Update on us 2/26/11

26 Feb

Graham is finally on the mend after many days of being sick!  I fully believe he got hit a little harder than the average person would have because his body is still fighting so hard to get better and heal itself.  He was having some trouble with a chest cold and I was afraid of more fluid in his lungs etc.  I must admit I might be more gun shy now when it comes to things, but I am glad I took him to the Doctors.  He has lost over 10 pounds (WHAT!??!) and needed an antibiotic.  He got some blood work done just to make sure everything is ok, and I’m sure it is but we haven’t heard anything yet.

This is how I know he’s getting better:  He’s requesting special meals once again, and I’m only more than happy to make them for him!

We have decided to change a few things with Graham’s work schedule and therapy needs.  He is now going to work M, W, F, but only working until 3pm.  The other days are full days.  We made a home therapy schedule to focus more on what is hindering him physically now.  I am his music therapist and we work on guitar lessons, drum lessons and singing lessons.  (HA!)  I’m a piano player, not a guitarist, so I’m actually learning some new things!  I can at least read music and know what certain things should sound like.  I have him doing scales on the guitar and it’s great therapy for his left fingers.  Drums are a different story.  I have no idea what I’m doing in that department, but fortunately, he does!  Let’s just say we have a long way to go in the music area (it’s kind of sad actually for me at times, but we’re determined!)

Bonnie (my sister) is his occupational/physical therapist and comes twice a week to work that left arm.  She is doing a great job with him, and it’s nice for me, because he doesn’t fight her as much as me:0) He’s on really good behavior for her and we all know it!

My mom is his game therapist!  She is in charge of playing games with him that will work his mind mentally.  Sudoku, memory, card games, scrabble, Dutch Blitz etc are all games they will be playing together once a week.  It’s funny to watch the two of them.  He’s on even better behavior with her:0)

Dan (Bonnie’s husband) is in charge of work therapy.  Once a week they will be getting together and doing little projects around each other’s homes.  One week they will be up at the Goldberg’s while the next they will be at ours.  Bonnie and I are happy about this therapy session.  Once the nice weather comes Dan will be the one doing more outdoor things with Graham to help him continue to heal and to one day do the things he has always loved to do (fly-fish, ride dirt bikes, tie flies, etc)

We are blessed to have so much help from our family!  I would NOT be able to do this all myself and their help is so much appreciated!

These are the colored lights Graham has to look into each day! The one on the left first for 10 minutes and then the one on the right for 10 minutes.  He’ll do this while listening to music in the basement in complete blackness (other than these lights)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Miracle of the day:

 

This little project was my idea for Graham to do.  I thought it would give him something to look forward to because he just loves doing stuff like this.  I must say I was not expecting it to turn out this nice, or come along so fast!  It is a miracle!  He’s having so much fun working on this and it’s a small enough project for him that it’s not overwhelming or frustrating for him.  The boys are excited about their new toy box as well.  I’ll put a picture up when it’s all done.

Humor of the day:

I don’t know, what do you think?  Time for a hair cut?

When you have a husband that has a TBI, some things just take a back seat like hair cuts, finger and toe nails, baths etc.  :0)

Keep praying for us!

7 Responses to “Update on us 2/26/11”

  1. Your mother February 26, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

    Hey Graham, could you build me some book shelves? Love you!!

  2. Matthew Melville February 26, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    Praying! It’s an encouragement to see how God is using you!

  3. Dara February 26, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    haha, was very amused to read that Graham is on ESPECIALLY good behavior with Liz! Your team of therapists sound fantastic! 🙂

  4. John Stacy February 27, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    Hello to all. My name is John Stacy and I met Graham a few years ago at a Heratland Church One Life event. I was very impressed with what a fine young man he was and how much he showed his love for his family and life. I am so glad to see him recovering so well I no it must not be easy on him or his family. Graham and I share a huge love for fly fishing and tying, He reminds me so much of myself with that and all the work he loves to do with his hands. I to am a hands on type of person and If anything should ever happen to me I would look at Graham’s story for strehgtn in my recovery. I have included Graham in my daily prayers since his accident and I still pray for his full recovery. As I look forward to the day that you post a picture of him standing in the river with a fly rod and a fish. Thanks for all the inspiration that the both of you have given to all of us.

  5. Stephanie G February 27, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    Please know that your life has helped me get closer to God. My faith has been a constant struggle. Seeing your family’s struggle and growth has really opened my eyes. Thank you and know my prayers include you! Your name goes into the prayer book every Sunday at my church.

  6. Donna Langman February 27, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Great job on the therapy! You are going to see great results in the future! I have Steve rest every day at around 3pm, otherwise he is like a drunk man for the evening! A good set of headphones and an Ipod with a good mix of relaxing tunes is a good investment. It is a long haul so work hard and then take a break and then work hard again. Believe it or not, family vacations were a great time for healing. He seems to have a burst of healing when we return. I am sure it is because we are hard to cope with! Tee Hee!

  7. Codie February 28, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    LOVE LOVE LOVE the toy box / book shelves! Also, don’t worry….. I have no excuse (like you do) to ignore little boy hygiene maintainence so that was why we did the first hair cuts since October the other night! Glad that Graham is healthy again!

Leave a Reply

