Update on us 12/4/10

4 Dec

I am so excited about Christmas this year!  My kids are at such fun ages for it and with Graham being home and celebrating with us I just can’t even begin to describe how fortunate and blessed I feel.  Graham and I are going on our first official date today since the accident.  I have counted the walks and talks as dates too, but this will just feel more proper.  We plan to go Christmas shopping and like a true mom I have to fit in some grocery shopping as well :0)

The Indiana trip had its pros and cons for Graham.  It stimulated his mind so much that I feel he is more with it mentally and that is exciting.  Talking to so many people and having to make his brain work in a different way was great for him.  The downside to the trip was that he was not getting the physical exercise he normally does and his left arm has regressed quite a bit.  We have been blessed from many people supporting us with monetary gifts and I want to share with you all that to help Graham physically we purchased an elliptical machine.  He put it together himself and even though right now he can only do a few minutes at a time it was such a smart thing for us to get!  Running on a tread mill is just too much for him right now.  The elliptical kind of traps his feet down and forces his hands to hold on to something.  He likes it a lot, and I must admit that I’m using it as well.  I know that going back to work and working out at home will help his physical state return to what it was and continue to progress.

I let Graham take his first solo drive the other day into town to see the Doctor for his arm/shoulder.  When I told him this news his jaw dropped and he was acting like a 16 year old who just got his license to drive.  He couldn’t believe his luck!  He has since driven into town for a movie, although he fell asleep watching it within 5 minutes, and currently is at Curtis Lumber picking out some rails for our closet.  He loves his new found freedom!  I think he feels a little less dependant on me and others now.

Miracle of the day:

I know I’ve shared with you that for Graham an hour feels like 5 and a day feels like a week.  He told me today that it’s feeling more like “normal time.”  An hour feels more like a real hour and a day feels like a full day.  This is HUGE for him!  To me this tells me that his brain is working faster to get the information and time down.  Whether or not he always “feels” like this, I don’t know, but today it’s great to have him on normal time and I can only take one day at a time anyway!

Humor of the day:

I’m very sneaky.  No really, I kind of am.  It’s not something I’m very proud of, in fact Graham used to tease me about it before the accident.  I’m kind of snoopy and sneaky, he says it’s “Vander Wiele”, but I don’t know what he’s talking about J.  I’ve been making incorrect statements on purpose to see if he will correct me.  I purposefully stated something today that was backwards in how we had originally decided it before the accident.  He immediately corrected me and went into detail on our plans for this certain topic.  I smiled to him and said…”yes Babe, that IS how we decided it!”  Like I said….I’m sneaky!

Keep praying!

 

3 Responses to “Update on us 12/4/10”

  1. Codie December 4, 2010 at 7:01 pm #

    Have a wonderful date night Christmas shopping, and I’m glad to see that I’m not the only one who decides to food shop on a date! And the sneakiness is very much a “Vander Wiele” thing 🙂

  2. Sharon Faulkner December 4, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    Blessing to your family!! God is so very good and you are experiencing it first hand as are we. Love The Faulkner family

  3. Joey Feltz December 4, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

    I love reading your updates! They are delightful, both to see the progress being made and I esp like your humor of the day…so down to earth! I hope you had a wonderful date together! xo

Leave a Reply

