Update on us 1/7/11

7 Jan

Since the Lord has taken Graham and I down this journey we are on, I can’t help but feel blessed by all the people I’ve gotten to talk to, pray with, meet and/or just meet over emails and notes.  It has just blown my mind and I am so thankful for the opportunities we’ve had and the lives I now know because of all this.  The Lord is SO good.  One particular person I have not gotten to meet in person, but have been following their story on her own blog, and also through notes and cards, has really touched my life.  Like me, her husband was in an accident and sustained a severe brain injury.  Although we share many of the same feelings and heartache, her story is much different than my own.  She has been an inspiration to me in so many ways because her road seems a lot more treacherous than mine, yet she continues to lean completely on the Lord for her strength.  No doubt, she has awful days like me, but she always gives it back to the Lord and it’s just amazing to see!

I am totally copying her idea here, but a few days ago she posted something that I’d like to also do for Graham.  Graham has not read much of anything other than his Bible, which I am so grateful for, but he hasn’t read much of what other people have written to him or even what I have written here.  Not that it matters whether or not he reads what I write, but I’d like him to see just a small piece of what is going on behind the scenes.  I know many of you have been faithfully praying for us and following our story, so would you consider leaving a note of encouragement for him here?  I know he would LOVE to hear from you and it really would help encourage him right now to see the bigger picture and know that so many have been touched by this.   I won’t read them to him for a few days so it will give those who don’t read this everyday time to do it too.  I thank you in advance for your help in this area.  I know it will mean so much to him!

Miracle of the day:

Graham’s memory is continuing to improve!  He had a memory the other day come to him of him driving me to the hospital to go have Keith (our second born).   Not sure I really want to remember that but if you remember, he hasn’t been able to even remember Keith at all!  The memory stops there, but it’s something and it was encouraging to both of us!

Humor of the day:

Graham has been claiming that he doesn’t have an appetite anymore.  He’s not hungry for breakfast and doesn’t eat a big lunch.  I was somewhat puzzled because he IS gaining the weight back.  (We got a scale for Christmas so he’s always on it:0)  When I DO cook dinner he seems to be eating fine even taking seconds and thirds.  I decided to do a little investigating, and discovered that he IS eating during the day at work, he just doesn’t remember.  I was told he had to order a pizza the other day for lunch because he was so hungry.  WHAT?!?!  I’m sure he ate most of it himself; I have no doubt about that.  I decided to approach him about it when once again last night before dinner he said he’s just not as hungry anymore.  He laughed at me and told me I was right, he was eating, he just couldn’t remember doing it or his stomach growling during the day!  I later smiled to myself as I watched him scarf his dinner and take seconds :0)

Keep praying!

 

 

49 Responses to “Update on us 1/7/11”

  1. Kiersten Delbury January 7, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    Hey Graham!
    I know that you and Randi don’t know me personally, but I work for Word of Life and my family was up visiting when you had your accident. They saw you, and (since they don’t have facebook) were always asking me how you were doing. For the past months that all of this has been going on, I have been emailing my parents all of your updates, and you have continually been in our prayers. You truly are a miracle!

  2. Theresa Johnson January 7, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

    Graham,
    We have been praying for you from “Day 1” – when Katie told us you had been injured in the rodeo…seeing how God has been working His miracle in you physically and in your family on a deep spiritual level has certainly increased my faith and that of our children as we have been witness to incredible answered prayer!

  3. Bonnie January 7, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

    I have so enjoyed reading your updates since Caralie Gray told us about you. My son had a motorcycle accident in June 2010 with resulting traumatic brain injury and is still on disability. He is being treated at Upstate Medical’s Concussion Management Center in Syracuse. So many of his symptoms and experiences correlate to Graham’s, so I have Aaron (my son) read some of your posts. It is encouraging to him to know someone else is experiencing the same things – it gives hope for healing.
    Aaron especially has balance problems and just fell down our stairs again last Sunday and was knocked out. His headaches are worse upon waking each day; and we wondered if Graham still has that problem.
    We’re praying for you!

  4. Erin January 7, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    Graham… Bruce and I are praying for you all the way from California! I know a lot has changed over the course of the last year, but one thing has not – you and Randi continue to set an example for us of a godly marriage and an incredibly deep, constant faith and trust in the Lord. If anything, we look up to you both MORE now than we ever have.

    We love seeing all the photos and updates from you and Randi, and can’t wait to see all that God is going to do in your life. He obviously has more to do in and through you! We hope to get up to Schroon Lake soon to visit you guys and finally meet your two boys!

