Update on us 4/3/12

3 Apr

This will probably be the last post I put on before ‘Little Miss’ makes her debut in a couple weeks.  We are physically ready for baby, but I must admit I am a bit nervous to have a newborn in the house again.  It’s been a while!  I’m hoping it all comes back to me.

Graham is beyond excited, as am I, but I think it’s different for the mom.  Labor, delivery, and newborn nights are on my thoughts these days.  I can’t wait to see him with a little girl and I will be sure to post pictures as soon as I can.

I know we’ll think she’s precious, but let’s be honest, most newborns are not so cute.  I was one of those “precious” little ones that took some time to “get cute.”  My mom would of course disagree with this, but looking at pictures of myself when I was really little is a bit depressing.  Wishing she comes out looking like Graham did as a baby isn’t much comfort either….he was even more scary looking!  I wish I had a scanner to put old pictures on here to prove my point.  I think you’d all agree with me.

It has taken almost 2 years, but Graham is finally almost the weight he was the time he was hurt.  He’s actually not happy about it.  It’s not really muscle he’s gaining back simply because he’s not as active as he once was.  Getting a bit older (he just turned 29) added with his ‘accident’ slow down (can’t run/move like he could and he’s self-conscious about it) alongside me gaining weight and him feeling he needs to keep up, has proved to add the weight on a bit differently.  I keep telling him it’s just because it’s been winter and we all put on ‘winter coats.’  He’ll shed it this summer I’m sure (wink, wink)

Graham has gotten some time with his horse, Crockett!  This horse ADORES him and him alone!

Miracle of the day:

Just thought I’d shard this picture….we took this Sunday, so I think I’m 37 weeks here.  This baby is going to be a constant reminder to us as to all the miraculous things the Lord has done and continues to do in our lives!

Humor of the day:

I have become like most pregnant women and begun nesting around the house.  I’m noticing though that I am kind of a ‘bossy nester.’  I do a lot myself as far as cleaning and organizing, but I suddenly begin to notice all the other ‘stuff’ that needs to be done, such as house projects and the like.

I guess I just want everyone else in the house to be as motivated as me right now.

To help my cause, Graham and I came up with a list of ‘to-do’s’ to help us get done what we want to get done….I thought I’d share!

Graham’s List:

*get burn permit

*burn piles of brush

*price out shutters for house

*seal foundation around house

*finish porch

*cut barn door to size

 

Randi’s List:

*plant trees (there’s an arrow drawing this to Graham’s list due to the fact that by the time the trees get here I will have JUST had the baby and am not sure I will be able to plant)

*order strawberry plants and plant

*learn to dance (Graham really wants me to get this one done)

*get through labor

*have baby

Seems pretty even…don’t you think? :0)

 

 

5 Responses to “Update on us 4/3/12”

  1. Joey April 3, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

    I love how you share with us how you feel…it makes me laugh and cry, too! Praying that your new little sweetheart will be a splash of joy in your home! Love the to do lists!
    xo

  2. Sherry Carr April 3, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

    Congratulations, any names yet. Praise God for “EVERYTHING””

  3. Jamie D April 3, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

    wow!! Congratulations!!! I hadn’t read of your great news until this post. It is so amazing to think of all that has happened in the past 2 years. To God be the glory.

  4. Codie April 4, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

    Whether “Little Miss” is ‘cute’ or ‘precious’, she’ll definitely be loved for the miracle that she is and a wonderful reminder of God’s blessings of new life. (Spoiler / disclaimer — Babies born naturally are sometimes “precious”. At least mine were until the funny head swelling and bruising went away. One of mine looked like he literally had a broken nasal bridge for weeks after delivery because of the awkward positioning.) Enjoy your last couple of days as a woman alone in a house full of men. Know you’ll be prayed for during the labor and delivery process; this is what women were MADE for!

    I think Graham’s idea for you to learn to dance is quite romantic 🙂

  5. Grannie April 21, 2012 at 6:06 pm #

    Wouldn’t it be nice if you could move that pesky *Get through labor” and the uncomfortable “Give birth” over to Graham’s list?! You could let him have one or both of those tasks and then you could do the trees!

    So glad that things sound up-beat there. Hope all is well and that the “Princess of the World” is the happiest, healthiest miracle ever!

    I agree – Graham wanting you to learn to dance really sounds romantic to me, too!

Leave a Reply

