Update on us 10/25/10

26 Oct

I have decided that I’m going to start posting this through the web page that was created for Graham under prayforgraham.com.  I’m kind of proud of myself because I am not very computer savvy, but I was able to figure out how to share the post with Face book.  What will happen is it will post on the web page, but will also let you who are on Face book know through the “Praying for Graham Stump” site.  Is anyone confused yet, because I think I already am!

I want to do it this way, because I’ll be able to post more pictures of Graham for everyone to see.  I hope you all understand and will continue to follow our story.  It is a pretty amazing one!

Graham continues to improve each week and it’s the little things that are so important to me now.  His morning routine is becoming easier for him to follow and I have even gotten to sleep in a little while he manages both boys and himself!  Graham also bought me flowers the other night!  WHAT?!?!  He was never that kind of guy before, but I like this new one and I think I’ll keep him.  All in all we are blessed and continue to be amazed at all the Lord is doing in both our lives.

Graham got to spend some good time with his brother, Rick and sister-in-law, Jaclyn.  It was a short, but sweet time for us all!  It was sad saying goodbye to them, but we will see everyone once again around Thanksgiving, which we are looking forward to!

I continue to have my moments of discouragement and heartache.  Most of the time I am doing really well and it’s only by God’s grace that I can say that.  There are still times though when I’m heartbroken for Graham, my patience has run out and my kids are sucking the rest of the life out of me.  It’s in those times that I do break down and just have to have a good cry.  Once it’s all out, I’m ready to go once again and the Lord continues to be my ultimate strength during this seemingly never-ending trial.

Miracle of the day:  Several times a day Graham asks me questions like: “Is this real?”. “Was it real that I fed the horses this morning?” and so on.  The reason he asks these questions is because he’s having such a hard time deciphering what is feeling real to him and what is feeling like a dream to him.  I can’t imagine what it’s like to be constantly in a dream that is not a dream at all, but in actuality, reality!  He told me on Saturday that something felt like it clicked to him and he doesn’t feel so much in “dream world” anymore!  He has stopped asking so many questions and has started to trust that everything he is experiencing is in fact real!  He still struggles, but has improved so much.  I’m sure this sounds confusing but this is HUGE!  Thank you Jesus!  I continue to get more of my husband back each day!

Humor of the day: This is so not funny, and I can’t believe I’m sharing this, but since this has happened I CANNOT believe all the gray hairs that have magically appeared on my head.  I sadly have to admit that I had a few before all this happened but I could easily pluck them out.  On close examination though these few hairs have turned into a multitude!  Graham has A LOT of making up to do for me!

Keep praying!

10 Responses to “Update on us 10/25/10”

  1. Heather Evans October 26, 2010 at 12:35 am #

    I am so happy to hear how God has shown Himself faithful and the healer we know He is. I am sorry that you joined the land of the gray hairs as I have. That just means you have gained wisdom!

    Heather

  2. Kim Dubay October 26, 2010 at 12:40 am #

    I am so inspired by your hurdles and the strength and support that has come forth. As for the gray hair it is amazing that it just grows when we are least paying attention to our own appearance, but luckily we can always color it if we choose to, I find that some people look great with gray hair, however I for one am not one of those people. Thank you for keeping us posted and I will continue to pray. God Bless.

  3. ROBERT BULMER October 26, 2010 at 3:02 am #

    THIS IS WONDERFUL RANDI. THE PROGRESS WILL CONTINUE ……… WE’LL KEEP MON PRAYING.

  4. Erikka Jennings October 26, 2010 at 3:18 am #

    It is a blessing to hear how the lord is working in your lives. We continue to praise the lord that things are moving forward and that Graham is making such great progress. Thank you for your updates. God Bless You and your Family.

  5. Joey Feltz October 26, 2010 at 3:20 am #

    The progress that is being made is just amazing to read about. I can only say ‘Hallelujah’! God is the one who is making all of this happen in His timing. Looking forward to the open house in Nov! Keep trusting and leaning hard on the Lord, just as you have been doing! I am praying for you tonight! xo

  6. Cindy Baker October 26, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    It is great to hear how you are getting more and more of the old Graham back…however, I am sure there might be a few things of the new Graham you will want to keep, i.e. bringing flowers just because he wants to and loves you…I am so glad that you are continuing to keep us posted on his progress and also what you are still going through and how the Lord is still working in your life. Continuing to pray for Graham and you each and every day.

  7. Cam Brown October 26, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    PTL…It is so amazing to read about God’s healing touch!

  8. Phil Ackerman October 26, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    Randi, there isn’t a day that goes by that we do not pray for you. I can say at least in part I understand what both you and Graham are going through. To the outside world it appears like the old Phil is back but in truth the old Phil died on the table during my Open Heart Surgery. I had a discussion with someone who wrote a book on suffering Loss. He explained to me that I experienced a “loss” following my surgery but no one is acknowledging thay. I deal with memory loss each and everyday but most people yell me I just need to get on with my life. Problem being I have not been able to grieve the losss of the “old Phil”. Perhaps when I do that then i will be able to embrace the “New Phil”. I don’t know if this helps but realize if Graham is like me he struggles more than you might ever know. Guys are like that which I bet you already know. We want to be strong for our wives and family even while our inside is being ripped apart. The book is Living with Loss by Dan Mosely. I hope this helps. We Love you.

  9. Kathy Stump October 26, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    Sweet Girl, We too are sooo excited to see all of you. I talked to Graham on Sunday and he told me the same thing – everything seems real, like he is living in the moment. God just continues to amaze us all with His incredible blessing. And we do know there is still a long way to go. We all are constantly, continually praying for Graham and YOU. I told Graham this is his time for God to teach him patience. You have an huge head start on this and he has a way to go to catch up, if he ever does. Love you and miss you. Mom

  10. Grannie October 28, 2010 at 4:42 am #

    Such an encouraging post! I just had to smile when you said he got you flowers. Sounds like he’s courting you all over again!

    It’s delightful to hear of the tiny and huge steps in the progress you’re both making.

    Thank you so much for sharing – I will continue to pray for your wonderful family.

Leave a Reply