    Our prayer is that you would continue to find encouragement from God’s word and that He would continue to infuse you with hope and encouragement to keep running this marathon! Also that He would continue to use this to draw you and Randi closer together in unity so that you and your family can continue to give glory to God!

    “For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through endurance and the encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope.

    May the God who gives endurance and encouragement give you a spirit of unity among yourselves as you follow Christ Jesus, so that with one heart and mouth you may glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. Accept one another, then, just as Christ accepted you, in order to bring praise to God.” Romans 15:4-7

    Way to cowboy up, Graham. We love you! Keep up the good work!

    -Bruce & Erin Wood

  5. Stephen Terry January 7, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    Graham, we graduated together from HCS ’01 together and I received an email concerning your accident. We have kept you and your family in our thoughts and prayers and will continue to pray for a 100% healing.

    In HIS name,

    Stephen Terry

  6. Jennifer Wood January 7, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    Graham and Randi…we knew of your story through a facebook post from a college friend who goes to Heartland. We have been following your story and praying..we stand amazed once again at the miracles God chooses to perform in the lives of His people!! Thank you for letting us witness the miracles in your lives!!

    Jennifer, Tim, Isaac, Ezra, and Simon Wood

  7. Rebecca January 7, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    Graham and Randi,
    I’ve never met either of you, but I have been following your journeys with much pray through the entire thing. I was at the Rodeo when the accident happened, I was in NY visiting family. I quickly got linked up to the support page on facebook and read it religiously, praying and hoping that all would be well. I have been so encouraged with your progress Graham, and by the faith that Randi has had through the whole time, even when things seemed bleak, she held strong. I know the journey is far from over for both of you, but the amount of faith and fortitude you both have is inspiring. Your whole family remains in my prayers, keep up the faith. Remember that you have more people rooting for you than you know, even those whom you have never even met.
    Rebecca

  8. Carol Schmersahl January 7, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    Dear Graham,
    I read about your accident on a post from Rod Carbaugh shortly after it happened. I know about God’s miracles, every day, and know He is the greatest and is always with us who love Him. It’s cool hearing about your journey and about how you are still knowing Him, and seeking Him, and remaining faithful to Him, and how sweet He has been to you and your family! And He never stops giving to us!!! Don’t know ya, but love ya, and look forward to meeting our whole family in heaven and worshipping together and enjoying eternity in glory!!! Praying for more healing and grace aplenty!
    Because of Jesus,
    Carol S.

  9. jennifer January 7, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    Graham,I look forward to reading the updates on how you and Randi are doing. It is amazing and just shows how great God is and how good He is. I’m sure there are days that seem so overwhelming, but your doing it and not giving up and that says alot. You have such a wonderful family and a beautiful, godly wife who has been your biggest champion. It has been an honor to be able to pray for you and Randi and the rest of your family. Be encouraged and keep persevering.
    Jen Roggenbaum

  10. Dave and Sally Campbell January 7, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

    Hi Graham! We were at the rodeo that night and watched your accident and sat quietly praying with the rest of the gathered crowd as help was called. We watched the ambulance slowly pull away from the rodeo arena and the flashing red lights disappear down the road… and we prayed and prayed. Then we watched online through Randi’s blog as you slowly began to wake and recover. We have watched God work a miracle in your life that to us, made Him all the more real, all-powerful, and loving. We’ll keep on watching since we know this story is not over… Our amazing God is still at work! How we thank Him for you and the blessing you have been to us.

  11. Sharon Faulkner January 7, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

    Dear Graham,
    My name is Sharon Faulkner, I live in Pa. I have been following your story from the beginning. I saw a post about your accident on FB and have been following your healing journey.I also have been reading Randi’s posts as a source of encouragement because on March 26 my 3 daughters were in a car accident. My youngest daughter Hannah who is 14 sustained a TBI. Hannah is working hard to recover and regain what she has lost. She is currently learning to walk and she is not able to talk just yet but is communication via a letter board. Before Hannah’s accident we had a close friend who was 17 and had a car accident and sustained a TBI. His healing journey was much like yours, fast forward compared to ours.
    I pray for you and your family often, I know you appear to be better then my daughter and that your journey hasn’t been as difficult but I know it’s hard work for you to do what it takes to get better each day. Keep up the great work, trust Jesus and HOPE. God is good, I praise Him each day for the gift of healing.
    I feel privledged to journey with Randi and yourself.
    Sharon Faulkner

  12. Rebekah Wilson January 7, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    Dear Graham,
    You do not know me (I went to the BI from 1997-1999) but your Pastor’s (Chad) mother, goes to my church and that is how I first heard about what happened to you. I prayed so hard and rejoiced so hard as well, when we knew you would pull through. What an amazing miracle you are; a display of the glory of God for all to see! I will continue to pray for your COMPLETE recovery. God certainly is amazing beyond words! May God continue to bless you Graham!

