Update on us 2/2/11

2 Feb

The snowflakes are flying pretty thick here in the Adirondacks, as I’m sure they are in a lot of places around the country.  While I begin to tackle the daily chores of any mom, I’m reminded once again how thankful I am to even be able to do these things in my home.  I know this sounds kind of cheesy, but when so much was threatened to be taken away, one can’t help but find happiness in the tiny things that would just be work for me before.

Things are definitely different in our home now, but it’s a kind of different I am choosing to be content in and actually enjoy.  Not to say I succeed in this joy and contentment all the time, but I’m trying.  And what’s important to note, so is Graham!

Graham is TRULY deciding to take things as they come and enjoy our life now with our children.  There are moments of frustration and sadness, as there should be, but he’s not complaining about the situation he finds himself in day after day.  The strength he has to simply get out of bed everyday and go to work is ONLY from the Lord.  His joy comes from the Lord alone and while most would be on anti-depressants, he has chosen a different path for his life (We’re not against anti-depressants by the way, and if down the road he needs them, we will use them). Right now we’re simply trying other methods.   We’re actually blessed that Graham is on absolutely NO medication and has been this way for quite some time.  I now make him take a Men’s-One-A-Day, but that doesn’t count right?!?!

Please continue to pray for us as we continue to strive to live our lives how the Lord would be most pleased.

My father-in-law, Gary, sent me this quote yesterday.  It encouraged me to stay the coarse and to keep pressing on for Him.

“Genuine surrender says, ‘Father, if this problem, pain, sickness or circumstance is needed to fulfill your purpose and glory in my life or in another’s, please don’t take it away!’  This level of maturity does not come easy.”- Rick Warren (Purpose Driven Life)

Miracle of the day:

Graham has been able to think things through better lately.  It’s kind of hard to explain here, but he’s becoming more aware of planning ahead, bills needing to be paid, pay checks needing to get into the bank, parties or outings coming up.  This is AMAZING!!!  He still can’t remember things during his day but I’ve learned to ask him in a way that will jar it into his head without making him feel dumb.  I don’t know about you, but I can’t remember everything I did yesterday!

Humor of the day:

We are in the midst of potty training our eldest son, Wyatt.  Things are going quite well, but there are some times (especially when Graham is home on weekends or nights) that I lose track of time and well…Wyatt can’t make it to the bathroom in time.  Watching Graham try to deal with this is very comical to me.  Wyatt will be standing in the middle of our house, confused, dirty and unsure what to do.  I then look at Graham who has the exact same face on as Wyatt; disgust, confusion, and shock at the situation.  I’m starting to think it’s a guy thing, not a brain injury thing!

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Update on us 2/2/11”

  1. Carlos Hidalgo February 2, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    Randi: It is definetely a Guy thing. Yuck! It actually tells me that Graham is much further along than I thought. 🙂

    Blessings.
    Carlos

  2. Tammi T. February 4, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    Thanks for continuing to share what God is doing in your life. Your words are such an encouragement.

Leave a Reply

