Update on us 1/28/11

29 Jan

Call me crazy or weird, but I can’t even begin to share how much I enjoy doing Graham’s laundry, folding it, and putting it away.  There was a time when I thought I wouldn’t even be doing his laundry anymore!

We are nearing the 6-month mark in our incredible journey, and when I look back on it all I just can’t believe how far we have come.  Granted, we still have a ways to go, but who’s keeping track?  I clearly remember the Doctors telling me the 6-month mark would be the time I would need to make a decision about his life etc.  I had thoughts like, “I know he would want his organs donated,” and “how are the boys and me going to get through this?”  Just look at us now!  It’s only by His grace and love for us that we are where we are now.

If you’ve been watching the news at all lately you’ve probably noticed how it’s been saturated with stories of brain patients and TBI’s (Traumatic Brain Injuries).  Just about anytime a story comes on I start to cry.  I cry for the loved ones going through it (especially the spouses) and I cry for the patients as they struggle to do the once simple tasks of their lives.  I have to admit my heart also screams for joy that Graham is doing as well as he is.  It sure seems the car accident victims get it the worse as well as the roadside bomb victims.  I’m thankful it happened the way it did on a horse and not at the speeds of a car and metal surfaces etc.

A BIG part of the reason I haven’t been able to post on here as much as I’ve liked is because I’m working on writing a book.  There, I said it!  I have been praying about it now for a while and have about 1/3rd of it done.  I am excited to see where the Lord takes it, and maybe it’s nowhere.  I truly just want to share all I’ve been through on a more personal level and try to help others who are going through a tragic experience.  I am praying for the Lord to open up doors, so please pray with me in that.

Graham has some pretty big Doctor’s appointments coming up.  He has an eye appointment the second week of February and then an appointment with his psychologist on the 17th. I can’t wait for them to see him!  The neurologist he had at Sunnyview was not very encouraging to me, so I can’t wait to walk him in there for them to see!

Miracle of the day:

Graham is consistently staying up later at night.  9:00pm is now becoming the normal bedtime.  It’s nice!  Part of me had to get used to it because I had my own little routine that time of the day and now he’s back in it :0)  He’s still extremely tired and sleeps like a log; like I’ve said before, through the kids needing stuff, the dogs barking, fire alarms and the like!

Humor of the day:

How Graham is different now:

~Loves sweets now (WHAT??)

~Always chewed gum, but now chews mostly the fruity kind (I know….weird!)

~Lays all his clothes out the night before so he knows what he’s doing

~Always cold.

~Obsessed with texting.

~Drives safer/slower (probably because he can’t see :0)

~Gets extremely dirty at work.  He comes home at night and it’s so bad it looks like he purposefully tried to get that dirty.  He was always so clean before.

~Trips more easily down stairs etc

~Actually gets excited about going out to Indiana

~Not as muscular anymore :0(  I’m not either so……

How Graham has NOT changed:

~Still OCD (obsessive compulsive disorder), yes, he really does have this and has passed it onto our eldest son, Wyatt

~Still loves music and even though he physically can’t keep a beat anymore, hears it all in his head and knows how it should all sound.

~Still forgets to take out the trash

~Still loves whole milk and coffee

~Still doesn’t floss

~Still crazy about me (YAY!  Can you imagine if he didn’t like me anymore??  That would be rather strange)

Keep praying!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 Responses to “Update on us 1/28/11”

  1. Dara January 29, 2011 at 2:46 am #

    thanks for keeping us updated! that’s so exciting that you are writing a book!! (I’d love to read it once its finished!) 🙂

    seeing what you guys have gone through reminds me to be thankful for the so-called ‘boring’ chores (such as folding laundry and dealing with mismatched socks, etc)… what a blessing to have a husband to do it for!

    I love seeing your list of how Graham is same/different. very glad that he’s still crazy about you!! that is obvious anyways just seeing you two. 🙂

    see you Sunday!

  2. Lisa January 29, 2011 at 3:47 am #

    It is neat to see the truths and realities in your posts. I think the book is a great idea. My prayers are always with you and I am sure God will continue to bless you and Graham.

  3. Heather January 29, 2011 at 5:04 am #

    what joy filled things to celebrate in this post, thanks for sharing! 🙂

  4. Codie January 29, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    Great, great, great idea to write a book about your whole experience of the past 6 months! I can’t wait to read it someday 🙂

    And such a good reminder to be thankful for such mundane chores around the house for our families! I needed that, especially as I was folding laundry around 9:30 last night!

    Hope that you have a good weekend!

  5. Carlos Hidalgo January 29, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    Dear Randi: The six month marker is coming up! How exciting and meaningful. God continues to provide beyond what anyone expected six months ago. I am sure that next July, when you look back over the last six months you will find more miracles as God continues to shape and mold Graham and you for his Glory.
    Cannot wait to read your book.
    God bless you
    Carlos

  6. Sharon January 29, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    Dear Randi,
    Thanks for taking the time to post… I too cry when I here of another TBI survivor. I am so grateful for Grahams progress and PTL with you in rejoicing with his healing.
    A book… good idea. I’ve been told many times that I should write one took, we will see. Writing isn’t my strong point.
    I think nueroligists in general are pessimistic, Hannah has one that would push me over the edge the first week in the hospital..I finally realized the control I was allowing him to have over my feelings and general out look on the whole situation. Now I will listen and take what they say with a grain of salt.. I have a Big God who is healing my girl and she is outdoing anything they said she might do. With God’s grace and love I will push her to get better as long as she lives. God is in control and has a plan for her. We need the docs but they are not God.
    Blessings , Sharon

  7. Patrice Lunsford January 31, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    Randi,
    I’ve never had the pleasure meeting you, however, I’ve known Gary for 30yrs. now and actually my husband, Bruce and I were baptized with Graham (his “2nd” time). We have been reading your posts and thoroughly enjoyed hearing about all of the blessings coming to you & Graham. You have obviously been blessed with your writing skills – you have such a knack of “grabbing the reader’s attention” to actually make them experience your feelings. I told Gary & Kathy some time ago that it would be so inspiring if you would write a book of your experiences. I’m a firm believer that out of all our trials & tribulations something wonderful can come out of it. I know without a doubt your book will be such an inspiration to so many. Imagine how many people will come to know the Lord through it!!! I can’t wait to purchase it! I hope someday I have the pleasure of meeting you! Many more blessings to you and your family.

  8. Tami February 2, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    Yeah Randi! I was so excited to hear that you are writing a book about your journey. When you go to get it published, you should let the publishers know about this site so they can see how many people would like to buy it. I definitely want to buy some. One for me and more for some friends that are not Christian so that they may be enlightened and touched by what has been happening and how God really does answer prayer and does in fact exist. He is alive and you are being a good steward of the gift of written communication that He has given you. And Graham is a walking and talking example of His miracles and Glory!! God bless you both and continued prayer for a full recovery for Graham.

  9. Nicole Ranney February 2, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    We will definetely buy a copy of your book.So glad all is going so well for you all.Nikki

Leave a Reply