  13. Lisa Barry January 7, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    Hi Graham,

    You don’t know us, but my husband Scott and I have been following your story and praying for you and Randi from Michigan since the week after your accident. We came across your page on facebook…not sure how except by the hand of God. It’s been awesome to watch the miracle unfold in your life at the same time God is performing it. Hang in there! God obviously has incredible plans for you, and will continue to be glorified as long as you and Randi keep relying on His strength to live each day.

    You have an amazing wife, an even more amazing Savior, and thousands of God-fearing friends all over the world that are bringing you to the throne of Jesus in prayer. Remember Joshua 1:9 “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified, nor discouraged, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

    Prayers and blessings,
    Scott and Lisa Barry
    (band page- The Growing Roots on facebook)

  14. Mona Strayer January 7, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    Graham and Randi,

    I have both cried and rejoiced with you in the journey God has chosen for you! I prayed Daily, sometimes hourly and often through the night as God kept me awake, I feel just to be in prayer! I have been encouraged in my own life as I watched God do so many miraculous things for you and as I have watched you learn to trust Him even if it means that things will always be a little different. Thank you for your commitment to your marriage and to the Lord. I still pray for you and know God is not finished with this journey.

  15. Chris & Kinga Vickery January 7, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    Hey Graham- We’ve been praying for you since we saw you fall. God’s faithfulness and love is evident in your life & recovery! We praise God for what He’s done already and for what He has in store for you & your family. Randi is an amazing wife and most definetely hand-picked just for you! May God continue to be glorified for eveything in your life! We are still thinking and praying for you all!

  16. Mary Martin January 7, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    Hi Graham,

    I have known Randy since she was a little girl. We lived in Schroon Lake for 23+ years and left a little over 5 years ago and now live right out of San Antonio, TX. I have been praying for you and Randy and following your “story” since the time of your accident. God is soooooo faithful!! =) He truly has done and is continuing to do a miracle in your life! It is such a blessing to others as we hear all He has done and continue to do! I am still praying for a complete recovery for you; that the Lord would allow you to gain all of your memory back and all of your strength! I know you are giving God all the glory for all he has done and will continue to do so!! Keep pressing on and keeping your eyes focused on Jesus the finisher of our faith! With love and prayers, Mary Martin

    PS, tell Keith & Liz that Mary & Terry said a big warm TEXAS Hello!

  17. Leigh LoMaglio January 7, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    Hello Graham and Randi, you do not know me. We have the Brotzman family in common, which I believe Timothy served with you at the ranch. We have been praying for you from the beginning as has my church. Your story has touched more lives than we will ever know on this side of eternity. Many people lose hope for a variety of reasons and your story shines with the hope, mercy and grace of our beloved Jesus. You continue to be in our prayers and I look forward to the day we may meet whether it is here on earth or in our heavenly home worshiping our King!
    In the grip of grace,
    Leigh LoMaglio

  18. Ashley Wise January 7, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

    Graham,

    I thank the Lord for you and Randi. I enjoyed every moment I was able to spend with you and your family while I lived there. You opened your home and welcomed me like family. I have learned so much from you: your teaching- small groups and sunday school; from your example- the way your lead your family and raise your children; from your passion- the way lead worship and so much more. You are a such a Godly man.

    When I got the phone call on that Friday night I couldn’t believe it. I remember asking everyone I could think of to pray for you. I couldn’t believe the updates I kept getting. I was so scared God was going to call you home. I was [and am] so thankful you and Randi hosted my goodbye party just the night before. It gave me [and so many more] great memories to hold on to and a last time for everyone to be together. But now I have plans you visit NY soon and I know your house is on the list of places for me to visit. We know God is not finished with you yet. He has great plans for you and your family.

    One last thing… One evening I was burden for you. I began praying and crying out to God. I don’t know why that night the Lord laid you on my heart, but I looked up and remembered one of your many small group lessons. [[Psalms 8: 3-4 “When I look at your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars which you have set in place, what is man that you are mindful of him, and the son of man that you care for him?”]] and i quote you “there is a shrinking affect that happened when i look up” Yes, that night i felt so small looking up, but at the same time i was reminded that God cares about us, He is mindful of us and because He is the one who set the star in place I knew He was in control and no matter what happened you would be okay.

