Update on us 9/29/11

29 Sep

On this day last year Graham was officially released from Sunnyview Rehabilitation Hospital!  I didn’t know it then, but him coming home became the time when the “real” journey for us began.  Readjusting back into a routine and life was difficult yet so rewarding all at once.  I couldn’t believe he actually was able to move back in with us, able to be mobile and so much more I was told he would never do.

Graham doesn’t remember a lick of his first month’s home and that’s okay, we’re quick to tell him all the random, funny and quirky things he did.  He was obsessed with the time of day, what day it was and whether he was in a “dream world” or “real world”.  It was quite strange!  He repeated himself so often and for so long, after a time we would just laugh at him.  He’d laugh too, but wasn’t really sure why he was laughing. :0)…Ahh…good times!!

Sometimes when I’m alone in a quiet moment, which is rare by the way, I wonder if this was all real.  Was he really hurt that bad?  Did we really just survive this by God’s grace?  Some memories are seared into my brain, while others have slipped by and are hard to pull back up.  Did the doctors tell us all that bad news so that when he healed they would look like “miracle workers?”  I’m quickly reminded of the MRI results I got to see a few weeks after Graham’s accident.  I’m no doctor and definitely not a neurologist, yet even I could tell his injuries were significant.

The area that “sheared” in his brain (causing much of the damage) was much bigger than I could’ve imagined and the swelling of his brain was extremely obvious, even to me.  I believe the Lord needed me to see those pictures so I wouldn’t doubt a year later that HE really was the One who healed Graham, and YES, he really was hurt that bad.

It has been an absolutely awesome year!  I have grown more this year in my life, than any other time and I’m excited to see what more the Lord has in store for us Stumps!

I have been SO proud of Graham these past couple of weeks!  You may be wondering…..  “Wait…your last post he was driving you crazy!!  What’s going on here?”  Well, I have one word for all that…..HORMONES!!!!  The poor guy is realizing that this pregnancy is actually turning into therapy for him.  How…might you ask?

My constant visits to the bathroom and in particular the “porcelain throne” have forced Graham to help more with everything in the house and kid department.  He has had to make sure all the dirty dishes are out of the sink by morning as well as the trash out of the house.  Anything that may remotely smell has to be out!  He has always been a HUGE help and I have counted myself a blessed girl to have a guy like him.  Even with a brain injury he works hard to serve the boys and me on top of all his other responsibilities.

He has been doing so great with therapy and taking it very seriously, which is exciting.  Every Monday, Wednesday and Friday morning from 8-9am he faithfully works his left fingers, hand and arm to get it stronger and more flexible.  What’s amazing is that he’s doing this completely on his own….no “therapist” watching his every move.

His will to recover and heal continues to astonish me and I still see small amounts happening in him.  His drive, his passions, and his wit have been the most obvious to me as of late.  You can’t get anything by him anymore and he’s quick with the comebacks:0)

We will be beginning some swim therapy at the Word of Life Inn pool and we are excited about this.  They are graciously allowing us to use the pool when it’s open and it’s just right down the road from us.  Perfect!!  I’m chuckling right now out loud as I picture Graham swimming around…let’s just say he’s none too excited about it….but I sure am!!!  He needs this.

Miracle of the day:

As I shared above, I’m still seeing small improvements in Graham even after a year.  It’s hard to explain, but he’s been sharper lately during our conversations and more mature.  There have been times when I felt like I was having a conversation with a punky teenager.  HA!! That is not the case anymore.  Graham’s wisdom and encouragement have been seeping through more and more and it’s been exciting.  He’s floored me lately with some of his comments and it’s truly showing me that he’s very much aware of what’s important in life!

With help from his brother, Rick, Graham now has a new guitar!  This one is much easier for him to play and just a better quality guitar than his other one.  He plays this thing constantly and it’s been fun listening to him as he improves.  He is confident that he’ll “get there” with his guitar skills and in the meantime we’re all enjoying listening to him play. He’ll be playing this week at church, which he’s excited about.  Woo Hoo!!

Humor of the day:

I always know when Graham needs to go to bed when I hear him slipping/falling down our stairs!  I instantly run to make sure he’s okay and insist on him getting some rest.  His response is always one of two things:

“I’m not tired, I just misjudged the step!”  (So not true by the way, because this only EVER happens at night)

Or his most famous line to me:

“I’ll get all the sleep I need when I’m dead!”

I can’t win!!

 

 

 

 

8 Responses to “Update on us 9/29/11”

  1. Dolores M. Smith September 29, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    Randi, as I have said on facebook, thank you for taking us on this journey with Graham and the rest of your family. I pray for you all the time. I love seeing you guys at church whether Graham plays or not. See you Sunday.

  2. Codie September 29, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    Always glad to read an update! All I can say is only God, our Jehovah Rapha, our Healer! It has to be in His “doctor’s chart”, not ours! Tell Graham he is a good man for doing all the little things — dishes done, garbage taken out. Not all guys (even ones who haven’t had a TBI) can remember to do this 🙂

    Enjoy the pool therapy! I’m sure that will a nice treat for you too during the long winter months!

  3. Mona Strayer September 29, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    Randi,

    So excited to see that God still works. So blessed to be part of the journey, though not in a physical way, but certainly in prayer. And now you are being blessed even more! God has used this in many lives. Watching God do miracle after miracle sharpened my faith and many others. God bless you as you continue this journey!
    Mona S

  4. Leigh LoMaglio September 29, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    Randi, thank you so much for the updates. I have been following your story from the beginning and am so in awe of our Lord! He has truly done a great work in Graham as well as all who love him I am sure! My church always asks about how you are doing as they have been praying from the beginning of this journey as well. It has been a while since I updated them formally and I am looking forward to letting them know how well things are going. Of course, also excited to share your wonderful news. May God continue to bless you all with His mercy and grace! We serve a HUGE God, and your story helps prove that! God bless, Leigh LoMaglio

  5. Helne September 30, 2011 at 7:02 am #

    Prayers continue for Graham & your family ~~Helen

  6. Rosalind Beck September 30, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    So excited and happy for you all. Congratulations for the new life you are carrying. xxxx Love reading your updates, thanks so much for sharing.

  7. Donna Langman September 30, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    Some day we have to have our husbands meet. There are so many similarities, not only with their accident and healing but in their personalities! Thanks for sharing. I enjoy hearing about your journey. God bless!

  8. Dara October 3, 2011 at 1:01 am #

    I laughed out loud ( then had to explain to Drew) when I read about Grahams newest ” therapy”! Tho I’m sorry to hear little one is making you sick. Even so, thanks for the update & as always, the honesty! LOVE to hear how God is continuing to work in your family & also healing Graham! praying for you 5!

Leave a Reply

