Update on us 10/31/10

31 Oct

Update on us 10/31/10:

I have been struggling the last couple of days with not having a thankful attitude and getting right back into that old sinful self of selfishness, pity, and just negative thoughts about this new situation I find myself in everyday.  The truth is I have much to be thankful for these days and I want to share with you some of them (mostly for my own benefit, but you might find them refreshing!)  With Thanksgiving fast approaching I know that I maybe have a little more to be thankful this year than most!  Here are some of the things that have come to my heart and mind today:

  • I’m thankful that Austin and I were able to get to Graham as fast as we did that night and get his feet out of the stirrups so Crockett didn’t drag him (although the horse did just lie there, so that is something else to be thankful for!)
  • I’m thankful that he was transported quickly and safely to Albany Med
  • I’m thankful for the great care he received in the ICU
  • I’m thankful for everyone who came that first night to be there with me
  • I’m thankful for that awful day before our anniversary when I received some of the worst news
  • I’m thankful for how my family and Graham’s family surrounded me with their love and support.  They prayed constantly with me, and over Graham
  • I’m thankful for my father-in-law, Gary, who would share with me almost every day what the Lord was teaching him and share scripture with me.  We would just cry and pray, cry and pray….
  • I’m thankful for Kathy, my mother-in-law who would stay with Graham at really odd hours just reading scripture to him and being with him
  • I’m thankful for my own dad who was there with me the entire time and knew exactly what I needed when I needed it.  Words could never express how much he means to me
  • I’m thankful for my mom and how she took care of my kids and kept things running back at home
  • I’m thankful for all my sisters (in-laws included) who were all there for me in a different and special way.  Each one gave me something that the other couldn’t.
  • I’m thankful that Rick made us all laugh during this tragic time.  Only he can do it!
  • I’m thankful for my pastor and his wife, Jenny.  They were the first ones to the ER to see Graham (they even beat me!)  They continue to be a huge blessing to us
  • I’m thankful that the Doctors were wrong
  • I’m thankful that Graham started breathing on his own
  • I’m thankful that he didn’t have MRSA (or was healed of it!)
  • I’m thankful that he started opening his eyes
  • I’m thankful that he isn’t paralyzed and can move all his limbs.
  • I’m thankful they were able to fix his two collapsed lungs
  • I’m thankful that he can see, hear, taste, smell, feel things etc
  • I’m thankful that he was able to go into one of the best rehab hospitals in the country
  • I’m thankful for the therapists that I know were hand picked for Graham.  They did an amazing job with him
  • I’m thankful that he was only there for 6-7 weeks
  • I’m thankful that Gary and Kathy were able to live down there with him and be by his side when I couldn’t
  • I’m thankful that he got his stomach tube out and after learning how to eat again is able to eat any and everything he wants :0)
  • I’m thankful that he was able to learn to walk again, sit up on his own, go the bathroom on his own and dress himself
  • I’m thankful that I’m able to hear him laugh again!
  • I’m thankful that he is HOME with me and the kids!
  • I’m thankful that my boys will know their dad and how special he is
  • I’m thankful that Graham continues to try so hard at home
  • I’m thankful for the really little things like brushing our teeth together, doing dishes, dancing in our kitchen and watching him feed the horses in the morning
  • I’m thankful for the power of prayer and how I got a front row seat in experiencing answered prayers unfold right before my eyes
  • I’m thankful that the Lord isn’t done performing miracles
  • I’m thankful for all the encouragement from so many people.  People that I knew well, some that I knew just a little and most that I won’t know until we get to heaven!  Thank you for showing me Jesus in your notes, cards, emails and gifts!
  • I’m thankful for Graham’s relationship with the Lord
  • I’m thankful for what the Lord has in store for Graham and me too!

As you can see I DO have much to be thankful for and I’m glad I wrote this down because when I’m feeling sorry for myself, sad, and lonely I’m going to come to this post and camp on all the Lord HAS done for me and my family.  I could keep going with this list by the way, but my motherly duties are sure to call me soon!

