Update on us 7/30/11 ONE YEAR!

30 Jul

It feels like yesterday and at other times it feels like a lifetime ago, but we are at the one-year marker and it’s crazy all the Lord has done for us.  I could never write it all down here (perhaps that’s why I should write a book:0), but the Lord truly has been faithful and loving to us and my heart rejoices that Graham is here today celebrating his life on this earth a bit longer!

This is going to be a quick update.  Graham is surprising me for a night out and I can’t tell you how excited I am!  Just that he is being romantic like this is blowing my mind…it’s not really his thing:0) I, on the other hand am a hopeless romantic so this is right up my ally!

We were supposed to share at the rodeo last night, but the whole show was cancelled due to bad weather.  We still went and shared at the Word of Life family Campground but it was kind of spur of the moment, so no video yet!  I know some of you have been waiting so patiently to see it, and I promise we’ll get it!  We’re planning on next week again at the ranch.  Hopefully the weather will cooperate.

Graham did such a great job!  I was so proud of him (maybe even had the “proud wife/mom” face on” a bit too much:0)

I wanted to post some pictures of Graham for you to see.  This was us last year and WOW!  Crazy to look back and see the miracles!

In the ER…..just off the helicopter….actually looks fairly normal even with all the tubing.   I remember it was difficult watching him change physically and how fast it happened!

I almost didn’t take this picture, but I’m so glad I did!  He’s in pretty rough shape here.  Just about every tube imaginable is hooked up to him at this point.  Completely in a comma here.

He might “appear” better here, he’s out of a lot of the tubing and has a trache in, but still very much asleep.  This was perhaps the scariest time because he is off all drugs but still not waking up.  So many of you were praying so fervently at this time!

Us TODAY!!!  So cool huh!?!?!?  It’s been a crazy year, but just look at our faces.  We ARE blessed and have SO much to be thankful for!

I have to get ready for my date, but thank you all again for the prayers this past year!   We remain humbled by your example to us.  So many of you truly have shown us as well as others, Jesus!

11 Responses to “Update on us 7/30/11 ONE YEAR!”

  1. Nancy Ray July 30, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    Hope you have a wonderful time tonight, Randi and Graham! And Randi…you and Graham have shown US Jesus! Your faith journey has blessed so many whom you don’t even know. The Lord continues to use you in magnificent ways!

    Your sister in Christ,
    Nancy Ray
    [Heartland Church]

  2. Dolores Smith July 30, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    This is just so touching to the heart. This date tonight will probably be one of your most warm, romantic and cuddly date. Thanks for posting. You two and your children seem like family to me. Love you all.

  3. Carlos Hidalgo July 30, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    Those who wait upon the Lord…! How exciting it is to see God’s goodness and love engulf your lives. Enjoy tonight’s and the hundreds of dates to come.
    God bless you
    Carlos

  4. Phil Ackerman July 30, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

    From a brother who has been in ICU twice, once in septic shock and once following Open Heart Surgery, I share the joy at how very far Graham has come. I can tell you that there are days that take me back to those dark days and perhaps that will happen to you. Just when you will think you are over the trauma it comes back to remind you, but then for me I am reminded as I am sure you are as well, we are living proof the the Lord God is the one who gives us life and No one can take it away without His approval. Everytime I see your picture the glow that radiates from your face speaks volumes of how Yahweh Himself brought you back to us. He took you by the hand and said, not yet my son, I still have work for you to.do.

  5. Joey Feltz July 30, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    God has so blessed you guys and He has blessed us
    through your story! Thanks for sharing all along the way…I can’t wait to read the book…and the chapters yet to come! Have a wonderful ‘date’!!
    xo

  6. Lisa July 30, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    Wow! Has it really been a year?! Blessed to have been allowed to journey with you. Thanks for the update, and have a wonderful night out!

  7. Anne Nesbitt July 31, 2011 at 2:19 am #

    Congratulations on your Date tonight. I’m sure you guys will have sooo much fun. You do not know me but I want to take a minute to thank you for sharing your journey for the past year with all of us. I cannot even imagine the fear and pain that you have all four been through. Your faith has been such an inspiration to me and so many others I’m sure. Thanks again for sharing with us, in the beginning I would check several times each day to see what the latest post was, partially in fear I think. But most days I would be amazed at Randi’s attitude and faith. I can’t wait for you to write the book, not only for me to read but for your children when they are older. God definitely had more things for Graham to do a year ago and I know you had no idea how many lives he would touch with your posting. Good cuddling to you two tonight. Your sister in Christ, Anne, South Florida

  8. Liz Welch July 31, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    Randi and Graham, This is such a marker in your lives, to look back over the past year and see how much God has provided and how he has changed your hearts. Thank you for letting us peek in and see your hearts, your struggles and fears, your victories, and God’s love through it all. Liz

  9. Dara July 31, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

    Wow… I don’t really know what to say besides that. God is so good!! It seems like so long ago that Graham was in a coma… look at you guys now! So amazing!!

    Have a FANTASTIC date tonight!! 🙂

  10. Loriann August 1, 2011 at 1:04 am #

    So very glad for such a miracle for you! He truly is Immanuel, God WITH us.

    Your friend on the pilgrim road,

    Loriann Smith steveandhannahsmith.blogspot.com

  11. Christy August 1, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    you make me cry…..but they are tears of gratefulness….or should i say GREAT+FULL+NESS….to Jesus for doing a miracle for all to see!

Leave a Reply

