed out Graham trying desperately to walk through the water almost falling:0)

It was nice hearing how our story encouraged her.  She remembered.  She cared.  Her own son had been in a bad accident many years ago.  After all this time, people still care.  And even though I’m stuck home most days dealing with spit-up, dirty diapers and laundry out the wa-zoo, I still have a big ministry in front of me.  I’m honored to STILL be used of the Lord.  And it’s not just being used because of what happened to Graham.  I’m being used because I’m a daughter of Christ, because I’m a mom and have a huge responsibility to them.  I want to be used on all fronts.

Summer time is always busy in the Adirondacks.  Everyone and their families come to the mountains to get away and experience the best this place has to offer.  Being born and raised here I can’t figure out why it’s not busy here in mid-January:0)  With all the busyness and late nights visiting with friends and family, Graham gets tired.

When Graham gets tired he gets more confused mentally and physically isn’t himself.  What has been frustrating lately for me is that he simply can’t trust his memories.  He reminds me so much of our boys who ask the same questions all day long.  “When are we going here?”  “Who is coming over again?”  It doesn’t seem to matter how many times I tell him, he just can’t seem to hang on to the information.  It’s the unimportant things that he gets hung up on too.  It’s harder right now because like I said, we’re busier than usual.  More things and stimuli are happening and it’s hard for him to separate what’s happening when and where and for how long.  It gets hard sometimes for me.  My patience gets stretched and I’m guilty of talking to him sometimes like he IS one of the boys.  You could pray for me in this area.  It really bothers me that I succumb, that I lose my patience with him sometimes.

Graham will never rid himself completely of this brain injury.  I have long accepted this.  And most days I truly am okay with it.  Most days Graham has accepted it as well.  I can’t say it enough.  We have MUCH to be thankful for.

Miracle of the day:

I already posted this the other day on Facebook…but Graham built this thing for us in under 2 hours.  He went to the lumber store, bought the wood and built it.  It was not a kit.  It did not come with instructions.  I was impressed!

Humor of the day:

I thought this was clever and wanted to share it with you.  We have 5 horses (as I’ve shared before) and therefore we have 5 halters that need to go on them when they get turned out into our field.  Each halter is a different color so that we can know which one goes on which horse.  For me I have just memorized the colors and to which horse they go on.  Graham has done something much different to remember and when he shared this with me I thought he was joking.  Nope.  He was being completely serious.  He has come up with a whole story that he runs through to help him remember this simple task.

Name of horse:

Maverick- He gets the blue one because in “Top Gun” the main character is named Maverick and he flies an airplane and airplanes fly in the blue sky.

Crockett (Graham’s horse)- He gets the green one because Davey Crockett traveled in the woods.  Woods are green.

Gunner- He gets the red one.  Guns shoot things and when they shoot things they make red blood.

Mesquite- She gets the pink one because she’s a girl and girls wear pink.

Cash (My horse)- He gets the black one because he’s named after Johnny Cash and he was a man who wore black.

To me it seems easier to just memorize which one goes on which horse…..but not so for Graham.  I wish I had this on video…..him telling me his method for remembering.  He couldn’t have been more serious:0)

This special lady, my grandmother, went to be with her Lord and Savior on June 19th, 2012.  She was 91 years old and married to my Grandpa for 67 years.  I hope and pray I live out my life as she did.  She was and remains a great example for me to follow!  You will be missed Grandma, but I know I’ll see you again one day.

My little aviator pilot!

 

 

 

 

8 Responses to “Update on us 7/1/12”

  1. Cindy Baker July 1, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    Randi, this is such an encouraging update and post. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. I love Graham’s way of remembering which halter goes with which horse…It is amazing that he remembers it better with many words rather than with two words…Crockett – Green…whatever works best I guess. Sure would like to know what else he does this for. Love the picture of your Gram such a gracious and godly lady and little Miss Fallon is surely growing. Continuing to pray for you all daily.

  2. Paul Zabriskie July 1, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

    I wouldn’t expect anything less from my hero. Go you, Graham.

  3. Theresa Board July 1, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

    I appreciate your words and your love for Graham, your children, and for God. You are leaving a legacy daily. I really liked the halter memorization technique…sounds exactly like something I would do, and up until now, I didn’t think Graham and I were all that much alike. Grace to all of you!

  4. Carlos Hidalgo July 1, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    Randy: I am glad you recognize that you are a daughter of Christ–I believe you also are a Princess in God’s Kingdom because you hold the most honored and important of positions–that of being a godly wife and mom! In today’s airports there are special places that only certain passengers with special credentials get to visit. There passengers can wait for their flights in the utmost of comfort–with free everything–drinks, food, newspapers, magazines, comfortable reclining chairs–some even have private showers. They go by different names, depending on the Airline–Admiral’s Club (American Airlines), Sky Club (Delta) Presidents Club (Continental) Red Carpet Club (United), etc. It’s not hard to imagine that there is a much better place in heaven–reserved for moms and wives like you…I don’t know what is called, but if I had the opportunity I would name it:
    “The Sticking With It Through Thick and Thin Godly Wives/Moms Special Place of Rest.” You, and other Wives and Moms who I am privileged to know, will all have special credentials to this place.

    “Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” GAL 6:9

  5. Dara July 1, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

    Whew, I can barely imagine how busy your summer is! I’ll definitely be praying for your patience, and your whole family in general 🙂 BTW, I am very impressed with Graham’s 2 hour project! Very nice! And the halter memorizing… haha, that is fantastic. 🙂 Thanks for sharing what’s up in your lives right now! It’s very cool to see that, even in the hectic heat of summertime, you are stepping back to see the big picture of how much your life matters in the hands of God-and the legacy you are leaving for your family; and also to others around you! 🙂

  6. Tami July 2, 2012 at 3:15 am #

    Sympathy on the loss of your grandmother. Even though you know you will see her again, you will miss her physical presence now. Just keep on clinging to your hope in Jesus. He has overcome the grave! Praying for God’s richest blessings continuing in your life. Keep up the good fight! God bless…Tami

  7. cathy armstrong July 2, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

    Randi, such a sweet post. I just have to mention that I would totally have to make a connection the way Graham did to remember which halter went on which horse and I haven’t had a brain injury. Thanks for sharing your heart as well. You are an amazing mom and wife and I know God is so pleased. You honor your Lord by your faithfulness in every part of your life and commitment. We are all very proud of you.

  8. Erikka Jennings July 9, 2012 at 3:39 am #

    Praying for you and your family.

Leave a Reply

