Update on us 12/9/10

10 Dec

I’m sure most of you have seen and heard in the news lately the story of the Doctor in Connecticut who lost his entire family very tragically to intruders.  It’s a horrific story of torture and torment; something we all deep down dread and wouldn’t wish on our worse enemies.  I was watching an interview with him today, and even though I didn’t get to see the whole thing I caught a few very important points.  Some of the questions he was asked I thought were rather silly and shallow; but what was even sadder to me were the questions he answered about God.  He seems to be a religious man, but that’s about it, and it broke my heart that he is mad at God and as he stated “in a stand-off with Him”.

I realize that he has gone through more than most people do; more than me right now, and many others.  It’s obvious he doesn’t have a personal relationship with the Lord and I’m learning that is KEY in any trial, hurt or pain.  What I realized the most watching this, was clearly his wife, his children, his home and his job defined who he was.  That was sadly all taken from him, and I’m not making light of his hurt, because I can’t even imagine losing a child.  What’s defining him now that it has all been lost?  What defines you?  I very much want the light of Jesus in me to define me and be my all.  REALLY my all.  Even if everything is stripped of me.

Many would maybe say I got the easy way out, I got lucky or “it really wasn’t that long or hard for you.  Maybe I did get lucky, even though I don’t really believe in luck. I sure didn’t get the easy way out and it still is long and hard most days.  More than all that though, I am blessed, but not how you might think.  I’m definitely blessed by how the Lord has brought Graham back to us, but I’m more blessed by how the Lord is using this in my life to mold me, change me, and make me who I’m suppose to be.  He must really love me.  I am actually grateful that it did happen, that Graham is still not who he was before because it’s forcing me to cling to the only thing that makes me who I am.  Jesus!  Not my husband, my kids, my “good works”…..only Him.

Miracle of the day:

Graham is running on the elliptical as I write this, and his feet are super smelly from work:0)  Work is a miracle for him!  I am so thankful that he’s trying so hard at his job and for the incredible family we have who are also his bosses.  I don’t get great reports from him at the end of the day because he doesn’t think he’s doing that well, but I’m hearing a different story from those who work with him.  He remembers EVERYTHING and how to do it, he just still struggles a little physically getting it done as efficiently as before.

Humor of the day:

Someone MUST be playing a sick joke on us, but every few nights between 11pm-2am our fire alarms go off.  We have the kind in which when one goes off they all go off.  They are all wired into the same system (new home requirement).  It’s so bad now that I don’t jump out of bed like I used to, but rather slowly slip my feet from the bed to the cold floor and try to figure out how to turn them off.  I’ve tried everything by the way to fix this problem.  I’ve cleaned them, changed all the batteries, tested them, reset them and even when that didn’t work tried to pull certain ones off trying to see if the heat from the furnace was making them go off.  When they start going off they are so piercing you just want to scream and it’s NOT funny while you’re in it.  What is funny though, is poor Graham is SO out of it trying to help me.  He wanders aimlessly around the house trying his best to solve the problem, running into things and ending up in the bathroom which don’t even have a fire alarm in them.  Finally after several minutes of frantically pushing buttons and trying to turn them off at the breaker I can usually manage to get them to go off.  We climb back into bed and I sigh a big sigh as I fall asleep.  The next morning I always ask Graham if he remembers anything from our adventures the night before.  It’s always the same:  a vacant and blank stare with no possible ideas!

Keep praying!

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Update on us 12/9/10”

  1. Joey Feltz December 10, 2010 at 1:43 am #

    Randi…what a blessing to read this post! You have found the ‘secret’ of being content, something that a lot of people never find. Jesus is enough. Period. I am praying for you tonight…esp. with the fire alarm thing…check with the fire dept. maybe there is some glitch in your system…well, of course there is! Sending you a big hug! xo

  2. Sharon Faulkner December 10, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    🙂 Once again my friend you have encouraged me thanks for writing and keep on keeping on … you are an inspiration. I too am grateful Jesus is my all in all… makes the journey bearable and sometimes even joyful. Blessings Sharon

  3. Codie December 11, 2010 at 2:45 am #

    Thanks for continuing to post about daily things. Sounds like we’re learning alot about the same thing – finding that God is enough simply because HE IS! What an amazing God we serve and have the privilege of being in a relationship with Him because He delights in it! That just blows me away at times. Praying for you over the fire alarm situation – how frustating!

  4. Laurie Ploude December 11, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

    So glad to read about your dependence on God. I also watched sadly as Dr, Petit described his relationship with God.

    About your alarms. Try vaccumming them all. Do not spray anything on them.But I’m willing to bet you have a spider’s nest nearby or in one of them. This has happened to me on several occasions. After the firedepartment came in the first time,they told me it was probably a spider and to use the vaccum on all of them as they are hard wired together and impossible to tell which one it is. It happens to me every couple of years and a vaccuum always fixes the problem.

    Thank you for blessing us with Graham’s progress. Will continue to pray for all of you,

Leave a Reply

