Update on us 7/21/11

21 Jul

We had the most amazing privilege to have my sister-in-law, also Graham’s sister (Abby Vander Wiele), take some pictures of us a few days ago.  I’ve been much more sentimental since Graham’s accident due in part to having almost lost him.  I can’t seem to get enough pictures and moments captured because I know what it’s like to not have your most special love by your side all the time.  Abby did such an amazing job and each time I look at them my heart rejoices that Graham is IN the pictures with us.  Unfortunately, I’ve pictured him not there because that was almost how it turned out and my stomach just sinks…..I’m quickly reminded that he is in fact here, holding the boys’ hands, my hand and smiling right along with us!  He looks so great in the pictures too!  Much like his old self!  I’m so thrilled to share these with you and will put some of my favorites at the end of the post.

Graham has had this truck that we bought together right before Wyatt was born.  In short, it was Graham’s dream truck and we bought it with the intentions of using it to haul our horses around to do the “horse thing” more as a family.  When Graham was hurt I decided to take the truck off the road for a time because for obvious reasons, I didn’t know how everything was going to turn out with him.  I had no use for the truck.  The mini-van, although perhaps not as cool, is much more practical for me as a mom with two little kids.  The truck has been off the road now for almost a year and I was feeling really torn about keeping it or selling it.  The last thing I wanted to do was sell his truck on him when he was kind of out of it and then him begin to wonder where it went:0)….that wouldn’t have gone over well!  Just recently, we started talking more about the truck and life in general (where we’re at as a family and such).  I left the decision up to Graham, feeling that is was his to make.  About a week later he decided that indeed, we needed to sell it.  Realistically speaking, and I hate saying this, but most likely Graham will not be able to ride horses like he once did.  Especially roping.  Horses will always be huge part of our lives and we will continue to own them as long as we are able.  We just don’t NEED a truck to do it.  For now, we’re going to be sportin’ the mini-van with pride and so we put the truck up for sale.  This was not going to be an easy sell…..the truck is a unique one and would take a special buyer.  Here’s a picture of it:

I promise I’m going somewhere with this!

It was not registered, no plates on it etc.  Graham was certain it wouldn’t sell because someone would want to test-drive it and would just have to take our word that the truck was in excellent condition.  So, there it sat for a few weeks, NOT SELLING.   The Lord knew our silly, little desire to sell our truck, and after only a few weeks, it sold to our neighbor.  We think it was just tempting him too much everyday! :0)  I say all of this to imply that this truck and it selling and the Lord taking care of it all for us…..does absolutely NOTHING for Him.  Really, nothing.  It’s a dumb truck that’s going to rot away into a pile of rust one day.  Yet, He cared and took notice of our want to get rid of it.  I just can’t get over how much He cares for not only the big things (like healing Graham as He’s done), but also the little things (a silly truck).  I stand once again amazed.

Selling it was actually harder for me to do than Graham.  Hard because it’s another piece of the old him that is just not coming back.  I’m so proud of him though and how he thought it out, made the decision to sell it and went forward with it.  I actually had little to do with anything other than pulling the title out of the filing cabinet.  It’s a bit sad letting go and realizing that you’re now in a different boat, drifting down a completely new stretch of water.  Exciting too to see all the Lord is going to do and looking back to see all He’s done, all the rapids He’s brought you through….unharmed.  I fully believe with my whole heart that He can bring us, me, through this unharmed…….even if He had decided to take Graham home.

Miracle of the day:

The fuzzy “underwater” glasses seem to be doing something for Graham.  Not sure exactly what yet, but something.  His normal glasses are beginning to not work as well, so I’m hoping his eyes are realigning.  He still has such a hard time, but praise God he can see, and another really awesome thing is that he doesn’t EVER get headaches from all this!  AWESOME!

Humor of the day:

As I’ve shared before, Graham doesn’t know when he’s hungry or full.  He eats because he knows he’s suppose to and what’s funny now; he doesn’t know when to call it quits!  We laugh because I’ll open a banana for the boys and they’ll maybe only eat half of it.  What do I do?  I hand it to Graham.  Leftover food on the kids plates?  Instead of throwing it out……it now goes to Graham.  Half eaten sandwiches, cheese and bowls of cereal?  All go to Graham.  He’s like the dog that comes in and cleans up the floor of all the crumbs.  There are no more words like….”Honey, do you want this?….or can you eat that?”….I simply hand him the plate, bowl or cup and he knows what to do.  He really is like the family dog!!  :0)

Keep praying for us!

Here’s some pictures for you to look at….also on my facebook page!

10 Responses to “Update on us 7/21/11”

  1. Jane Wallenwine July 21, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    These photos are beautiful!

  2. Lisa July 21, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    Beautiful pictures, beautiful family. God is good! Thanks for the update….and the reminder that God cares about all our “little” problems.

  3. Bob Bulmer July 21, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    WHAT A GREAT ENTRY. SO GLAD FOR YOU AND YOUR FAMILY. I WAS THERE AT THE FIRST RODEO THIS YEAR AND WILL BE THERE ON THE 29TH.

    WANT TO SEE YOU BOTH BEFORE THE SUMMER IS OVER.

    GOD IS BLESSING AND ANSWERING PRAYER(S).

  4. Jen Searcy July 21, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    Such beautiful photos… this has been quite a year, but you are amazing for sharing it all! Life is messy and it helps to know the good and the bad. God bless! ps. I had no idea Abby was a photographer. We live in Indy… hmmm. Does she only do it for fun?

  5. Dolores Smith July 22, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    Thanks for the update. Pictures are so precious. Praying for your family all of the time.

  6. Dara July 22, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

    Great pictures!! 🙂

    So now, if we notice Graham putting on a little extra weight, we will understand why! 😛 hehe! So glad to hear you guys are doing well! 🙂

  7. Laureen Lawrence July 22, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Love your pics….love your faith.

  8. Sharon Pearce July 25, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    Graham has come so far in the past year! Praise the Lord. Your pictures are beautiful. Thank you for sharing them.

  9. Shannon July 26, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

    My husband is an 11 year TBI survivor…I just came across your blog and you have a beautiful family and story to share. I chuckled at the food story…my hubs in the first year or so (before we were married) after his injury would stand over a candy jar and literally empty it…I think for him it was a little impulse control that had not returned yet…but it since has…although he still cleans up the kid’s plates…haha

    I remember also having the same panicky feelings about him almost not being around and having to remind myself that he is here and well…Mike has little memory of his accident or the time around it…the problem is that as women who love their men…we remember it all. Blessings to you both and continued healing for Graham.

  10. Darcy Wiley July 31, 2011 at 3:20 am #

    I love your insight about How the Lord is big enough and compassionate enough to gift us in the little and big things. So happy to have witnessed (even if from afar) this amazing healing and recovery and the way God continues to minister to you in the day to day. ♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

