Update on us 1/15/11

16 Jan

Sorry it has taken me so long to post an update!  My internet was giving me problems and I haven’t been online much this week.  Thanks Jim for fixing it for me!  We’re now ready to roll again! I’m back up and writing and hoping to keep you all entertained and praying for our little family.  Thank you for continuing to follow our story, I kind of feel it’s getting a little boring now that things are more “normal,” but your continued prayers really do mean so much to us right now.  We have much healing to do as a married couple.

Thank you SO much for all the notes you left for Graham.  We have gotten through a couple of them, but it will take us a few nights (I only have a small window of opportunity before he’s asleep:0), but we’ll get there and I so appreciate it.  It has been very encouraging for me and I’m starting to think I needed it more than Graham!

Here’s a question most of you must be thinking:  How is Graham really different now?  I’d like to take some time and let you all know so you can pray for him and for me and just so you know!  Graham continues to heal every week so I’m not going to say this is how he will ALWAYS be, but this is how he is right now.

He was always an extremely patient person; he’s not as patient anymore with himself mostly, but sometimes with me as well.  His entire left side of his body is still not where it was before the accident.  He can’t wiggle his left toes as fast as his right toes, he limps a little when he walks and of course his left arm doesn’t work quite like it use to.  His eyes see double and he still has to wear the glasses.  His facial expressions are somewhat different and when he talks his tone comes out a little harsher then he sometimes means it to.  He’ll say something and I’ll think he’s upset when he’s really not; he’s just talking normal in his mind.  (It’s been something we laugh about now, but at first, it was kind of weird for me).  He talks faster, especially when he’s tired and I oftentimes have to ask him to repeat himself and slow down.  To him, it sounds normal speed. He’s more emotional, and sensitive to everything; the smallest things make him cry. His memory is still an issue, but getting better.  He does especially bad when there is something we discuss, but don’t make a complete decision on.  It really confuses him!  Some of the “light” is just gone from his eyes and I can’t really explain it well other than that.  He’s just not as out-going, loud, or confident in himself.

I say all of this to share something very important about Graham.  Everything written up there is only what Graham is now, not who he is now!  I can’t list all of Graham’s “problems” because many are personal and private, but obviously he is not what he used to be.  Even with so much taken from him and so much to deal with, he continues to be a loving husband and father to us.  He cares so much for me and the boys and I know this because not only is it written all over his face, but he tells us everyday!  I’m the lucky one, although he would say I’m the one with the brain injury for loving him :0) Much of him IS the same, and it’s nice seeing the strong spiritual leader he always was come through a little more each day.

Miracle of the day:

It’s 9:03pm as I write this and Graham is STILL up and at ‘em here in the Stump home.  I’m not used to this but it’s nice indeed and another miracle from the Lord!

Humor of the day:

I did something REALLY bad the other night and definitely won “worse wife of the night” award on this one.  I was out for a time the other night and got home around 7:30pm.  Graham was in the shower and Wyatt was watching a show.  I wandered up the stairs to make sure Graham was okay and thought it would be funny to scare him in the shower.  BIG MISTAKE!  I pulled the curtain back and yelled GRRRR!    The face he made and the scream he let out will forever remain with me and haunt me.  It was shear horror, panic and torment.  I immediately felt bad, and tried to make amends.  He was so scared it took him several seconds to even be able to talk!  I’m NOT kidding.  I felt awful.  I’m thinking I sent his brain into overdrive and he just froze with fear after he screamed like a girl.  Even as I write this, I still feel bad, but I thought you all would get a smile out of it.

Keep praying!

 

5 Responses to “Update on us 1/15/11”

  1. amy harness January 16, 2011 at 3:31 am #

    Hi you all! I am still amazed at Graham’s healing. I will continue to pray for the journey you all are on. I know there must be some role issues for you as you have had to become care-giver rather than wife. At the same time, Graham has had to realize how dependent he has had to be rather than strong, independant provider. It will be hard to “justify” these roles. But God is able to both fuse roles, and heal the reasons these roles were “messed up” to begin with. He is obviously at work in your lives and I am so thankful for His work in all of you and for the impact your story is having all over the world. .
    By the way, I did a similar thing (to the shower scene you described) w/my son (who has some neurological issues) and it definitely did not have the anticipated effect…I won’t be surprising him in the shower ever again! We live and learn.

  2. Mona Strayer January 16, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    Oh those moments we would love a do-over on. They are many. God has done so much, but I keep praying that he will heal him completely!

    It is such a comfort to know that we serve the true physician, but He does so much more.

    We continue to pray for you all

  3. Grannie January 18, 2011 at 3:05 am #

    Hi folks!

    It’s amazing what a hug and a kiss can heal – try that instead of the next sneaky surprise! I tried the “dump a pitcher of ice water” on my poor hubby once – he has never forgiven me for that one!! (And I can still laugh about it!)

    I still say you are both doing an amazing job. I can’t imagine that anyone is expecting perfection, except y’all!

    Love and prayers,
    Grannie

  4. Sharon Faulkner January 18, 2011 at 3:17 am #

    Once again Randi thanks for your openness and honesty. You are an inspiration to me. Having a child with a TBI is hard I really can’t imagine a spouse. I will keep praying. Blessings, Sharon Faulkner

  5. Helen Laine January 20, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    I have read,and prayed for your litle family from the first posting and I want you to know you truly bring honor and glory to your heavenly Father.I have cried and at times laughed at your shared stories.I am so proud to be a part of your prayer family.Just keep walking so close to Jesus that His steps will be yours.

Leave a Reply

