Update on us 4/10/11

11 Apr

Happy Birthday to Graham!  There were days when I thought he’d only make it to 27 years of age.  On March 30th Graham Stump, who Doctors told would never walk, swallow, talk, wake up and live, turned 28!  It was a very special birthday.  Thank you for all the birthday wishes, he loved them!

Birthday party at home!  Homemade apple pie is what he asks for every year, I was only more than happy to make it for him.

 

Birthday party at the Stump home for Graham.  Another apple pie and the poor guy was forced to eat it with his left hand:0)

We took a trip out to Indiana this past week to visit family and had a great time.  This is the first chance I’m getting to post an update.  It was really busy…but so good for the two of us!

Probably the best thing to happen to us while in Indiana was the encouragement we both received from family and friends.  Graham and I continue to struggle.  Separately and as a married couple there are many things we have to work through and will have to continue to work through for a long time.  Things are different now, no doubt, and our struggles are very real.  For me the biggest reality has been that it’s okay that we are struggling at times now.  I must admit that even in trying times, I am guilty of still “trying to have it all together,” as is Graham.  Most importantly, we are guilty of trying to fool the Lord with what we are truly feeling and going through.

The Lord is never fooled, nor is He surprised with what we are feeling and struggling with.  Trying to understand the why’s of all this cannot fully be understood and that is difficult to accept.  Just like Job and Jacob and David “wrestled” with God, Graham and I must come face-to-face with Him with certain things.  Not to know why, or to understand it all necessary, but rather so we can move on as a couple, grow as His children, and love others how we should be.

Miracle of the day:

So far the Botox has not taken the affect I thought it would.  I cannot imagine the frustrations Graham must be feeling and there are times my heart just breaks for him as he struggles with the once easy and simple tasks.  Just when I am about ready to pull my hair out, I am reminded that it’s a miracle he can even use this arm and hand at all.  We will continue with therapy and wait for the day the Lord restores it completely, even if that is in eternity!

Humor of the day:

Graham’s mom (Kathy) cooked and cooked and cooked for us while out in Indiana.  Everything was so good.   Too good.   Not only has Graham gained some weight while there, but I have as well.  The slight problem is that I wasn’t really needing it to begin with!!!!

 

 

4 Responses to “Update on us 4/10/11”

  1. Sharon Faulkner April 11, 2011 at 1:34 am #

    Randi, Botox takes a while to kick in and then it kinda peaks and then wanes again. We have found that even after it wears off Hannah has more movement then she had before Botox. The idea is to relax the contracting muscles therefore the proper muscles can strengthen with out having to fight the contracting muscles. The proper muscles may still be weak and that may be one reason you aren’t seeing the results you hoped for. Give it time. I also know Hannah has been accomplishing tasks working with her contracting muscles so when the Botox is adminstered she has to retrain and use the correct muscles.Just my 2 cents on the subject.:) Hang in there all this take LOTS and LOTS of time. Still praying for you guys. Sharon

  2. Anne Cox April 11, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    Wow I love reading your updates. I just want to encourage you to keep on, keep on, fight for what is right and what would glorify God. I have been married for 50 years, and if we could sit awhile I would tell you of struggles, times of wanting to give up, and times of wanting to run, but I can now tell you it’s worth it, O how I sing it’s worth it. But God requires trials, firey furnaces, and impossible situations that do cause us to cry out in pain, and unbelief, but keep on, give it another day. I’m reading II Peter 1:3…According as His divine power hath given to us ALL things that pertain to life and GODLINESS, through the KNOWLEDGE of Him and has called us to GLORY AND VIRTURE. The only way to KNOWLEDGE is through the firey furnace. It’s heartbreaking, soul rending, and tears beyond belief, but you will be O so glad, when the test is passed, and you can tell others of your great victory because of CHRIST, has nothing to do with you, He has used you for HIS GLORY, AND HIS PURPOSES. One day, one glorious day, you will see what He has done. It’s all about Him, and nothing about us. Lowly us, selfish us, I personally am pitiful, but why He chose me trust me it’s beyond me. But before us is the glorious Cross,,,,,,,,,,,,,,and what a reminder is coming up in the next few weeks. Take the next knot in the rope, just keep on climbing, when you think there’s not another knot, reach out it will be there. Years later you will look back and say, O my God it was You all along, why did I moan and whinem, O God it’s You I see. His presence will illuminate all around you, and you will smile, and tell someone else of your victory IN HIM> II Peter Beloved seeing you know these things before, beware lest you also being led away with the error of the wicked, fall from you own stedfastness.but grow in grace and in the KNOWLEDGE of our Lord and Savior. Join the journey with us who have gone before……..It’s a glorious journey, but not easy. Loving you in prayer, Anne Cox The one who is very old, but looking back i see the journey, and I know it’s Him. He has illuminated my way. He will yours as well, it’s just in looking back that we get that wonderful eyesight. “IN” the journey it gets mucky at times, but ‘THROUGH’ and it’s a glorious vision of Him. O the PURPOSES and PLANS of God. We are no different than Job. Take the next knot. Anne

  3. Dara April 13, 2011 at 2:13 am #

    belated happy birthday to Graham!! amazing how much has taken place in less than one year of life…!

    it’s so cool at how transparent you are… wow. I confess I do feel like you “have it all together” most times (obviously no one should claim to be perfect, hehe)! you are an amazing woman and I have learned so much from you, maybe with you not even realizing it. 🙂 thank you for that! we’ll continue to pray for you all…

    ps-as for the possible weight gain…o well, summer is coming and I’m sure the winter insulation will sweat off for lots of us. 🙂 that’s what horses and little boys are for!

  4. Kathleen Darling April 16, 2011 at 4:47 am #

    I know this is a little late, but…HAPPY BIRTHDAY Graham!! Apple Pie is one of my favs, so if I ever get to come visit you guys, there’s an idea! 😉 Actually…almost any goody treat helps me to be satisfied! 🙂

    Praying for you guys! I feel like we need to just sit and chat sometime! I have a feeling we’re battling some of the very same feelings!

    Love you guys!

Leave a Reply