Miracle of the day:

We went riding again yesterday.  Graham rode Crockett in our arena and I couldn’t stop him from asking the horse to lope (next gait up from a trot).  He did great and looked like a natural.  The last time Graham rode he looked pathetic!  His rear end was coming out of the saddle about 5 inches every time the horse bounced.  Not this time!  He actually worked on some technical stuff with him and the whole time had this cheesy smile on his face.  I probably did too :0)

Humor of the day:

Before the accident Graham would always carry around a coffee cup full of coffee.  It would drive me crazy because he would spill half of it while he was walking out the door to work, church or wherever he was going.  He’d burn himself and/or spill it all down the front of him.  He continues to want coffee these days and he continues to fill the cup too full.  Needless to say, there are even more burnt hands and dirty laundry for me.  We’re learning to dump some out onto the ground before going too far with it!

12 Responses to “Update on us 10/31/10”

  1. Naomi H. October 31, 2010 at 7:43 pm #

    Thank you so much for this post. It made me think of the things I am thankful for too. God bless you.

  2. Genna October 31, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

    Thank you for sharing this with me! It amazes me how far he’s come!! The Lord is doing such amazing things with Graham, and it’s thrilling to see how He is using this situation to His glory! There’s another accident that occurred earlier this year (Cortney King Dye) where her horse slipped and fell and because she wasn’t wearing a helmet she suffered a serious brain injury. She’s making a great recovery as well, but to see how the Lord is working in Graham in comparison is just amazing. The Lord is SO awesome!!! THANK YOU for sharing this with us!! I have been, and will continue to, pray for Graham.

  3. Hannah & Beaver October 31, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

    An amazing list of things to be thankful for! It is a tribute to God’s wisdom, comfort, healing, and humor! We continue to hold you all in our prayers!

  4. Heather October 31, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

    Praise Jesus for your thankful reflection Randi. I think I need to make a list…Still praying and can’t wait to meet you one day before Our Heavenly Father! 🙂

  5. Cami October 31, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

    THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THE LIST!!! IT WAS PERFECT TIMING. I WAS JUST SITTING HERE MYSELF FEEL SORRY FOR MYSELF AND WONDERING WHAT I HAD TO BE THANKFUL FOR WHEN YOUR LIST LANDED. I NOW KNOW AND REMEMBER A LOT MORE OF WHAT I HAVE TO BE THANKFUL FOR. I AM SO GLAD FOR YOU THAT GRAHAM HAS COME SO FAR AND MADE SUCH A WONDERFUL RECOVERY SO FAR. GOD HAS GREAT PLANS FOR US ALL. I KEEP PRAYING FOR YOU EVEN THOUGH YOU DON’T KNOW ME. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK AND TELL GRAHAM TO KEEP UP THE HARD WORK TOO. THANK YOU AGAIN. CAMI

  6. Carlos Hidalgo November 1, 2010 at 12:10 am #

    Randi: This is good…you are leaving “markers” 🙂
    Blessings
    Carlos

  7. Martha Hidalgo November 1, 2010 at 12:21 am #

    Randi, A friend of mine calls these miracles “God sightings” you have had many what a blessing to Graham, you and all of who love you. It is all grace, Martha

  8. Codie November 1, 2010 at 1:52 am #

    Thanks for posting this, Randi! I can honestly say that it was so encouraging to me. The last couple of weeks have been a little rough on me, and I was ready to give into a nice little pity-party with me as the guest of honor. This post really helped me to see how much we all have to be thankful for in life if we focus on God’s blessings rather than a diffucult situation that we have no control over.

  9. Laureen Lawrence November 1, 2010 at 2:21 am #

    Thank you, Randi. Sometimes it is so difficult to see the successes…Graham is coming. Nothing will seem as long as the last few months you have had. The coffee story is Joshua all over again….drives me crazy!! But now Joshua has a wonderful wife to remind him that is doesn’t have to be filled to the rim!!! God STILL does miracles!

  10. stephen bradley November 2, 2010 at 3:48 am #

    Hi Randi and Graham. Janie and I continue to pray for you. I am so happy that things are going well. God bless you two and the kiddos!
    Love
    Janie and Stephen
    Waco TX

  11. Cam Brown November 2, 2010 at 4:34 pm #

    Awesome reminder of what God has done and will continue to do..

  12. Tammi T. November 7, 2010 at 3:37 am #

    I love this post! Isn’t it awesome how being thankful can get our eyes off ourselves and our perceived problems and instead focus them on our Maker?

    “In everything give thanks for this is the will of God for you in Christ Jesus.”

Leave a Reply

