Update on Us 10/29/10

29 Oct

Most likely if you didn’t know Graham before this all happened or if you only knew him a little, you wouldn’t be able to tell that anything was even wrong with him!  As his wife it’s easy to focus on the things that are not the same anymore, or the struggles that continue to plague him each day.   The amazing thing is that something REALLY did click this past weekend and Graham has a whole new “drive” to him.  He has always had an amazing work ethic but I didn’t realize how hard it was until all I could see moving on him were his eyeballs.  Even then, I could tell he was working hard to come back to me and he just wasn’t going to let this get the better of him.  I continue to be amazed at his attitude in this and how this has transformed not just his mind, but his heart as well.  He’s been pushing himself so hard lately but when we tell him he’s overdoing it he says: “My baseball coaches in high school used to push me this hard, I can do it.”

He’s been getting up around 5:30 each morning to read his Bible, take time to pray, and ready for his day.  That alone is HUGE, because that is what he used to do before, and that he wants to continue it is a big blessing to me.  It’s one more step to normalcy for me.  I haven’t had to remind him as much or worry about if he’ll get everything done before he leaves for work.  Yes, we’ve had to make changes and manage our time better, but all in all he’s able to get out the door in time for work!  Work makes him feel really good about himself and that he’s contributing to something.  Working with his best friend Jon, his brother in law, Dan, and my dad has just been great for his spirit.  He likes working with my dad the least right now because he says he babies him too much :0) Thanks for looking out for him dad!

Miracle of the day:

Graham is beginning to realize that he is not exactly the same person he was before.  Because of this he knows now that he has to slow down, take more notes and find little tricks to help him remember things.  What’s amazing to me is he is choosing to have a great attitude amidst this very hard time in his life.   He now carries a tiny pad of paper in his pocket and I wish you all could read some of what he has written in it.   I’ll try to get my hands on it and write some of it on here, it’s pretty amazing!

Humor of the day:

I bought something for my filing cabinet that needed to be cut.  It was a slender metal piece that I just couldn’t cut through with my leather man (yes, I have my own leather man!)  I needed a stronger tool, but didn’t know what to use.  I politely asked Graham if he had a bigger hand tool to cut through it.   He happily headed down in the basement to snip it for me.  I was patiently waiting upstairs when I heard one of his saws fire up!  It’s one of those big ones that are meant to cut through wood; I’m embarrassed that I don’t know the name of it!  When he came back up stairs he just had a sly smile on his and face and said: “What?, come on you think it’s sexy!”

Keep praying!

 

 

 

10 Responses to “Update on Us 10/29/10”

  1. Andrea Tripp October 29, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    Your Man Staying In The Word…
    Look out 🙂
    Love It! PTL

  2. Kinga Vickery October 29, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

    What awesome report Randi! Thank you for sharing. Praise God for all that He has done. Praying for you!

  3. Michael October 29, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

    Randi and Graham –

    Such wonderful news! Randi, thanks so much for your honest posts, and your beautiful spirit that comes through all the time. God is so clearly working in and through you. Our staff and leadership at our church has continued to pray for you through all of this … and we will continue to do so.

  4. Toni Simmons October 29, 2010 at 5:18 pm #

    It has been so very encouraging reading these reports about Graham. I miss yall so very and I hope that I get to see yall in the near future:)

  5. Dara October 29, 2010 at 7:01 pm #

    Love the humor of the day!! haha!

    It’s so amazing to hear and see how well Graham is doing, and also how YOU are holding up with all of this! [Or rather, be in awe of how God is holding you up] 🙂 We’re still praying for your whole family! [It’s a good habit to be in when life gets back to normal, whatever that is!]

  6. Cindy Baker October 29, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

    What an exciting report/update…God has kept Graham close and Graham has stayed close to God…As you stated, for some we would not notice the difference in Graham but for you, you do notice, but it will be exciting to see how those changes are used of God for His Honor and Glory. Continuing to pray daily for you all as these little miracles keep happening.

  7. Cam Brown October 30, 2010 at 12:06 am #

    🙂

  8. Don Johnson October 30, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    Randi, thanks so much for including all of us in this journey. From the day my daughter called me (she was one of the workers at the rodeo that evening), I have been thrilled and privileged to hear of Graham’s progress and to be able to pray for him – and you!

    This is a journey you never expected, but God has everything you need to reach the end and to give Him all the glory! I pray the Lord continues to bless you in big and small ways every day!

    Don
    Matthew 6:33 “Seek fist His kingdom!”

  9. Kim Feeley October 30, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    Randi and Graham,
    Just wanted to let you know how much of an inspiration you are to all of us.You have been on my prayer list. Your faith and dealing with everyday things that I take for granted. Keep strong encouraging others. You are planting many seeds that God will continue to water. God Bless
    KIM

  10. Theresa Johnson October 30, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

    Graham & Randi – in the earliest (and probably darkest) days of this journey of yours, I kept thinking as I prayed for you: “Hope does not disappoint”. How true it is!

Leave a Reply