    I have and will continue to pray for you during this recovery process.

  19. Jane Curtis January 7, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    I don’t know you folks personally, but Deb Frisbey, who went to WOL, told our church about you and I have been following you on Facebook and praying for you since shortly after your accident. I praise the Lord for your progress and am excited to see where God takes you and your sweet wife. Praying in Michigan…

  20. Laurie January 7, 2011 at 11:39 pm #

    Graham, You don’t know me. We have never met. We don’t live in the same town, go the same places nor attend the same church. God brought you to me through a Facebook friend. I am praying for your continued improvement. It is amazing what God can do. Keep believing. Laurie

  21. Michelle Bishop January 8, 2011 at 12:08 am #

    Hi Graham, You don’t know me but I have been following your progress and the amazing way that God is restoring you mentally, physically and spiritually! My grandson, Christian Nazigian first asked me to pray for you after he told me what happened at the Rodeo. Christian and Ethan both prayed for you several times while visiting us in August and I have been praying for you as well. In addition, I have forwarded Randi’s posts occasionally to friends who are also praying for you.

    You and Randi are an amazing couple. I am convinced the Lord is preparing you for something wonderful that will glorify Him. You are already doing just that! Imagine the lives you have touched. Those who were not sure that God answers prayer or that He is even interested in us…well just take a look at the way He is answering our prayers and how very much He loves and is interested in healing you!! What a testimony to His Greatness.

    I pray that you will fully recover and serve the Lord in a mighty way with new insight and fervor.

    In Christian Love,
    Michelle Bishop

  22. Uncle Ed and Aunt Sharon January 8, 2011 at 12:14 am #

    Dear Graham:

    Our church here in PA has been praying for you and the entire family since your accident. It was our pleasure a few weeks ago to show the video from when you were home over Thanksgiving. There were many tears and it was even difficult for the pastor to compose himself when it was finished. There is no doubt it changed lives and hearts. The College/Career leader took a copy to show to his group, and the youth group is also going to watch it.

    While you were in the hospital, different people came to me and said they felt burdened to pray for specific things, like the little children, the parents (yours and Randi’s) and family who were driving and traveling all over. So the Lord was using His people to cover all aspects of your situation in prayer.

    We are grateful for the progress you ALL are making. Hope to see you soon when we come visit Gma and Gpa.

  23. Tami January 8, 2011 at 12:47 am #

    Dear Graham and Randi

    You do not know me, but I became aware of your situation when my mother’s pastor in Nova Scotia, Canada emailed me and asked me to pray for you. You have both been lifted up in prayer in more than one country! I want to thank our wonderful Lord and Savior for what He has been doing in your lives and thank Randi for keeping us all updated on all of the miracles that He has been doing. Randi, you have been giving God all the glory in every step along the way and it has been such an inspiration to me. I believe that you should consider writing a book about your journey from the beginning, it could be such an encouragement to others and God has given you a gift of written communication. I really enjoy how you can express yourself in your writing and it is such a powerful witness. May God continue to provide for your needs and may He continue His powerful works in you and give you full healing so that you can be a faithful and strong witness to His Glory!

  24. Hannah January 8, 2011 at 1:20 am #

    Graham – we’ve never met, but I’ve known about you and Randi for years – I’m Erin’s mom (Naczi – now Wood) and when she was at the BI and working at the ranch as a wrangler for several years I heard about the two of you a lot. I think that you two really helped her through some of those long, dusty, days – you were steady, good humored, grounded, resourceful and supportive AND well connected spiritually. All those traits helped her then and are certainly helping you now. Thanks for reaching out to her and the other wranglers then, and thanks for reaching all of us now by your faith and example. Syracuse (well, Marcellus) has been praying for you too!
    -Hannah Naczi

