Update on us 6/16/11

16 Jun

Since the time I turned 14 and was able to get my working papers, I have worked outside the home.  My jobs ranged from waitress, stable hand, veterinary technician work and then running the horsemanship program at the Word of Life Ranch.  When kids came into the picture, I still worked, not because I had too, but because I wanted too.  I thought I needed that outlet in the form of a job.

Last summer while working, it became VERY clear to both Graham and I that it was time for me to stay home ALL the time and be with the kids.  I tried to look at it as a blessing because many moms have to work on top of being a mom, and I was not sure how I would do.  Whether Graham had gotten hurt last summer or not, I was on my way out, and what’s so neat about the whole thing is that the Lord already had my replacements lined up and ready to go!

So……all that to say, I am LOVING being home with the kids.  This summer so far has been so relaxing, fun and a huge teaching tool for me to use with our boys.  Our days are now spent catching butterflies, looking for bugs, snakes, strawberries, newts, throwing rocks in the stream and river, watching baby birds, swimming, getting dirty, riding the 4-wheelers or dirt bike, and playing with our new baby goats.  Yes, goats!  Pictures to come!

We planted a garden, which we’ve done every year, but I always felt I couldn’t help as much because of work.  Watching the corn sprout up and the beans flourish has been exciting to watch and be more a part of.  For the first time since I was 13, I am home for an entire summer with no schedule and responsibilities.  Well, two little kids, too many horses, dogs and now goats keep the responsibilities ever present, but I am able to observe more and actually enjoy the little things that are really NOT so little!

I am blessed to be home with the boys and love that in a way I get to “re-live” my childhood through them.  Watching them discover things outside or pick up a toad for the first time is perhaps the neatest thing to see.  These “lazy days of summer” are going to pass too quickly for us all, so I’m going to enjoy every minute of it!

Several people have told me who have gone through a similar situation as Graham and I that the year anniversary of the “accident” can be really hard.  They’re right, it is.  I have so much to be thankful for and feel we’ve been given too much in some ways when it comes to Graham’s healing.  What’s hard is that you can’t help but look back to this time last year and realize it’s coming……the time when your whole world and life changed……is coming.  “A year” is a very common time-line doctors use for the progress of their patients, sometimes it’s more, but usually most healing happens in a year.  When Graham was first hurt and we had to go through SO much they told me not to even think about certain things until a year went by.  “At a year you will know more of what he’s going to be like”…etc…etc….I remember thinking… “ok, I have a year, a year is a long time!”

So, now it’s here and here we are and we ARE so blessed!  Things are still rough at times, I still hurt and weep and ache for certain things in my husband to come back.  BUT, I’m not going to live my life in the past and think about all the “what ifs”.  We ARE moving forward, we ARE beginning to heal, we ARE laughing, we ARE having fun and we ARE living our life as it is NOW!  It’s such a great feeling.

Miracle of the day:

Graham might not be able to physically climb on his horse all the time and ride due to his tiredness, but he will come down and watch me ride mine.  What’s SO incredibly amazing is that while I’m working “Cash” (my horse) he gives me advice, tips and exercises to do with the horse to help train him.  He remembers EVERYTHING when it comes to working with horses.  I forgot how amazing he was at it!  I’ve been doing exactly what he’s been telling me to do and you know what?  My horse is moving right along in his training.  Have I mentioned I LOVE that horse and he was from Graham? :0)

Humor of the day:

Here are our new goats from our good friends….thanks Dan, Anna and kids….I was suppose to take just one, but couldn’t decide….so we’re thinking about it….they are so nice (for goats:0)

Ok here’s the humor…take a close look at these pictures and enjoy!!!

boys being introduced to the goats…they are fascinated, but not quite sure what to think….the dog in the back?  That’s Roxie and yes, all she wants to do is eat the goats!

First contact with the goat.  Notice the arm extended as far as possible….still not sure, but getting brave.  Roxie in the back, probably trying to chase the other one and snatch a bite!!

Doing some more petting, notice Keith (orange shirt)….he sees something…a tail?  What is that?

Wyatt has now taken notice of something too….what could it be?

YES!  Nanny berries!!! or “little black berries” dropping to the ground.

Really fascinating back here!!!  and yes that is Keith’s finger about to be inserted into the goat!!!!!!  What needs to be noted as well is that I went riding after this, so Dad (Graham) had the kids….I KNOW their hands didn’t get washed…

Good thing I’m a country MOM!!

Keep praying for us!

7 Responses to “Update on us 6/16/11”

  1. Phil Ackerman June 16, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

    Well, take it from one who has faced many a health challenge, don’t let life get your goat! I know a very baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa joke!! LOL

  2. Clarinda June 16, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    I’ve been reading your blog for this full year and praying for you as I see your post. I’m amazed at what the Lord has done in your lives. I want to encourage you I to made the decision to stay at home with my children last year due to changes in my husband and I’s life. God has blessed us more than we could imagine for it. When we follow God’s plan we are always blessed beyond measure. Thank you for the continued updates. Praise God.

  3. Bob Bulmer June 16, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    WHAT A WONDERFUL POST RANDI. GLAD YOU CAN BE AT HOME …….. EVEN THOUGH I CAN’T IMAGINE GETTING GOATS.

    WITH REGARD TO GRAHAM’S PROGRESS ……… THE FIRST YEAR IS THE FASTEST PROGRESS BUT LOOK FORWARD TO CONTINUED ‘LITTE STEPS’ IN THE YEAR AHEAD ……….. AND YOU STILL HAVE A FEW WEEKS UNTIL YEAR ONE IS UP.

    GOD BLESS YOU BOTH AND THE KIDS …………. EVEN THE TWO YOU JUST ADDED.

    HOPE TO SEE YOU ALL THIS SUMMER.

  4. Joey Feltz June 16, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    Love your updates and the details you put in! goats! wow…maybe goat’s milk cheese or something? praying for you all this evening! xo

  5. Anna Hay June 16, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

    We ALL laughed really hard. Loved the pictures and was encouraged like always from your post. Still praying for all of you.

  6. Sharon faulkner June 17, 2011 at 2:36 am #

    Randi,
    A year is a long time but don’t let it trip you up. I know I have had unconscience time tables…like when a year is up.. or I thought when we started out patient Hannah would be walking. God’s time table is best and I’m so grateful you are LIVING in the now even when you have those sad if only moments.I understand.:)
    You are still in my thoughts and prayers, thanks for taking the time to share it keeps me more directed in how I pray.
    Hugs, Sharon

  7. Carlos Hidalgo June 18, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    Randi: 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂
    Love to you, Graham and the boys!
    Carlos

Leave a Reply

