Update on us 6/6/12

6 Jun

WOW!  3 kids.  WOW!

I seriously wonder how parents do it with even more children scurrying about!

I’m trying to update while one is napping, the other coloring and the last brushing his teeth.  We’ll see how far I get!

Yup.  Just as I expected.  Not far.

We have been nothing but blessed by this little girl and the new life she has brought into our family.  Every time I look at her I can’t help but think of all the Lord has done.  The struggles and hurt are insignificant.  We are blessed.

Just like every married couple, we have to really work at communicating and getting that quality time in.  Adding a baby, two other kids, some memory issues and a TBI make it all that much harder.  I would be lying if I said everything is just awesome and we’re SO in love all the time.  HA!  We know we’re not fooling anyone!

It’s work.  Hard work.

What HAS helped is that I’m not pregnant anymore.  I usually turn into somewhat of a different person altogether when I’m with child:0).  It’s not pretty.  It’s embarrassing actually, and I can’t seem to help what comes out of my mouth.  Hormones.  Gotta love ‘em.

Graham has been so gracious the entire time and I’m realizing now that things are evening out a bit, just how gracious he’s been with me.  While he would let me vent and complain about things that I thought were a big deal, he quietly listened.  He has never once complained about his arm not working right, his crazy vision, or the frustrations of his memory, balance and other things.  He jokes about them yes. And even shows frustration when he can’t do something.  But that constant complaining and carrying on?  Feeling sorry for himself?  You won’t find it with Graham.

I sometimes forget how bad he has it some days because he’s so quiet about it all.

He’s an amazing example for me to follow.

Graham continues to heal, although it’s slow now with smaller improvements.  He’s been having some trouble with his left arm cramping up on him.  His hand will close and it’s hard for him to open it.  He doesn’t feel much in that arm and hand, but when it cramps it shoots pain up into his upper arm and shoulder.  He just received another Botox injection, so I’m sure that will help some.

Miracle of the day:

This was unthinkable for him to do last summer!  He physically wouldn’t have been able to do it and he had no interest anyway! (he ties his own flies when he fly-fishes)

Really concentrating!

It’s starting to come together…I think?

Finished product!  Zonker-strip Crosscuts! (and I have no idea what that is!) Nothing fancy, but these are the first he’s tied since his accident!!

Humor of the day:

We are back in the same room/bed once again!  So far he hasn’t beaten me up too bad.  I totally understand why some couples need/want to sleep in separate beds.  It’s JUST easier sometimes:0)

Just like Dad! (except dad fly-fishes, and usually has pants on:0)

I found this bonnet and did a quick photo shoot of Fallon.  I know it’s kinda silly, but I got a smile!

3 Responses to “Update on us 6/6/12”

  1. Dara June 6, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    so good to read an update, and that things are…. well, typical life (aka, tough) but so awesome that you guys are seeing the blessings! 🙂 glad you’re in the same bed again, hopefully with minimal bruising (but its worth it! :P). had to LOL at the flyfishing pic- too cute! everyone is growing up so fast!
    dara

  2. Donna Welch June 6, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

    I didn’t get picture of Fallon …..Sounds like a normal hosehold at your house…….

  3. Julie Canfield June 14, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

    Hi Mrs. Stump,

    I do not know if you remember me or not, but I attended the BI 2008-2010 and worked in the Nursery at Grace Bible 2009-2010. I remember playing with Wyatt and Kieth, they have gotten so big! I was also a counselor on the ranch and at the rodeo watching the night of your husband’s accident. It has been such a long and continuously challenging journey. I have really enjoyed reading your posts throughout these past years and seeing how God has brought your family through all of these trials. Congratulations on your new baby girl Fallon, she is so precious!

Leave a Reply