  25. Sarah Deane January 8, 2011 at 1:49 am #

    Hey, Graham! Just wanted to let you know how grateful I am to have you and Randi in my life! When I first moved to the ADKs and started going to Grace, the two of you made me feel so at home, and it was just such a blessing! I have really enjoyed getting to know the two of you through small group. You have been such a beautiful example to me of what a marriage relationship looks like when God is at the center, and how well a church functions when a few really dedicated people (like yourself) step up to the plate. When you had your accident, I, like a lot of people, got down on my knees and started praying like crazy. The Lord laid a Bible story on my heart – the story of Lazarus, and one verse in particular: “This sickness will not end in death. No, it is for God’s glory so that God’s Son may be glorified through it,” and that is exactly what I have seen! I see the Lord continuing to be faithful in healing you; every time I see you you’re looking stronger, sounding better, and seeming more confident. I know that God has truly been glorified by your attitude, your work ethic, and your faithfulness to Him these past several months. I am absolutely positive that God will continue to bless you and your family; it’s hard to think of anyone more deserving! Still praying! 🙂

  26. Randy & Sherry Hessler January 8, 2011 at 3:40 am #

    Graham,
    We just wanted to let you know that we have been on this amazing journey with you and Randi. We have shed tears before the throne of God on your behalf and we now rejoice together with you both at God’s amazing answers to prayer. God is so good to us even in the difficult circumstances of life. We love both of you and continue to pray for a complete recovery.

  27. Lin Vickery January 8, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    Graham, from the day of your accident when we first heard about it from Chris & Kinga, we have been praying for you. I also passed this prayer request to a group of women friends of mine who pray for each other, and I know many of them prayed for you for several weeks, and a few are still praying. It has been such a joy to read the posts and follow your progress. Praise the Lord for his grace to you and your family!

  28. Peggy Brill January 8, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    Dear Graham and Randi,
    I learned of Graham’s accident in mid-august when my brother and his wife, Sam and Melissa Adams, visited my home in Illinois. I have followed Randi’s blog and pray for you and your family daily. I sometimes wake up in the middle of the night and pray. My son went to WOL ranch as a child, and I remember thinking as I drove into Schroon Lake, NY, “there must be angels sitting in all the trees – this is Holy Ground.” As the accident happened on “Holy Ground” I must conclude that God has a divine purpose for this ‘ministry of suffering’ he has given you.
    Randi, I will continue to pray for the your requests, but I also pray for what you can’t share.
    Graham, I will continue to pray for COMPLETE healing; but foremost, that God’s plan will unfold in your lives and the lives of all those who are touched by your story.
    Your sister in Christ,
    Peggy Brill
    Psalm 91

  29. Bob Laymon January 8, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    Hello Graham and Randi,

    I’m not sure that I have met either of you personally before. Shirley and I have recently moved to Georgia from Schroon Lake after 22+ years with Word of Life. We have been consistenly praying for both of you and your family since the day of the accident. We have been reading your updates on a regular basis and are rejocing in the great progress. We are trusting that The Lord will give you complete healing and restore all of your memory. We will continue to follow your progress and pray for you.

    Bob & Shirley Laymon

  30. Your Most Favorite Mother-in-Law January 8, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    Hi Graham, it’s Liz. You know that Keith and I love you as our own child. You have been an awesome husband and father, and spiritual leader of your family. This is continuing in spite of the accident. We see your struggles each day, and your determination to get back to “normal”. We want to encourage you to be patient, and not to be so hard on yourself. Satan would like nothing better than to have you feel defeated by putting negative thoughts and feelings in your head. Think about the positive things and dwell on thankfulness. Don’t get discouraged; although that’s easy for me to say. You bring glory to God as you go about your walk each day. We all love you so much and it’s so fun to be around you. God chose YOU for a reason. It is so early yet in your recovery, and you are working very hard. We love to see you smile and hear you laugh, just as much as we like to see you improve. We pray for you constantly yet, we know the struggles. Please know how much you are loved. You are an amazing man of God…..praying for you.

  31. Tammi T. January 9, 2011 at 1:09 am #

    Graham,
    I know we’ve never met but I’m a fellow WOLBI/SYME graduate (probably way before your time);-) My niece, Brittney Hanshew was the one who first shared with our family about your accident. Our family started praying then and have been praying for you regularly ever since then. (I was actually at Pottersville shortly after your accident to see Brittney graduate. We arrived in time to view the rodeo. I know that a lot of the time that I was there, it was even more of a reminder to me to be praying for you.)

    It has been such a blessing to see how God has been answering prayers. It also builds my sons’ faith because as they pray for you nightly, they can see how God is answering. Your recovery is such a miracle and we are excited and amazed at God’s goodness and power. We look forward to hearing how God will continue to work in your life.

    You are still in our prayers. May God bless you and your family.

