10-04-2010

4 Oct

I am finding myself in a completely different role since Graham’s homecoming. Motherhood has me basically back in the full swing of dirty diapers, feedings, bedtime routines and playtime. The new and more difficult role that has started for me is the role of caring for Graham. We have entered a new and more fun phase being at home, but, I’m not going to lie, it’s VERY different and at times just plain hard. Bonnie and Dan will be leaving the Stump homestead by Friday and I will be left to care for Graham and the kids on my own, with my parents just a few feet away to help if needed. I am ready for it to get back to just us, but that too, will be an adjustment and I will miss them so much. I feel guilty about crying at times, because I have so much to be thankful for and it could be so much worse right now, but things are still not how I maybe would want them. I still have to constantly work on a thankful heart, patience and joy in the midst of trials. The Lord is working on me now in a different way, a way that now involves Graham. We have had some great times since he’s been home, some great talks, walks and laughs together. The hard part for me is that he doesn’t remember most of what we discuss or do and I’m just trying to wait patiently for the day that he’ll consistently remember.

Graham is doing GREAT at home and has come so far in just a few short days. He requires supervision around the house and really can’t be left on his own, although I have been guilty of leaving him briefly with the kids outside while I had to run inside to get something. Bad mommy! He has stepped up in helping with the kids and small chores around the house, which is very much appreciated. His biggest struggle is still his memory and mine is patience with him as he asks me the same questions about 50 times a day. He does not have much concept of time and feels like the day lasts about a week instead of 24 hours. We have notes all around the house to help keep him focused and as independent as possible. He struggles with knowing what needs to be done next and I find him just following me around the house like a lost puppy while I deal with the housework and/or kids. As soon as I give him a “job” he’s good to go and can do it, but initiation is a long ways off.

We started out-patient therapy in Glens Falls today which will include speech, physical and occupational therapy. It was mostly evaluations today and just asking lots of questions, but they are encouraging and really feel that especially physically he will get back to normal. It’s the mental and memory stuff that will take longer and that’s what’s scary for me as his wife.

Miracle of the day:

Graham went to church on Sunday (which there are pics up too). It was awesome and very emotional for us both! Graham told me he hopes that he’ll be able to lead worship and teach Sunday school again. Just that he was able to walk into church, see everyone, sit for the duration of the service and celebrate communion is ONLY from the Lord! It was so special.

Humor of the day:

I am so happy to once again share a bed with my husband and snuggle. I was not prepared however for the difficulties the back and neck braces would cause. The first couple of nights I tried to get close but was just scratched and attacked by plastic pieces from every angle, and in short, we were NOT sleeping well. We have since settled on just holding hands for now until that silly thing can come off.

Keep praying for us!

2 Responses to “10-04-2010”

  1. Grannie October 6, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

    What a great post! I see progress everywhere! Will keep the prayers going – and you should both be really proud of how how well the adjustments are going!

    You might try some well placed firm foam padding for the snuggle problems – went through that problem myself years ago and the padding made a huge difference. We had to try a few different kinds until we found exactly what was best – – but don’t give up. Hugs and snuggles are very important and I think it actually can help the healing go faster, too!

    Y’all are just wonderful!
    Grannie

  2. Jodi Neufeld October 8, 2010 at 2:44 am #

    How I rejoice with you in all that the Lord has done, in all that he is doing and in all that He will yet accomplish!! What an encouragement and a great blessing your story continues to be and the fruit that will continue to blossom out of your difficult time will be amazing!! The Lord will continue the great work He has started – He never leaves anything half finished – Faithful He is and faithful He will be!! Praising the Lord and rejoicing with you!! Praying for you all!! May our gracious Saviour strengthen and bless you!

    In Christ, Jodi Neufeld

    “Being confident of this very thing, that He which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Christ Jesus.” Philippians 1:6

Leave a Reply

