Update on us 3/18/11

18 Mar

We’re so greedy as humans aren’t we?!  We want what we can’t have and then when we finally get what we’ve been longing for, it’s never good enough.  Sound familiar?

There was a time not so long ago that I would have been content and happy just for Graham to open his eyes.  That happened and while I was still thanking the Lord, I was asking for more.  I soon wanted his legs to move, his arms to work, his brain to heal and for him to get out of that wheelchair and walk.  He started walking and then I wanted him to be able to have a memory, connect with me and be a husband and father again to our two boys.

No doubt, I have experienced miracle after miracle in my husband.  You’d think after all I’ve been through I’d have it all together and trust the Lord completely in every area.  Sadly, as humans, as me, I forget sometimes all the Lord has done and continues to do.

These are the thoughts that have been swimming around my head since after Graham’s eye appointment yesterday.  As many know, Graham’s left side has been the most affected by this accident with his arm and eye being the biggest trouble.  He has glasses, which have been extremely helpful to him, but are not a “cure-all.”  He’s been seeing more double as of late but I thought maybe this was a good sign of healing.  He’s been working so hard doing therapy for his eyes and pushing them to work together.  I had high hopes of him having to get a new prescription, and have even thought of him without his glasses someday. All that to say, his eyes have actually regressed in the last month.

We were told this sometimes happens with brain patients and it was another painful reminder to me as to how badly Graham was hurt, is still hurt, and all the healing that still needs to take place.  According to his doctor, his brain is becoming more aware of his eyes and how “messed up” they really are.  Because of this, they are actually seeing more doubles.  Sometimes they can get better and sometimes they don’t.  It all depends on how much the brain still will heal.

I so badly wanted more from the Lord yesterday concerning Graham’s eyes.   I was quickly reminded of this……….

Miracle of the day:

Graham has shared with me that although some things are lost for now (his memory, his eye, his arm, his other physical limitations) the most important things are not lost.  That he still remembers he is a child of God, that he loves me, he loves our kids, he loves his Lord and the other REALLY important things, are what matters most to him.  These issues we have to deal with are so small compared to losing me, him, our kids, or not knowing the Lord.  Yes, this is the kind of spiritual maturity I get to see everyday!  For reasons we are not sure of yet, the Lord is continuing to allow Graham to struggle while on this earth.  Instead of becoming angry and questioning, throwing our beliefs and faith out the window, we will continue to allow Jesus to stand by us during this time.  We choose to follow Him.

Humor of the day:

Wyatt is a little over 3 years old and Graham continues to cut his food up for him as if he were 6 months old.  I say things to him (only to make Graham’s life easier) but he continues on with the “pea” sized bites.  I guess better safe than sorry right!?!?!

Toy box is just about done, with pictures to come

Pictures of the “dreaded” arm sling are coming soon too.

Please keep praying for us!

 

 

 

7 Responses to “Update on us 3/18/11”

  1. Laura Jean Coppola Zmurko March 19, 2011 at 12:42 am #

    We still are praying for you! Great job at reminding us all of what is REALLY important. Keep up the great work…both of you!

  2. Erin March 19, 2011 at 12:52 am #

    Such great perspective. Keep it up! Praying that God will continue to heal Graham, and to give you both courage and energy to tackle the things that continue to be a challenge. Love you guys! -E&B

  3. Mona Strayer March 19, 2011 at 1:44 am #

    I still pray for you often, though not hourly and by the minute as at first…maybe I should. I do pray God will heal him completely. You are such an inspiration to all of us!!!

  4. Carlos Hidalgo March 19, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    Randi: Martha and I were talking this am over a cup of coffee about suffering. She mentioned that in Isaiah, after the prophet describes all the suffering that Jesus was to go through…comes…and he was then satisfied.
    Yes, we are greedy, and when we get from the Lord we want more…but would you have been aware of that condition without the suffering? “I want to know Christ and the power of his resurrection…and the fellowship of his suffering.” Frankly…all that has been good in my life from a the perspective of bringing me closer to the savior has come as a result of suffering. While I do not like it, I confess that the sweetest and times of most deepfelt communion with God, from which I’ve emerged a better man, husband, father and friend have been during those tough times.
    God is using both you and Graham in mighty ways–and when both of you are completely refined in his “furnace” you will come forth as Gold.
    We love you and don’t stop praying for you.
    God bless you
    Carlos

  5. Pam Morton March 19, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    I am Joanna Bodlien’s mom, and my grandkids went with us to visit Joanna last summer on the Ranch. All 5 kids pray every day for Graham. My husband had open heart surgery last month, and 2 of the granddaughters that are living with us right now stayed wit my mom. One night she prayed instead of letting them, and the youngest was pretty upset that she didn’t pray for Graham! thank you for the blessing that you both are! Pam

  6. Dara March 19, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    so true about us being greedy…. when I realize it, I feel embarrassed, but still want more! oh brother!

    its awesome to hear how both of you are growing towards God instead of away from Him during all of this! thanks for sharing this!

    glad the toybox is done, wahoo!

  7. Bob Bulmer March 30, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    SUCH A GREAT INSIGHT AND ONE WE ALL CAN ‘PROFIT’ FROM. WE KEEP ON PRAYING WHILE Y’ALL KEEP ON KEEPING ON.

    GOD BLESS YOUR FAMILY.

Leave a Reply