  32. Jim and Stacey Kowalka January 9, 2011 at 2:43 am #

    Dear Graham,
    We can hardly put into words what an inspiration you have been in your tenacity,courage,and perserverance. The broken ones are God’s special agents that He uses in a unique way as only He can. So very many have been touched in some way by your life and the love and loyalty of your wife, Randi. I think of how crushed roses give off the sweetest fragrance and you both truly do give off the fragrance of Christ.

    We have shared your story with people around the U.S. and they all continue to follow it and pray for you daily. Worship is very close to our hearts and we are still praying that you will play and sing again someday. God has done amazing things and it is just a matter of time before we see more incredible miracles in your life.

    Psalms 40:1 says “I waited patiently for the Lord, He turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the slimy pit ( my hospital bed and coma) out of the mud and mire ( the confusion of my mind and frailty of my body) He set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see it and fear and put their trust in the Lord” ( many already have)
    Jim and myself and 2 kids pray for you often and get excited in every new turn in the road and every big and small miracle. Just remember it isn’t over yet! 😀
    Don’t forget to keep praising for ” He who sacrifices thank offerings honors me and he prepares the way so that I may show him the salvation of God” ( Psalms 50:23) See also Isaiah 42:1-10
    In hope and Jesus love,
    Jim and Stacey K.

  33. Grannie January 10, 2011 at 4:29 am #

    Dear Graham and Randi,

    Neither of you know me. I read about you both online and have been following the wonderful progress that you’ve been making.

    I live on Merritt Island, FL – and am a mother to three grown kids and grandmother to five grand kids. My husband and I both have miscellaneous health issues that leave us disabled to a degree. His is mostly back related – mine is COPD and arthritis.

    That leaves me with time to share in prayers and warm thoughts for folks who might need a little boost! Y’all are about the same age as our kids – and I know that if they were in need, I would hope some old grannie with time on her hands would be praying for them, too!

    You two have done a great job of coping (and improving) with this mess you’ve been handed. I admire your faith and the love that you share with each other, God and us. It inspires me to keep going, too!

    Thank you so much for helping me to see a bright side on those days when I need some encouragement!

  34. Ruth Bubar January 11, 2011 at 3:37 am #

    Graham,
    You don’t know me but my husband and I have been friends of Randi’s Mom & Dad since the early 70’s when we use to live in Schroon Lake. Our oldest son, Ben, was in Matt and Abby’s wedding and went to Liberty with them. We were so devastated to hear about your accident through Liz and have been praying for your healing. I must say that you have such an amazing wife. Randi has been such an example of a Godly wife who has constantly been by your side through this difficult time and just trusting God for whatever His will is in your lives. I have looked forward to reading all her updates with tears running down my face and have witnessed just how amazing our God is. We are so thrilled and thankful for the healing He has done in your body and we continue to pray for your complete recovery. I’m sure you and Randi know that God has some wonderful plans for you two. This is a tough road you guys are traveling, yet through it all you have seen God has been right there with you in so many ways. Would love to meet you someday! Keep on fighting!
    Ruth Bubar

  35. Stephen Bradley January 11, 2011 at 5:13 am #

    Hi Graham,

    Janie and I have been praying for you and thinking about you. I really enjoyed serving the Lord with you at Grace in the Worship Team. I hope to visit NY sometime in the future and would enjoy seeing you. I am encouraged by your walk with Christ and I am proud to call you my brother in Christ. I love you Graham! Janie sends her love as well.

    Stephen Bradley
    Waco TX

  36. Leslie January 11, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    Dear Graham and Randi,

    even though we have never met, I have closely been following your story, recovery and triumphs. My husband and I praise God with you at His wondrous works in your lives. I attended the BI 2002/03, but like so many others have said, facebook was the informant for us as well. I can’t even remember where I found the first information or when, but it was only a few months or weeks after our wedding. The thought of going through something like this with my husband kept me glued to your story. I told my husband and since then both of us have been praying for you and your family!

    Randi, thanks for your faithfulness on this blog! Thanks for your honesty. It definitely helps me know how to pray better.

    Graham, keep up the great work! Don’t allow the devil to pull you down – trust in the Lord and allow Him to work marvelously through you!!! I look forward to reading how God continues to heal you.

    The other day I thought how interesting it would be to meet. We pray for you so much, it feels like we already know you. If you ever come to Vienna, Austria (yes, Europe), then let us know and we’ll meet up! 🙂

    May the Lord continue to send healing, patience, love, wisdom and blessing to you!! We hope this next year is an incredible one!

