Update on us 12/16/10

16 Dec

I have been trying to do this quiet time study by Beth Moore called “Jesus”.  I was given this book from Graham’s sister, Sarah, when Graham was in ICU.  It’s perfect for me right now because it doesn’t take very long to do, and is just enough to help encourage me when I need it. I of course, am not as consistent as I would like to be with it, and every time I do it I wonder why I don’t do it everyday!  At the end of it is an area that you can write your prayers down to the Lord.  This particular section had to do with it being about the Lord and not ourselves.  I wrote:

Lord, help me to realize and make it ALL about you.  Not what I’ve been through, not how hard it is.  Not how strong I come across, not how I “have it all together”, because without You, I would be going no where, just existing.  I want people to truly see You in me.  Help me dear Lord to be Your light in this time.

For the rest of my life this will be a part of me; but, I don’t want it to define me completely.  I realize that I can’t get away from what happened and I can use this for the Lord’s glory and honor and all of that.  How guilty are we though sometimes in man’s praise?  Man can make you feel nice about yourself and give you a temporary boost in confidence and “worthiness”.  I admit that I have had to deal with this lately.  People naturally feel a little sorry for me (unfortunately), and quite honestly, I feel sorry for me sometimes too :0).  The words that are spoken to me are sometimes undeserved, and I can’t help but sometimes like what is said about my family and me.  I can’t help but feel a little better.  There is NOTHING wrong with man’s praise, please don’t misread me.  But, if that is why I am doing what I am doing, than even this, is all in vain!  Having a humble heart is something I (and all of us) can really focus on.

Miracle of the day:

Graham had his 6 week eye appointment yesterday.  His eyes are continuing to improve!  I’m not even going to begin to try to understand what is all going on with Graham, but he was at a 10 degree difference 6 weeks ago and yesterday he was at 8.  When he gets to about a 6 degree difference they will begin to take some of the prisms out of the glasses.  His doctor cannot believe how well he has healed so far with the kind of injury he STILL has.  This doctor deals a lot with brain injury patients and their eyes and he was very encouraging to me about Graham.  He admitted that he will most likely NOT get out of the glasses completely, but if this is the worse of it, that is GREAT!  He also encouraged Graham to realize that he IS STILL very injured.  Even though he looks so great from the outside, just put his glasses on and it will tell you he is still one hurting guy.   That was good to hear for me, as I see so much that most people don’t and to remain patient.  Basically, he believes that there is severe nerve damage done to one of the eye muscles in him that is causing so much drama:0) He is still improving and that is what is so miraculous to me!

Humor of the day:

Graham asked if he could drive to his appointment yesterday and I agreed.  He was hungry about 40 minutes into the drive, so he stopped at Taco Bell (his favorite fast food).  Graham has always prided himself on being able to do many different things while driving, such as eating, playing air drums, guitar, and spotting that hawk in the tree about a mile away.  I was curious how he was going to eat and drive at the same time.  I didn’t say a thing, but I was a little nervous (to say the least!)  My eyes scanned over to his seat to see how he was doing and he was easily driving with his knees (like he used to do) and eating his taco at the same time.  He caught me looking at him and said:  “You still think it’s sexy that I can drive with my legs don’t you?”  I have to admit that I always thought he was talented that he could do that….I’m not so sure I would go as far as to say “sexy.”  I just had to laugh at him as he spilled sauce from it on his pants, jacket, and hands.

Keep praying!

 

 

5 Responses to “Update on us 12/16/10”

  1. Joey Feltz December 16, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    Always love your updates and for the way that you share what’s on your mind and heart! Praying for you this afternoon…how are things with the smoke alarms?? 🙂

  2. Stephanie December 16, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

    I heard about you all at Word of Life camp over the summer and I’ve been following your story ever since. My cousin had a TBI three years ago… this brings back so many memories! She had come to Christ only a couple of weeks before her bike accident, and as she was coming back into consciousness and the weeks following,her thought were completely scrambled, but she never forgot her salvation! Today, her mind is, for the most part, healed. She still has shooting pains in her right side a lot (she was paralyzed there for a short time), she has ADHD, which she didn’t have before, and she sometimes gets a little overstimulated in a fast-moving, chaotic conversation, but to this day, she remembers how God worked in her life in the early stages… times when she wasn’t supposed to remember anything! God can work even thorough TBI’s! I’m praying for you, and thank you SO much for sharing your story!

  3. Codie December 16, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    Isn’t that Jesus study great for one having a limited amount of time for a Bible study/QT? I bought one fall of 2009 and am still working my way through it, but it is so worth it!

  4. delivron@nycap.rr.com December 16, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    I haven’t had a serious injury and I don’t do Taco Bell and drive at the same time. Consider that Taco Bell and Driving a high level accomplishment and coordination.
    Andy deLivron

  5. Cami December 17, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

    I heard about Grahams accident shortly after it happened. I had just been thru a similar incident with my nephew who was hit by a car while trying to cross the street. This year has brought me closer to Jesus in my personal relationship with him. Please keep posting how things are going with your family, as I enjoying reading how Graham is healing and you are healing also. Keep the faith, I know it is hard at times, but do your best and the rest will follow. Praying for you all, Cami

Leave a Reply

