Update on Us 10-01-2010

1 Oct

Where to even start! We have much to be thankful for today as we celebrate Graham being home with us for good.

The hospital changed his discharge date so much that I wasn’t even sure what was going to happen. I stayed home on Monday with the kids because they were not feeling well. I received a phone call from his PT explaining that he was doing too well to stay there any more. He was to come home on Wednesday, and we were just so excited.

It was actually bitter-sweet leaving Sunnyview Hospital. Saying goodbye to his therapists was the hardest part and there were tears shed in the process. Graham won’t really remember much of this, but I sure will and all that they have done for him has just been awesome. We filmed Graham walking out of the hospital on his own, and my father-in-law is going to try to put it on here for you all to see. I know I said I would put some video on here, but figuring it out right now for me is just too much! I’m so not a “techie person”.

Graham will still have therapy for the weeks and months to come. He is doing incredible, but still has a long ways to go. We will be busy now going to Glens Falls for his therapy a couple days a week and also keeping up with the endless Doctor appointments that we have scheduled.

Please continue to keep us in your prayers. Graham is still struggling with his memory and emotions. His short-term memory is improving which is awesome, but he keeps thinking it’s all a dream and is having trouble realizing that it’s actually real. Also pray for me, Bonnie and Dan as we try to watch kids and be there for Graham during this time. Bonnie and Dan have been so awesome to us and will continue to stay with us until I’m more able to tackle everything.

Miracle of the day:

Graham unloaded and then loaded the dishwasher yesterday all by himself! He is washing the kitchen floor right now. Other than him complaining about his knees hurting, him seeing double and how me and Bonnie are working him too hard he’s doing great. My whole family has great ideas for his “Adirondack therapy” which include a 4 wheeler course, washing the cars and feeding the horses. I’m open to other suggestions though.

Humor of the day:

Graham just had to go get a pillow to put under his knees so that he can continue washing the floors. Bonnie is calling it his “girly-pillow.”
I am going to keep you all posted even though we are home now and have entered a different phase in this crazy journey. It will be more difficult to keep it up because Graham requires so much attention on top of my kids, but I am going to do my best.

Keep praying!!

Leave a Reply

