Update on us 4/25/11

25 Apr

What a fantastic Easter we had!  So much to be thankful for and SO glad that Graham was able to once again be here with the kids, the rest of the family and me.

We started our day by heading to church by 7:30 am!!!!  (yes this picture was taken at 7:30 am)

We do this every Sunday to get there in time to run through the songs we’ll be doing for the service.  There were many mornings before Graham’s accident that we just couldn’t seem to do anything in a loving and orderly fashion to get the family out the door.  Bad attitudes and grumpy kids somehow always set us back and started our day out just “ugly.”  What a shame too, because it’s Sunday!  Since the accident everything has changed, including our Sunday morning routine.  It’s still busy, no doubt, but my whole perspective and what’s really important now rules both of our hearts.  I now serve my kids, husband and most of all, the Lord, in a whole new and much more intimate way.

Sunday’s are always hard on Graham and I’m not sure why.  Perhaps just the change in routine and that he’s leading worship again….?  He was shot for the rest of the day, but hung in there like the trooper he is.  We went for walks with family and friends, had an Easter egg hunt for the kids, ate (of course) and went for more walks to the river to do some “sucker catching.”  It was such a special day.  One I’ll always remember!

Graham is still struggling so much with needing to sleep more and that he just can’t do the things that he used to be able to do.  He’s not as athletic, quick on his feet:0) and his vision is always hindering his every move.  It’s sad for me to watch sometimes and I’ll be honest….I catch myself still wondering why???

The moment I do this and after a few tears slide down my cheeks (most often hidden now because Wyatt can’t stand it when I cry) I am instantly flooded with what I CAN be thankful for and there IS SO much!!!  All the things that are different now are small and pale in comparison to what it could be like, or maybe even how it SHOULD be like.  I am blessed the Lord didn’t give me what I truly deserve in this.  His grace and love for me are simply enough.  I am realizing too this whole thing, the accident, our lives now, all of it…..really isn’t about me anyway.  I am only a vessel, willing to be used by God with how He sees fit.  Whatever that means.  That’s actually extremely comforting to me.   I don’t have to worry and fret….He’s got it.

Miracle of the day:

Graham is realizing he’s not the only one out there that has and is going through hard times.  Brain injuries, like I’ve said before, are horrible and humiliating to go through.  We have been blessed to meet a few people in person who have had brain injuries and who actually lead very normal lives.  For Graham, him seeing them, talking with them and realizing they are doing okay, is good for him.  They have encouraged him in one way or another.  I am thankful for each and every person who has talked with Graham about this.  It means so much to him and me as well.

Humor of the day:

What’s the saying?  Like father like son?  Or the apples don’t fall far?  Either way, I did NOT force this on Keith….he wanted it on, just like his dad!

The other day Graham came home for lunch, which he doesn’t do now very often (not sure whyJ) and he was driving a big box truck that he needs for work.  He turned it around in our driveway so he could pull out easier when it was time to leave.  He came sulking into the house with a funny look on his face.  He told me he had to show me something.  I honestly thought he had a surprise for me, so I happily put my shoes on in anticipation of some flowers, chocolates, or a bag of candy.  We walked to the edge of the sidewalk and he pointed to our mini-van.  My hopes of sweet-smelling flowers or something of that nature came to an abrupt end when I eyed our now dented bumper.

He felt so bad!  What’s kind of sad is that I would’ve been annoyed before and let him know it.  But not anymore!  I took one look at it and just smiled.  I didn’t even care.  It’s just a stupid van that we can’t take with us anyway.  By me smiling, Graham was able to not feel so bad.  We both got a good laugh about it.

Keep praying for us!

8 Responses to “Update on us 4/25/11”

  1. steven morey April 25, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    It is so heart-warming to read the updates. I really like the one about the dented van, and how you both just laughed it off, I got a great laugh out of it 🙂
    God Bless!!

  2. Joey Feltz April 25, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    You are choosing your attitude! It is a blessing to see how you choose to rejoice in the smallest things, even though they could drive you crazy! Keep leaning hard on the Lord, just as you have been doing! I am praying for you all this afternoon in a special way! How is the sleep, by the way? xo

  3. Codie April 25, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    Thanks for the update; I still enjoy reading them although they are fewer and farther between….. That is a good thing though since life is falling back into a routine that is being established as the new “normal”. How is that book coming by the way? 🙂 Glad that you guys had a wonderful Easter, and you are both such a blessing to the music at church. Thanks for the reminder to choose thankfulness in all things in our lives – I needed that today.

  4. marty April 26, 2011 at 1:11 am #

    Our 21 yr old was born having seizures and she has a brain injury its very hard due to she is normal looking but functions as a 16 yrs old and it kills her some days she ask God why alot she cant drive but we r trying to teach her and her eyes dont work together and that makes it hard also.We r praying for u and your family.

  5. Dara April 26, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    so glad you laughed it off about the van! good point….cant take it with (and why would you want to?! I bet we’ll be able to fly at that point) 😛

    Graham is doing fantastic… I never realized what a big deal his vision is regarding every move he makes. wow! I don’t notice him struggling as he walks around, etc at church… I know that I don’t see him that much/know him that well, but I’m sure that if i were seeing double I would feel more comfortable crawling on all fours to get where I needed to go!

    thank you for the update, and as always…for your honesty in how the new home life is going! Praying for you guys!
    love in Christ ❤

  6. Carlos Hidalgo April 28, 2011 at 4:46 am #

    Randi: Hooray for you! Hooray for Graham! And most of all Hooray for our gracious Lord!
    God bless you
    Carlos

  7. L Lawrence April 29, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    I love the pics. The one of Keith reminds me of how accepting children really are. Daddy is daddy the same as Uncle Joshie is Uncle Joshie to Amber’s two. They never have known the difference. We continue to pray for all of you…Laureen Lawrence

  8. becky hartwell May 1, 2011 at 3:00 am #

    So…today I spent 6 hours at Ellis with my daughter for something minor….and when i entered and exited I passed the sign “this way to sunnyview” over one of the hallways…. To be honest…I hadn’t stopped to pray for you guys for over a month….TOday while i waited and then waited again and again I prayed for your family! Tonight I checked back in on your blog….I was a few posts behind…when i read the one about you biting…I laughed out loud…I bite too…it kind of makes lyle crazy…I tell him i can’t help it as my mom did the same to us and told us that was how mommy horses showed love to their children (I have no idea if that is true) ANYWAY…Im glad to hear Im not the only one….lol….LAST…what a blessing to read about Graham leading worship! PTL…Your family will be in our prayers for years to come!

Leave a Reply

