Update on us 3/12/12

12 Mar

I wanted to give a quick update on Graham’s eye appointment because many have been asking about it.  It’s true…he has not been wearing his glasses at all and after his appointment on Monday it became a bit clearer as to why they aren’t working like they once were.

As most know Graham’s left side was the most affected from the accident….arm, hand, balance to that side, eye etc.  One of the main muscles that holds your eye in place and helps it balance with the other eye has broken down due to his brain injury.  It’s tight and doesn’t want to work right simply because his brain isn’t communicating properly to it.  It pulls his left eye a different way causing him to not just see double objects, but also causing the object to be twisted and turned in a way that is difficult to put back together.  Simply bouncing/pulling the objects back together with prisms isn’t enough for him.

He started noticing that when he turns his head a certain way he can actually move the objects back together to see single, which is new and exciting.  After spending some time with Graham his eye doctor determined that most likely he is just going to have to live with the double vision (which we already knew by the way) and that he doesn’t need to even wear his glasses anymore if he doesn’t want to.  Sometimes the brain can be “trained” to ignore the “fake” object and I believe that is somewhat happening to Graham after all this time.  I’m not sure his eyes are “getting better” necessarily, but his brain is learning to deal with the problem.

I am once again blown away by the brain and all it does and we remain thankful that Graham is STILL healing and getting better after a year and a half!  If you see Graham looking at you funny it’s because he’s trying to put you together to see just one of you, rather than two:0)

He also received more Botox in his arm, which is always helpful to him.  This will most likely be a long-term thing for him as his left arm continues to move more slowly than his right and remains tight and tense (much like the muscle in his eye)

Miracle of the day:

This is a special one to me and one that I want to share, although, some may not understand this completely.  Since Graham has been hurt SO many of the things he used to do before are just not possible or the interest is no longer there.  One of the things that took a big hit for him personally was his love and desire to work/ride his horse as well as the others that we have here.  It was his FAVORITE thing to do and he was quite good at it.  I know I’ve put pictures on here of him riding his horse, but that kind of riding was basically just him sitting on his horse and walking around.  Last summer he did ride some, but not a lot and like I said, mostly just walking around carefully…..almost like he was nervous or unsure of himself.  Many of our conversations (before the accident) were of what he wanted to work on or do with certain horses he was working with at the time.  Once he was hurt, he didn’t even talk about any horse at all.  It was just gone or something.  The passion, the desire and love were just no longer there.  It was kind of sad for me, but I never pushed him and just sadly watched his horse sit out in the corral day after day.  (I tried to ride him, and although Crockett is a great horse and very well-trained, he’s what you would call “a one person horse”….meaning, he prefers Graham over anyone else) For the first time since his accident Graham has been talking more and desiring the “horse” once again.  We’ve been having some nice weather here and yesterday Graham spent the afternoon outside working my mom’s horse, trimming hooves and working his own horse a bit.  Not just walking and sitting there (like most people do:0)…but working on those technical things that make a well-trained horse a well-trained horse.  The “itch” is back for him and this might be silly to some, but for me it makes me happy and encourages me that the Lord is still working on Graham and bringing things slowly back.  He has even mentioned roping again……but I’m not so sure we’re ready for that yet:0)

Humor of the day:

I shared last time that Graham and I are in separate beds due to the pneumonia I got and us both needing our sleep.  We are on complete opposite sides of the house in not just separate beds, but completely separate rooms.  Not only that, but he uses the upstairs bathroom and I use ours in our bedroom.  He has moved several of his clothes upstairs, his toothbrush and bought his own toothpaste to go up there too.  He did this slowly over about a week’s time….maybe so I wouldn’t notice as much?  Every few days I mention to him that I’m better now and maybe we could try the whole one bed/room thing….. but the response is always the same.  A nice smile, but a clear “no.”  He claims I’m too difficult to sleep with pregnant and quite frankly, I think he’s just enjoying sleeping how he wants in a queen-sized bed all to himself.  My family thinks we’re corky and maybe they’re right, but we are sleeping well…and once baby comes we won’t be sleeping at all.  I guess we’re soaking it all up while we can.   We are “house buddies” right now and the boys don’t know what to think when they wake up in the morning…they never know who to go to first!  One reason I don’t like our sleeping arrangements is because when Graham was hurt I slept for so long without him in bed and I hated it.  I guess knowing he’s in the house somewhere sleeping is going to have to be good enough for me.  At least he’s not in a hospital somewhere!

Some fun pics!

This has been the only real snow fall we’ve had this year…it wasn’t even really a storm for us in the mountains, but fun to play in nonetheless!

Graham wasn’t able to ride long before children were clawing their way up his horse for a ride!

We even got a group shot!!

4 Responses to “Update on us 3/12/12”

  1. Erikka Jennings March 12, 2012 at 7:30 pm #

    We really enjoy and love reading your updates. Thank you. Continuing to pray for you and your family. God Bless!

  2. jessicaacarter March 12, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    My husband is 3 1/2 yrs out from his injury and his eyes are messing up again too…Matt went thru extensive eye therapy that helped a ton…has glasses now for reading, working on the car, computer, etc…he’s most likely going to have to go back for more eye therapy. It strengthens the eye, muscles, brain in that area and sort of retrains things. Anyway, just a thought. Believe me, this is a journey full of learning! I’m going to go thru a lot of your older updates that I’ve missed the past few months and see if there is anything that we can learn from your story. God Bless and Take Care!

  3. Carlos Hidalgo March 12, 2012 at 10:46 pm #

    Randy: So thankful and glad of God’s continuing miracles in the journey you and Graham have been on. Re-training of the brain…did you ever think of that 20 months ago?
    I am also glad that Graham has the “horse” bug back.
    As far as the sleeping arrangements…It’s better if I don’t go there 🙂
    Blessings
    Carlos

  4. Grannie March 19, 2012 at 6:00 am #

    I’ve missed some of your updates. Had a few health issues here – but we’re back under control again. You mentioned sleeping apart. My husband has major spine problems with constant pain – even narcotics don’t relieve it. This makes him a very restless and light sleeper. We’ve been in different rooms for a couple of years now. I don’t like it – but know that he just can’t take having the disturbance of someone else moving around when he’s trying to sleep. I guess we all learn how to adapt to what our conditions require! You guys are doing great – and I’m thrilled that Graham is getting back to his horses again. It may even help “center” him a little more to do something he loved so much!
    Hang in there – You’re such an inspiration!
    Grannie

Leave a Reply

