Update on us 12/14/10

14 Dec

I wanted to share some of the things that Graham has written in his little pocket note pads.  He has several of these running because he’ll start one and then forget where he put it and have to start another.  I’ll find them a few days later in his coat, or pants, or on his dresser and I can’t help but read what he has written in them.  I think we could all take something from these and apply it:

1)   My Speech (ie positive comments about people)

2)   Thanksgiving for what the Lord has blessed me with

3)   Work hard

4)   Strive for excellence

5)   Be organized

6)   Don’t expect to have the old memory

7)   Take notes of what I’m doing and need to do

8)   Try for excellence, but don’t expect perfection (I love that one!)

After this he has Romans 4:19- Abraham’s faith did not weaken, even though at about 100 years of age he figured his body was as good as dead and so was Sarah’s womb.

He also wrote: “Graham don’t lose faith in God’s goodness and love for you.  Keep hoping and believing in God’s good and awesome plan.  Just be satisfied with your best.

He has several other “lists” and “notes” like this, but I just wanted to share a few as I know I could learn so much from this guy who is choosing to trust the Lord right now, even what it’s hard.

Please continue to pray for Graham!  He is doing amazing, but still struggles, and has a lot of healing to do.  He is SO hard on himself, and just keeps pushing himself to get better and be what he was.  I’m convinced he will never be what he was, but rather be better, although different, and that is hard to accept for both of us at times.  Graham’s biggest motivation is me, with the kids right behind, and my heart just breaks for him as I watch him try to do something and struggle so much with it.  I have to be sensitive to his needs, which is hard to do all the time, as my own are being placed on the sidelines perhaps for a long time.  I don’t mean that for everyone to feel sorry for me; I simply have to share what is true and real right now and the truth is that Graham, although doing incredible is not able to be the husband that he once was before all of this.

Miracle of the day:  Graham had an MRI done yesterday on his shoulder/arm.  I don’t know the results yet, but just that this little step is done, is a miracle.  I don’t know what the future holds for that arm and what he’ll be able to do with it long-term.  It bothers him a lot that he can’t use it like he once was.  He is adapting with it though and has found several tricks to make his life easier.  He gets the most frustrated with this problem, so please continue to pray for patience for him and for continued healing of it.  He would really like to play the drums again, the guitar, build things easier and ride horses like he used to.

Humor of the day:

With all the wet weather and snow, Graham’s feet have been getting really wet at work.  Wet feet in boots all day equals stinky feet!  I’m sure all you blue collar workers have been there before….maybe even you white collared ones!  Anyway, last night he was taking off his socks and I just couldn’t take it anymore.  I marched him in to the bathroom and washed his feet in the sink.  As I was washing I noticed that his toenails had not been clipped in I don’t know how long.  I asked him when the last time was he had clipped them.  He just smiled at me and said: “I have no idea”.  I dug the clippers out and clipped away more than I would like to admit :0).  Am I grossing anyone out yet?  When I got all done Graham looked at me and said: “Now THAT is love”……..although I was happy to do it………I would have to agree!

Keep praying!

 

 

5 Responses to “Update on us 12/14/10”

  1. MamaBennie December 14, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    I love the humor of the day…it reminds me of when my husband hurt his back and I had to do almost everything for him from the waist down. It really did put a smile on my face. Praying.

  2. Codie December 14, 2010 at 7:43 pm #

    Love it, Randi! You’re posts are always so encouraging and enlighteningly honest. You haven’t sugar-coated your disappoints which I appreciate; yet, you and Graham are both outwardly (I’m sure inwardly at times it’s so hard)praising and living out your faith. And they just make me laugh at times!

    Your comment about Graham probably never being the same man that he was before the accident struck me. I can’t imagine the reality of physically not being the person I used to be or having to live with a “different” spouse. Just seeing your positivity, though, in recognizing that he will be better but differnet shows hope in God even in the midst of a waiting circumstance. Also, isn’t that how we hope to come out a trial that God has lead us through – different and changed for the better for His glory? Thanks for still keeping us up to date with how we can better pray! Hang in there! God has amazing things in store that we can’t even begin to imagine. It’s been a blessing being able to watch them with you!

  3. Joey Feltz December 14, 2010 at 8:46 pm #

    oh Randi! I just laughed at the toenail thing…that IS love, for sure! Praying that you will see small increments along the way to encourage you and Graham, too! Keep resting in His hand! xo

  4. Liz December 14, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

    I have a great and I guess relatively cheap idea for the feet. I use odor eaters foot spray or powder, it really works wonders. I’m a nurse and I work on my feet for 8 hours a day in hot sneakers. Trust me, I’ve noticed a HUGE difference since I started using it.

    And I guess as a nurse, I’ve been fascinated reading Graham’s story. It has been awesome to see God’s hand in all of His healing, where we “medical professionals” give up hope, the Lord steps in and says “Look what I can do!”.

  5. Grannie December 15, 2010 at 6:15 pm #

    Here’s a tip for Mr. Stinkyfeet! Try a shot of spray deoderant on each foot after your shower! My son had just about the worst cast of smelly feet ever and we found that the deoderant did help a lot!

    Thanks for giving me a smile today! Will continue to pray for more love and patience for you both – – sounds to me like the two of you are doing a great job of helping each other get through this.

    I am in awe watching a young couple work so hard to love HIM and each other, too.

    Grannie

Leave a Reply

