Update on us 1/8/12

8 Jan

We have had a busy month, as I’m sure everyone has this time of year with all the holiday festivities.  We are just starting to get back into the swing of things after seeing lots of family, eating too much and then getting sick with stomach bugs and colds.  With everything that has been happening it has definitely taken a toll on Graham.  He just can’t handle all the things he once could and what would normally take a day for someone to recover, now takes him a week.

The ‘over-tired’ signs are always very clear to me as his wife.  His left arm doesn’t work very well and becomes more tucked up against his body.  His eyes (esp the left one) look strange and his speech becomes slurred and difficult to understand.  He’ll mumble and struggle to talk and that’s when I know he needs to go to bed!!  He gets more easily confused about things and I often have to repeat things to him that he should know.  He’s a trooper though and never complains…..we all get laughing at him when he says something off the wall, and he’ll laugh too, knowing he’s injured and just can’t help it.  As a huge extended family we all just love him so much!!

We had some great time with family out in Indiana, but not without getting sick.  The good and bad thing for Graham is that he can’t feel his stomach anymore, so on our way home in the car he had no idea he was getting sick!  Fortunately, I was driving at the time and I suddenly saw him spring to the back of the van.  I thought he was tending to the children and was thankful for his quick response to their needs.   I was quite mistaken.  The poor guy was sick in the dog dish, which we had with us for the day in case the dog started vomiting.  The dog, by the way, was the best traveler!  It was an adventure that day.  Wyatt also got sick:0)

I have had a lot of trouble uploading pictures on this website, but I think I have finally figured it out.  I wanted to show you some pictures of what Graham has been doing at work.  My dad encouraged me to get some pictures for myself to see and I wanted to post some for you as well.  He is doing so great and although a job like this takes longer now, the quality is still just as good.

I don’t want this to turn into a pregnancy blog, but I am 6 months pregnant and finally feeling pretty well now.  We still don’t know what we are having, but if we find out I’ll post it for sure.  Graham really wants a girl….we’ll see:0)  I must admit without going into too much detail that I was not expecting to get pregnant this quickly.  We both thought it would take at least a year, so needless to say, Graham is quite proud of himself.  Ready or not, baby is coming, and we are excited!!!

Miracle of the day:

I just love Graham’s attitude and am so thankful for it!!  I was reading somewhere that approximately 70% of TBI victims have to go on anti-depressants due to all the changes and hard things they have to deal with now.  I am not against them at all and feel in situations like that could be so helpful.  We have dealt with and continue to deal with lots of changes and Graham definitely struggles everyday with life now.  I’m just thankful he is not one of the 70% needing anything more.  Although at times I wonder what he’s thinking about and sometimes he even seems sad to me, he has never seemed depressed to the point of needing anything extra for help.  He has been very excepting of things, most times better than me, and is always quick to turn everything back into the Lord’s hands.  I’m so proud of him.

Humor of the day:

Some silly things lately:

1)   Graham was brought up to always pick up after himself, which as a wife and mom is SO nice.  He always hangs his wet towels up, and puts his dishes in the dishwasher.  He continues to do pretty well, but one thing that is just bizarre to me is that he won’t put the cap on the toothpaste anymore…..and he always would before.  I started noticing it recently and thought at first I was the one doing it because that would be just like me.  Nope, the culprit is Graham and remains to be as every night now I find the cap neatly sitting next to the toothpaste.   Believe me, I could care less, it’s just interesting to me how the brain works.

2)   Anytime there is a miscommunication problem in our family and extended family, poor Graham is blamed.  A few times it truly hasn’t been his fault, but he still takes the blame.

3)   Graham was really hard to shop for this year for Christmas.  His usual hobbies are basically non-existent, as he doesn’t have the energy or desire anymore, so I was at a loss as to what to get him.   Let’s just say the $5 movie bin at Wal-mart was a big hit!!  He’s watching one of his favorites now….Robin Hood Prince of Thieves.

Here’s some more pics of Indiana family

The girls, or women folk

The men!

Thanks for continuing to pray for us!!

 

 

3 Responses to “Update on us 1/8/12”

  1. Bob Bulmer January 8, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

    GREAT UPDATE RANDI. SO THANKFUL FOR YOU BOTH AND HOW YOU ARE DEALING WITH EVERYTHING.

    GOD BLESS.

  2. Phil Ackerman January 8, 2012 at 9:45 pm #

    What an amazing journey and encouragement to those of us dealing with issues as well. You both are an inspiration to me and I know to everyone who know and love you. You continue to be in my prayers as one who also is dealing with changes resulting from Open Heart Surgery. We are vessels that have been bought with a price. How do we begin to comprehend. Now we see in part, and one day in whole. Glory be to God !

  3. darcywiley January 13, 2012 at 4:32 am #

    Elliot was telling someone about Wyatt and Keith today. Sending high fives and hugs from our house to yours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