    Leslie & Felix Ring

  37. Dara January 11, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    Hey Graham! Drew & I (with so many others!) have been praying for you since that rodeo night… watching your family go through all of this has really opened my eyes to the reality that we should enjoy every moment of every day to the fullest, and made me think about how I want to live my short life more. It has been SO great to see how God is healing you; this Sunday when you played guitar I couldn’t help but get a little choked up, and feel so in awe of the amazing God we get to serve!!

  38. Abbianne Huizing January 12, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    Hey Graham! I know a lot of what I say here can be repeats but you and your family have been in my prayers, and so many other peoples prayers as well. I work at the FCG over the summer and the night of the accident I heard the sirens going by, I knew something was wrong because sirens aren’t very common around here, especially so close. I immediately started to pray for whoever got hurt not knowing it was you. When I heard you had been hurt my heart sank. Although I have only known you and your family for such a short time through small groups and church-you all have made a HUGE impact in my life. Thank you for the spiritual example you always are. Even watching you now, after the accident, you continue to read His Word and pray. It has been a miracle to see you improving, and you are improving! I thank the Lord for Randi’s example as well. Her patience, trust and honesty about the situation has been a true example to follow.
    While I was home for Christmas we had some friends over who were at the accident-it was such a sweet time to be able to fill them in on your progress and the miracle that God has been doing! We all sat together and just prayed.
    God is good and you are effecting so many lives, even if you can’t see it.Don’t give up Graham!! We all continue to pray!

  39. Randy McFarland January 12, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    You are ‘More Than A Conqueror’ in so many ways Graham. Charlotte and I have always admired you but after seeing you and your family walk with the Lord through this valley, sir there are simply no adequate words to describe the love and esteem we now hold for you! I thank God for teaching us wondrous things through you and your powerful witness. I’m sure you are quite aware but, I believe you could possibly be married to the most wonderful woman that God ever blessed a man with! (and yes I am going to pay dearly for that last comment if Charlotte reads this!)

  40. Ann January 12, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    Graham and Randi – We have never met. My husband and I attend church with Renee and Gabe. I am also friends with Tom Sobek from years ago, and I have been to the Word of Life Ranch. Anyway, since the night of the accident, I have been following your story and praying for you. Your perseverance and trust in God through all of this is so wonderful to witness. You are walking a path many of us have never stepped foot on, so it is encouraging to hear the testimony that God is faithful even in such a trial. I am very happy for you that things are going so well, and I will continue to pray.

  41. Ted Moon January 12, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    Hey Graham: Jeanette and I are in your Dad and Mom’s small group from Heartland church. You and I met when I came over to your Dad’s to repair his water heater. Not sure if you remember or not but the 4 of us, you
    Gary, Shawn and myself were in the basement hang’n out by the water heater just shoot’n the breeze, talking shop, sports, ect.I just wanted to say that it was a real pleasure to meet you! Hope we get to talk again sometime soon. You and Randi are such inspirations to alot of people, including us!God bless you both!

  42. Heather January 13, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    Graham and Randi,
    I dont know either of you personally, or have any fun connection to share. I am from upstate NY, and many of my students have attended WOL. I am now a missionary in Belize, Central America. I just stumbled upon your story when the accident had just happened, and every day could hardly wait to read of how God was doing miracles to heal you Graham, and refine and strengthen you Randi, in the process. I continue to read all the updates and continue to uphold you and your family in prayer often. I am praising Jesus He has used your story so mightily and for so many huge steps in the healing process. I can’t wait to see how Jesus continues to work through each of you, and use this all for His glory.
    Still praying, Heather

  43. Beth Terpstra Bonham January 14, 2011 at 1:41 am #

    Graham,
    Ever since I first heard of your accident your little family has been ever present on my mind and in my prayers. Even in my dreams! I often dream of seeing you and meeting Randi and passing out hugs to all of you. I have found myself identifying with Randi since I too have two little ones at home – 9 months and 2 years old. You already know this but you have an amazing wife! I have been so encouraged by her to refocus my own marriage and appreciate what the Lord has given me. I know we are far away and it’s terrible that we haven’t spoken since high school graduation, but I have been next to you and next to Randi in spirit as much as possible. I have poured over these posts and cried and laughed and prayed and prayed! As a mom I have prayed a lot for your little ones and in the beginning my prayers were something like “Jesus, please, these little boys need their daddy…” I am overwhelmed with God’s goodness in giving you back to your little boys and your beautiful wife. I wish you guys lived closer so Randi and I could be friends and our kids could play, but I will just have to settle for reading Randi’s posts and please remember I am always reading and praying for you all. Love, Beth

  44. matt vander wiele January 14, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    hey dude, I used to eat those pizzas with you, Nice and easy pizza is the best when you have just been driving around all day looking for houses to deliver oil to that dont exist! haha. Man I love you, I am so glad that you are doing great. Rick and I are planning a trip in Feb to come see you for a few.

