Update on us 11/18/10

18 Nov

Update on us 11/18/10:

We have a dry erase board that hangs on our pantry door.  This was not always here, but was bought by my mom when my sister was living at my house with all her kids.  With everyone seeming to be on different schedules and on different bottle feedings they found the board to be really helpful in keeping things a little more organized. (HA!)  When Graham came home the board quickly became a life-line for him to know what was going on and to stay on track.  Like I’ve said before, I’ve been removing some of the other lists around the house, but have been hesitant about that board.  Yesterday I just decided to erase everything because when we go out to see his family there isn’t going to be a dry erase board telling him what to do next.  I’m happy to report that he’s doing great so far!  He even wrote the date on it this morning without having to be reminded.  I’m sure he was wondering where everything went, but he didn’t say anything to me, and I went about my business as usual.  I’m so sneaky!

I continue to see improvement with Graham, and have to hold onto what I see with all my heart.  He’ll say or do something that is so much like the “old Graham” and my heart just soars!  If I had to describe him though, I would say that he comes across as aloof and/or just unaware of all that is going on around him.  I never know what he’s going to say and when we’re in crowds, I just hold my breath and hope it’s something not inappropriate.  He’s not as emotional as he was but he IS trying so hard and that’s all I can hope for right now.  I definitely have lost some of that connection that we had before as a married couple and that makes me sad sometimes when I really dwell on it.  I just try not to think about what he was like before and instead try to focus on the fact that I can see him, hug him and talk with him.

I can safely say to everyone reading this though, that I am TRULY happy.  It’s hard to explain or describe, but I just am.  I find myself enjoying the little things so much more and I am content with my life.  WOW!  That sure ONLY comes from the Lord.

Miracle of the day:

I heard this popular verse on my radio read by Joni Ereakson Tada and was just so moved by how she read it.  She has had a really tough road to travel while here on this earth yet she has chosen to trust the Lord completely!  Jeremiah 29:11:  For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for good and not evil, to give you a future and a hope.  How comforting to me right now!

Humor of the day:

I really needed to start Christmas shopping and decided to go last night with my sister.  The boys were to be left with Graham for the first time!  I was not nervous in the least.  Graham called me several times during the evening and just sounded exhausted!  Poor guy!  He worked all day and then took care of the kids all night.  He is still recovering from a major brain injury mind you.  Everything went smoothly, but Keith had on Wyatt’s jammies and was without his blankie…..Not too bad though!

Keep praying!

3 Responses to “Update on us 11/18/10”

  1. Tom and Sherry Carr November 19, 2010 at 2:21 am #

    You both are in our prayers everynight when we have our prayer time and also during the day. The Lord has truly Blessed you Graham with the speedy recovery you have had, keep up your great work. Someday we hope to meet the family that we have been praying for for so long.
    Love to all, Tom & Sherry Carr

  2. Linda November 19, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    Just want you to know I’m still thinking of you and praying for you.

  3. Fran Simmons December 10, 2010 at 1:57 am #

    Randi,
    I know you don’t know me, but I go to church with Abby and Matt and read your updates and pray for your family frequently.

    We have the same crazy problem with the smoke alarm. Ours does that whenever it gets below 20 degrees outside. For some reason it just started last year. The only way we are able to get it to stop is to turn off the breaker that controls the main one for the night. We are going to have someone come look at ours this next week, there may be a way to have it cleaned and that might stop it.

    Thanks for your open and honest communication about your life and how God is using these trials to refine you. Your posts are such an encouragement,
    Fran Simmons

Leave a Reply

