Update on us 11/15/10

15 Nov

I have had several requests for me to post the video that I made of Graham’s journey, and I want you all to know that I will be putting it up very soon.  Some of Graham’s family has not seen it yet and I want to show them first in person before putting it on here for the whole world to see.  It will go up shortly after Thanksgiving.  Thanks for your patience!

This was a special weekend for us as we went to PA for my grand parents 60th wedding anniversary.  When I first received the invite to go, Graham was NOT doing well and I had very low expectations of even being able to go.  We had talked as a family that they should all go and I could stay home, or someone could stay with me but it was important to still carry on life and the activities that sometimes come along with it.  What an awesome miracle that Graham was well enough to go!  It was amazing all being together as a family once again.  We had all been together recently, but under much different circumstances, and very unknown futures for Graham and I.

I must admit that I was nervous about the trip but was also very excited.  It took us 6 hours and my parents drove us down while other family members met us there.  Graham did awesome!  I was afraid it would be too much for him; too many distractions and things like that.  It was actually good for him and he seemed to really be enjoying himself.  He stayed up late hanging with the brothers while us moms tended the kids :0)…not sure how that worked out!  It was very busy for everyone, but so nice to all be together and laugh again!

Graham had an eye appointment on Wednesday and is going to need glasses for the time being.  His eyes ARE getting better, but they still have quite a bit of healing to do.  He’s seeing a very good Doctor and he’s hopeful that his eyes will heal with time.  Just like everything else that is still healing.  We picked out some sweet frames, and I have to admit that I kind of like the studious Graham that looks back at me.  The lady asked me if I wanted to get a warranty on them in case Graham breaks them.  “Absolutely!”  I said.  They will be broken within a month I am sure of it!

I continue to have to take one day at a time.  That is easier said than done especially when we couldn’t have helped but have goals, dreams and plans as a growing family.  It’s scary not knowing what things will be like in a year, or next month.  Everything I thought was to be, is unknown and different now.  In a way it’s comforting because I can only put the Lord in the picture and in the future for us; but man, I can’t be the only one that had things I wanted to do with the things that once made up my life. My desires, my dreams and my goals have all changed.  The old ones have seemed to escaped out the window like that dust you shake from your throw rugs.  Isn’t that what they all were anyway?  Dreams and goals that don’t involve the Lord completely, are just dust.  I’m beginning to realize that every breath and every word, action and moment is to be used for the Lord!  Really!  For Him and for His kingdom.  How wasteful I’ve been at times!

Miracle of the day:

I feel like my whole post up there is one big miracle after another.  That he was able to go to PA and that he’s going to get glasses is just HUGE for us!

Humor of the day:

Graham has always loved working with his hands and is just a handy guy.  Because of this, he has always had the rough looking and feeling hands that go along with it.  They are often permanently stained black with oil or grease.  My dad’s hands were always like that growing up, so it’s hard imagining anything different.  Well, since Graham isn’t using his hands as much and is just now getting back into work and getting dirty; his hands have been baby soft and so clean.  I was holding his hand in the car one day and it was awkward for me.  His hands were softer than mine!  I’m sure it will just take time, but I do miss the rough hands!

Keep us in your prayers!

 

 

3 Responses to “Update on us 11/15/10”

  1. Grannie November 15, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

    Dang it! Ya made me cry again – – but happy tears this time, so I guess that’s a good thing.

    You are right that everything is for God – but I think His happiness is in seeing us happy and successful. You and your wonderful family are certainly going in the right direction.

    Keep finding those smiles – and don’t forget how important cuddles and snuggles are for health and strength both inside and out!

    You inspire me!
    Grannie

  2. Candi November 16, 2010 at 12:57 am #

    As always Randi, you remind of how much we need to rely on the Lord, and how He can provide for us. Also just your faith in Him. Love you and hope to see you when I’m up at WOL any time…if you are there.
    Candi

  3. Geri November 16, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

    I think you guys are doing great. Ken had his major surgery in 2004, and not to be discouraging or anything, because this is totally different, and he’s still having so much pain, and trouble. BUT…I’ve reached out to our Pastor from Albany and got their prayer team praying and it’s Tuesday again…YAY, and they meet on Tuesdays. Since LAST WEEK, I have seen tremendous improvement. I so relate to what you are going through as a woman, wife, and mother. Even though my kids are older, it never matters when one of their parents goes through a life changing event. As of right now a ride to PA would still be out of the question..even a ride to Albany is has gotten too hard. I am so THANKFUL to THE LORD for His constant presence in my life. Without Him I’d be lost. I think for a period of time Ken thought God forgot him…but he really does know better. The silent years can be very full of Blessings and information. God is Good ALL THE TIME, and Graham is so young, he will bounce back, and his hands will be all rough and dirty again…(I know the feeling;)
    Blessings to you Randy…being primary caregiver no matter how much you love who you are caring for is rough…it’s a tiring job, and one that sometimes makes you wonder…what did I forget to do today? Ordering Meds…that’s my downfall…UGH…and running out is not an option. The day where we can lay those medicine bottles down will be our miracle day!!!
    Still praying as always for you and your family! Great news that you were able to have such a great weekend with your family!!!

Leave a Reply