    Love you dude

    Your brother Matt

  45. Jessica Gernert January 16, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    Hey Graham,

    You don’t know me, but I have been following your story and praying for you. I first found your story through Mountianside people, and I have been following your story ever since. I wanted to let you know that you and your wife have truly impacted my faith. We all hope that someday, when we are faced with the worst, we will turn to God for strength. That is so much easier said than done. However, in your situation it has been so encouraging to see you- who has gone through so much- still giving God the Glory. You and Randi have both been amazing examples of faith. My husband and I are still praying that you continue to heal.
    Love, Jessica and Patrick

  46. Codie January 16, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    Graham and Randi ~

    What can be said on here that hasn’t already been said in so many words…… Just reading through some of the posts to you, it is so encouraging to see the power of prayer to our God. You and Randi have been such an example of a godly marriage “in sickness and in health, for better or for worse”. It’s so easy to plan on and say that if a trying circumstance comes our way that those going through it would rest in God’s grace, but you guys are a testimony to that. Life isn’t always easy or fair, but you’re both making the best of what come have been an awful situation and giving ALL glory to God. Prayers for your family are still coming from the other side of Schroon Lake for you guys. Shayne is usually my faithful little reminder; he loves to pray for “Wyatt’s daddy” for his nap or at bedtime. Graham, we’re praying for complete healing for you in God’s time and patience to accept some of the physical difficulties that you’re still struggling with. But can I say, you’re doing amazing for it having only been about 6 months post-accident!!! Randi, we’re praying for endless energy as your play the role of caretaker/wife/mom and encouragement on days when things are just plain hard…… maybe on days that you’re looking at past memories of before. Also, prayers for you as a couple as you adjust to things now, both public and personal. It’s been really encouraging to my faith to see blog-by-blog and word of mouth here in SL, how you are doing each day. Randi, thanks for the honesty of each post. Can’t wait to see what else God has planned for you and your family in the days ahead!

  47. Pat & Steve Cuzzacrea January 16, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    Hi Graham, praise God that your are doing so well. What a blessing to see you on the stage in church this morning and singing again. Keep up the good work. You and Randi are still in our prayers.

  48. Dan January 17, 2011 at 2:22 am #

    Graham, I’m proud of you. It has been fun working with you and seeing you improve. Bonnie and I enjoyed listening to you today in church. You did awesome. We both cried a little. Keep on fighting, keep on working hard, keep on doing what you are doing. See you tomorrow……..I never take that for granted anymore. I love you. Dan

  49. Lisa Pohl Davis January 18, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    Graham,

    You don’t know me, but we have the same Great Physician. I live in Michigan and heard about your injury from my parents, who were at the rodeo that night. Two years ago I almost lost my life to liver disease. The doctors didn’t know what was causing it and so, they couldn’t “fix” it. They predicted that I would most likely die from the disease within 2 months. But the people prayed. And the Great Physician moved with a healing that astounded everyone… myself included. I know, you know, what that feels like.

    A healing story has unfolded in my life. At the same time, I’ve watched a similar story unfold in your life, online. I’ve read your stories, Randi’s thoughts and prayers. I’ve watched video of you speaking publicly and I’ve been comforted, encouraged and challenged by what you’ve shared. I have been blessed by your Facebook Page in so many ways.

    More than anything, I have been blessed to watch from a distance, what you and Randi are doing with your miracle. I know you understand when I say, that it is one thing to receive a miracle. It is another thing, to continue to live the miracle… Sometimes I find myself struggling with “Now what?”, but then I realize that I have learned to listen for the Great Physician’s voice with much keener hearing… and that He will be faithful to show me “what’s next”, as I continue this healing journey.

    You have taught me the power of telling your healing story. You have inspired me to trust the Great Physician who heals so miraculously.

    As the journey unfolds before us, I’m so thankful that we both have the same Great Physician… and that He brought us together on this journey. It is a blessed thing to have “touched His robe”.

    I am rejoicing with you in a special way, as your healing and your ministry continues. I’m looking forward to reading the next chapter in your healing story!

    With love, praying without ceasing,

    Lisa Pohl Davis
    Howell, Michigan

Leave a Reply

