Update on us 3/7/11

8 Mar

I have been trying my best to secretly pack more pounds onto Graham.  To help me with my cause I’ve been taken more lately with cooking and baking.  It’s been great for Graham and he’s now weighing in around 180!  Before his accident he was a sturdy and solid 195.  While at rehab he was a startling 170, so he’s just plugging right along now and I’m glad to see him fill out more.  He needs it!

I had this craving the other day to make a homemade chocolate cake and so I set out to do just that.  I found a recipe and happily set to the task at hand.  I had this beautiful picture in my head of what I thought it should look like, so as you can imagine, I was a little disappointed when it turned out like this!

Oh well, it still tasted really good and that’s all that matters right!?!??  It sure wasn’t winning any beauty contests.

Everyday I continue to learn new things about Graham, our marriage and myself as it is now.  What I’m learning about Graham, his attitude, and unwavering love for his Lord continues to blow my mind.  Unfortunately, what I’m learning about my own life is not always pleasant to behold.  The honest truth is that most days, instead of treating Graham like the husband he is to me, I treat him more like a child.  I think I’m gaining a new nickname…….it’s called “chopper.”  I’m like that helicopter that hovers over something and just won’t go away.  You’ve probably heard of many parents (esp. moms) “hovering” over their kids to protect them.  That’s kind of what I find myself doing with Graham.  In my defense, it really is because I love him so much and want to protect him.  But am I really helping him?  Am I helping him be the father and husband he needs to be when I’m always there correcting?  I think not.

Fortunately, Graham is one of the most patient people I know (that’s why he is always so great with horses) so he simply patiently reminds me when “chopper” arrives at our home.

Miracle of the day:

Our insurance approved any and all Botox Graham will need for a full year.  This is fantastic news!  I’m not sure I want to know what that stuff would have cost without insurance.

Humor of the day:

After 2 months of hunting, tracking, studying, testing, and many failed attempts I have caught this menacing mouse that has been tormenting my pantry, my kitchen and me.   I cannot even begin to describe to you all how happy this made me when I saw it.  I just had to take a picture!  The only problem now is that there is probably a mate lurking close in the shadows, just waiting for us to go to bed so he can feast.  I say: BRING IT!

 

9 Responses to “Update on us 3/7/11”

  1. Joey Feltz March 8, 2011 at 1:35 am #

    love the mouse pic…payback! thanks for sharing the progress and how you all are doing. it is encouraging! praying for you tonight in a special way that you will be able to rest in the Lord when you want to ‘hover’. sending you a big hug! xo

  2. Michelle Haviland March 8, 2011 at 3:05 am #

    I went to high school with Chad Haneman and have been following your story since shortly after the accident. I look forward to your posts and seeing how God is working through your lives. Thank you for being such great examples and being open about your struggles! I think of you guys often and pray for your continued strength to walk the road God has set before you!

    Now about the baking! I love to bake and I found this website a few years ago, http://www.smittenkitchen.com. Every cake on there that I have made is AWESOME!! If you like peanut butter, try the chocolate peanut butter cake. Definately loaded with yummy calories and absolutely delicious!! The chocolate cake itself is my favorite chocolate cake recipe. Enjoy the website and happy baking!!

  3. amber March 8, 2011 at 3:21 am #

    Oh my gosh, I literally burst out loud laughing when I scrolled down and saw that picture. Too funny Randi!

  4. Mom March 8, 2011 at 4:56 am #

    Randi,
    Sarah’s last cake for Travis’ birthday looked like that!! It tasted great tho but the icing was almost liquid as well. I could not make a pie crust when Grammy was living with us. They never worked!! It took a while after she died to try again and now they work for me. Maybe, this is a little glitch on the baking that WILL get better cuz you’re an awesome baker and cook. Just take your time. Love you lots Mom
    Way to go on the mouse.

  5. Paul Zabriskie March 8, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    You will be hearing very shortly from PETA.

  6. Your mother March 8, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    Thank you for sharing the cake with us. It was DELICIOUS!! That mouse was a challenge, but your perseverence has paid off. Praying for you EVERYDAY!
    Your posts are interesting, enlightening, funny, and sobering. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Dara March 8, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    haha about the mouse… glad that fiasco is finished. 😛 and that cake looks tasty! (which, like you said, is what matters! YUM! Wish i needed to put on some weight… j/k)

    that is FANTASTIC about the insurance company!! thank God! 🙂

    thank you for being honest [I’m specifically thinking about “chopper” right now]… it’s obviously God working through you when you are able to step back from a crazy situation and realize that you have things that need worked on personally. thats very convicting to me, so thank you for sharing truths that we all need to apply in our lives!

    🙂

  8. Grannie March 9, 2011 at 1:17 am #

    Gosh, that looks like a lot of my attempts at angel food cakes! They always come out about 3 inches thick and solid as a rock!

    I’m glad to hear that I’m not the only “mother hen” on earth, too! My poor son is 39, married with 2 kids . . and I still “mother” him. He’s SO glad that I live in Florida and they are in NC!

    My husband has a back problem that can’t be treated – except with pain medications. He says that I “mother” him too much, too. How can I help it when I know he’s in pain – and I know that if I mow the yard it will keep him from hurting more if he does it?!

    I do love your story! And I love your spirit even more!

    Grannie

  9. Donna Langman March 12, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    How on earth did your cake turn out like that?? Have you thought of using a protein powder at all to help him gain weight? Steve had a lot of problems swallowing and he loves sweet things so we make shakes in the morning with protein powder. It has worked great and he loves them. The morning is incomplete without them! As for the chopper, that fact that you are aware is awesome. He will start to fill roles as he gains confidence and awareness.

Leave a Reply

