Update on us 11/2/10

2 Nov

Update on us 11/2/10:

I am slowly and secretively removing some of the lists around the house to see if Graham can function without them.  I’m so bad!  I had one on our mirror in the bathroom that was to help remind him to brush his teeth and get dressed.  So far he has not walked out of the house to work naked and as far as I can tell he’s brushing his teeth!  I also removed the one to remind him to feed the dogs, and perhaps the dogs have gotten a couple extra breakfasts, but not too bad!

Graham continues to thrive at home and even more so at work.  He likes being at work with “the guys” and I think it really makes him feel like he’s getting back to normal.  I’m not sure we’ll ever be “normal” again, but we’re all adjusting to the new husband and dad that is living with us!  We’re just so happy he’s home!  One thing you could pray for is Graham’s relationship with the boys.  Wyatt adored his dad before all this and he still does, but it’s definitely different.  Graham’s voice is different and sometimes his tone comes out harsher than he means it to.  I think too, Wyatt knows he can pull some fast ones on daddy.  It’s kind of like Graham isn’t as sure of himself as he used to be, including being a dad.  He’s not sure what the kids need when they need it and he’s not sure how to respond all the time to problems that arise.  Just stuff we have to work through, but please keep praying.

I am enjoying very much being home and doing the little things with my family.  Giving baths, feeding everyone, reading books, changing diapers and cleaning the house have never seemed so nice for me.  I truly feel that I have that inner joy that only the Lord can give you during hard times.  I’m not sure how else I would get through my day!

Miracle of the day:

Graham’s therapy is going to be moved to one day a week rather than three!  This is HUGE!  He is obviously doing so well that he only needs a little bit.  I’m thinking it’s the great therapist at home that is helping to contribute to the great success:0)  He will now work 4 days a week and on Mondays go to Glens Falls and get all of them out of the way.  I am so happy about this.  It’s just one more step for Graham!

Humor of the day:

In PT (physical therapy) the other day, they wanted to see if Graham could run on a treadmill.  It did not go so well.  They made him run on land and that went better, but he still needs practice.  They told him to jog around the yard at home.  He came home all excited to jog (WHAT!?!?, Graham and jogging have never gone together!), but I said: “cool, I’ll go with you”  We ventured outside with the kids and I thought a fun warm-up would be to have a relay race around the yard.  The last time I had seen Graham run I was laughing so hard!  It was pathetic and I think Wyatt could have run faster than him!  He agreed to the race and my dad happened to join us for fun.  As we all lined up I was thinking, “take it easy on him Randi, don’t beat him too bad.”  I even let Graham say “go” so he could have a head start.  As soon as he said the word, I knew I was in trouble.  The funny thing was, my dad was in trouble too!  Graham smoked us both.  Can you believe that?  I’m no Olympic runner, but I can hold my own.  My dad is pretty fast too.  Graham was definitely sprinting and creamed us all the way back to the finish line!

Keep praying!

 

9 Responses to “Update on us 11/2/10”

  1. Amber Baker November 2, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

    Hi Graham and Randi, We’re still praying! Can’t wait to see you all this Sunday!! Thanks for keeping the updates coming! : ) ~ Awesome about the therapy getting less and less (at least in GF!)

  2. Emily November 2, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

    Randi,
    Its been so great to continue reading your updates on Graham! I still pray for you guys an wear my Praying for Graham T-shirt all the time! Your thoughts an the way you are just so honest about how you feel each day is a true encouragement to me. I will be praying that things between Wyatt an Graham get easier. How are Wyatt an Keith? Please give them hugs an kisses for me! Your family is in our constant prayers here!!! Love you Randi 🙂

  3. Grannie November 2, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

    How wonderful to get such a positive report! You sound so much more light hearted! It must be love, my dear!

    While we adults sometimes seem to be stuck in our old ways, children manage to adjust to new situations more easily. Things will sort themselves out sooner than you think – – but prayer will help it along for sure!

    I’m so happy to hear you sounding more relaxed and comfortable with your role in the re-building of your wonderful life together. Your strength and brave heart will help you get through what God is leading you to accomplish!

    Thank you for sharing this joy!
    Grannie

  4. CJ November 2, 2010 at 7:05 pm #

    Continuing to pray for you all.

  5. Martha Hidalgo November 2, 2010 at 9:51 pm #

    Each day has it’s own miracle Randi – isn’t the Lord just so amazing!

  6. Cindy Baker November 3, 2010 at 12:49 am #

    What a fantastic update this was to read…I really enjoyed the humor for today:) Looking forward to seeing you all on Sunday afternoon. Continuing to pray for you all daily for whatever the Lord brings into that day that you will feel His arms around you all.
    God bless you all,
    Cindy

  7. Carlos Hidalgo November 4, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

    Randi: How wide and deep is the love of God? It stretches from one fateful night in a rodeo rink to a relay-race in the back yard…and beyond!
    We continue to pray and rejoice for you and with you.
    Love you all
    Carlos

  8. Kirstin November 5, 2010 at 1:43 am #

    Hi Graham family! I have been following your story from the beginning. We live in Montgomery AL (Air Force.) A part of your Nov 2nd entry really struck a chord with me when you said you were finding that inner peace that only the Lord could give during hard times. I’m trying to find that inner peace myself. My husband was recently deployed for a year. As your situation is different than mine we are struggling with some of the same issues. We have no family near so I’m taking on everything. We have two kids ages 7 & 4 and they miss their daddy too. I want to find that inner peace. I have been reading my bible and we do attend church but its not enough for me. I find myself crying on and off during the day and trying to be strong for my kids but its hard. He left for his deployment 11 days ago. I love reading your post in here. You have inspired me with your strong devotion to God. I actually went to WOL camp as a child 3x. I grew up in upstate NY, joiined the AF, met my AF husband & the rest is history. Anywho thanks for the inspiration and I will continue to pray for your family.

    Kirstin

  9. Codie November 5, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    So happy that things are becoming alittle more normal for all of you! What a blessing that Graham’s therapy is now only one day a week especially with winter and bad weather driving almost here. Can’t wait to see and visit with you all at the open house on Sunday! Still praying for you all as adjustments are being made daily!

Leave a Reply

