Update on us 2/12/11

13 Feb

Graham and I were supposed to go on a date today for Valentine’s Day, but little sick children somewhat threw a wrench in our plans.  I was really looking forward to this time with Graham, but I just had to decide to have a good attitude about the whole thing.  I’m telling you all this to let you know the Lord continues to work on me everyday!  I normally would have been a little mad and upset about “my plans” not going my way, but not today.  Today, I chose to still be happy about my circumstances even though both my kids are sick, I’m not feeling myself, my husband has a TBI, is snoring next to me at 7:30pm and let’s face it, not many of my needs or desires are being met right now.

We were tightly tucked in our home today and had a great time just hanging out, wiping the kid’s noses, cleaning Wyatt up after he pooped in his underwear:0), and administering endless amounts of water, snacks and kisses to the sickly.  Maybe you’re thinking Wyatt is not ready to be in “big-boy pants”, and yes, you might be right!

Graham has been extremely tired the last two days, almost to the point of shutting down and passing out.  Not kidding.  I usually have to force him in bed because he feels guilty about sleeping so much.  I’m not sure what’s going on exactly, but he did share with me that Friday at work he was doing more “mental” stimulation at work rather than “physical”.  Him and my dad were on a job putting a boiler in a house that they had both never done before.  Graham had to study up on it and read a lot and I think it just plain made his brain work in ways it hasn’t had to yet.

I wanted to post some pictures I’ve taken the last couple of days.  As I was flipping through the pictures on my camera, guess what was in every one?!?!?  Yup!  The famous headlamp!

 

 

Not only is the headlamp neatly in place, but there is something else that he constantly has on.  The headphones make it hard to get his attention sometimes!:0)

 

Doing some multi-tasking here: Headlamp, music and phone call to Dad Stump! Nice G-Dog!

 

Keith trying on Daddy’s glasses, but he can’t even open his eyes, too strange!

Miracle of the day:

I truly believe I’m in a place in my life that if the Lord is done healing Graham (which I don’t think He is) I would be completely and wholly content in it.  Things remain hard, difficult and I still have my moments, BUT the Lord gives me JUST enough to get through my day.  It IS a miracle that continues to happen EVERYDAY!

Humor of the day:

Graham woke up this morning, got his coffee ready, got dressed for work, (which takes some time), boots on (which takes even longer) and came in to say good-by to me for the day.  I tried to tell him it was Saturday, but he was SO adamant it was Friday, he almost had ME convinced it was Friday!  He finally looked at his phone and came walking happily back into our room excited that it was IN FACT, Saturday.  Poor guy!

For some reason the post I put on for 2/9/11 is hard to see and won’t always come up.  Not sure what happened there, but hope you can read this one.

Keep Praying!

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Update on us 2/12/11”

  1. sharon February 13, 2011 at 2:28 am #

    🙂 thanks for the part of your post that reminded me that God only gives grace 4 the moment. ❤ you guys and we r praying!!!

  2. Mary Lou Canady February 13, 2011 at 3:24 am #

    I love to see Grahams smiles 🙂 You are becoming more normal (whatever that is 😉 in your changed circumstances. Still praying with you for further improvements..so glad you have each other & those beautiful boys! It was great to see you at Christmas.
    So glad you are writing a book…you are very good at expressing yourself in words, I know it will help so many. God sure works through our trials huh? Enjoy your precious family…pray you all get feeling better soon!

  3. Amee Schnarrs February 13, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    It is great to see God continuing to work through everything that has happened. Having a child with brain damage I can relate the the overly sleeping comments. It is actually a really good thing, it is the natural way for the brain to repair itself. Sleep is one thing that my Christopher often needs more of at times. It is actually a good thing because it is the brain working itself to normal!
    We all continue to pray for you guys!

Leave a Reply

