Update on us 1/21/11

21 Jan

I’ve mentioned this dry erase board we have in our home now, and even though we don’t need it so much for lists and directions for Graham, we both STILL need that thing.  I updated it and decided to take some pictures for you to see what we’re working on here in our home.  It challenges me every time I walk by it; and that’s A LOT!

Graham’s list to work on!

 

My list!

 

Our verse of the month is this (I have this above “our lists”):

I Peter 1:8- You love Him even though you have never seen Him.  Though you do not see Him now, you trust Him, and you rejoice with a glorious, inexpressible joy.

I can’t help but put my name in there where it says “you”:

I Peter 1:8- Graham and Randi love Jesus, Lord, Savior of the world, Emmanuel, even though we have never seen our Creator, Counselor and God.  Though we do not see our Lover, Friend and Confident, we trust Him, and we rejoice with a glorious, wonderful, inexpressible and unexplainable joy!

Graham is trying so hard to get better it’s sometimes hard to watch.  We had a really deep conversation (deep for us right now) last night and he actually remembered parts of it this morning and recalled it to me.  It’s so encouraging, yet if I let my mind think too much about how he used to be I find myself getting sad, frustrated and most hurtful to him, pulling away from the one person I want to get to know.  It’s a vicious cycle!

This is very personal, but I’m realizing that while he was so hurt I had stacked up brick after brick and nestled myself comfortably behind these walls so that I wouldn’t get so hurt again.  I came so close to losing him, and I did lose parts of him to this whole thing, but I’ve been unfair to Graham by closing up, and not really getting to know the new him now.  The reason I picked this verse for us this month, is for us to both work on true joy that only comes from the Lord.

We are both challenged to get to know each other in ways that we’ve never had to before, and to not just survive through this, but thrive, have fun and laugh A LOT!  We’re working on it!  Dancing around our kitchen helps!

Miracle of the day:

Not sure if I’ve shared this yet, but Graham led worship at our little church this past Sunday for the first time in about 6 months.  It was bitter sweet for me, but also a pretty neat miracle that he was even able to stand up there and sing.  He has had some vocal cord damage from his accident and definitely doesn’t have the voice he once had, but I’m still praying it will come back completely and better than before!  You could pray for that for him and for the confidence he’ll need to lead the congregation in worship once again.  He was a pretty amazing worship leader who was not afraid to worship the Lord in song, even if he was the only one doing it!

Humor of the day:

The other day Graham went to shovel our deck of the snow that has piled up after so many storms.  I couldn’t see him working, but would occasionally see some snow flying into the air, off the deck.  It’s the kind of deck that has rails, therefore making your job as the shoveler more difficult.  It was taking him FOREVER!  I waited in the house feeling so bad for him that it was taking so long.  I had thoughts like “his arm must be giving him problems”. “Maybe he’s just too tired.” Quite some time passed and he finally came in the house giggling and smiling.  “What have you been doing this whole time?” I asked feeling sorry for him and just hurting for him.  “I’ve been texting and shoveling” was the response……….I’m about ready to chuck that phone into the snow:0)

Keep praying!

 

 

 

6 Responses to “Update on us 1/21/11”

  1. Leigh LoMaglio January 21, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    Randi, thank you so much for all your updates! You do a tremendous job giving us all the tools we need to pray effectively. I have been inspired and challenged in my personal walk through all you have written. As I said in my note for Graham a few weeks ago, I look forward to the day we meet, whether here or in eternity! I also wanted to thank you for the video link to Heartland church and the video you had there. I was wondering if it is possible to have a copy of that to show the people at our church who have faithfully been praying. They are so inspired at the updates I have been sending through our prayer chain, and I think they would love to see who they have been praying for. I tried to just bring up the site at Heartland, but it just does not play well enough to see it well. I would never want to invade your privacy, so I understand if you do not feel comfortably sharing the video, but was hoping there was no harm in asking. Thanks again, we continue to pray for all of you.
    IN THE GRIP OF GRACE,
    Leigh LoMaglio

  2. randistump January 21, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    Hi Leigh,

    It’s quite alright if you want a video to show to your church. Several people have done this, but you’ll have to contact Heartland Church and they will send you one directly. It’s the only way we’ve found it to work. Hope that helps. Randi

  3. Your mother January 21, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    Ran, just a question. Bonnie and I were reading this together and we didn’t know what you meant about “even if he is the only one doing it” meaning the singing the praise songs. Maybe you meant at home, alone?? Anyway, you know we love you both and we are here to help you. I think it is a great idea that you need to be dating! You both are, after all, a little bit different now. Some re-aquainting may be necessary. Also, it’s good to get away from the kids and have fun by yourselves. Love you; you are both doing great in spite of the little struggles. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Leigh LoMaglio January 21, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    Thank you Randi, have a blessed day!

  5. Tammi T. January 22, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    I loved the humor of the day. Don’t you just love technology? ;- ) We continue to pray for Graham, you and your boys.

  6. Grannie January 28, 2011 at 3:03 am #

    To two of my favorite people!

    What a smile you guys give me so often! I know that you are working so hard with all of this and it may be hard for you to see it like we “outsiders” do – BUT . . .

    Every time I read an update, you both sound more confident, happier and more sure of yourselves and your situation.

    Not only has your amazing faith helped you through so much of this, it has infected me as well – and I thank you both so much for that!

    Some how, some way, I just know that you guys have the strength to make it! And I so appreciate you allowing me this chance to join you on this journey. You have taught me (at 63) so much about faith and being patient and kind and dealing with almost impossible odds!

    Grannie

Leave a Reply

