Update on Us 9-11-10

11 Sep

I think what’s happening to me is that I end up going strong all week, for Graham, for my kids, for myself. By the time the weekend comes all the tears that I didn’t cry during the week catch up to me! I was a wreck last night and again this morning. I knew it was going to be nice out today and was just plain mad that Graham wasn’t here to enjoy it with me. I kept picturing what we would be doing on a day like this and it was difficult to say the least. I was feeling overwhelmed by silly things and after a good cry and talk with Bonnie (my sister) on the phone resolved to just enjoy the day with the boys. It turned out to be a fun-filled day of just playing outside, hanging with my other sister, Renee, my mom, dad, Gabe and all the kids, Tommy (Graham’s little brother) included.

I don’t have much new to report with Graham. He continues to get stronger each day and wants to move around so much that they had to put an alarm on his ankle so that if he tries to escape they’ll know about it. He has ventured out into the hallways and to the gym! He in a normal wheel chair now; his original one tilted and did all sorts of cool things. The more normal one is easier for him to control now, so he either pushes it with his right hand or uses his feet to get where he thinks he wants to go. He’ll often times start to go somewhere and I’ll ask him where he’s going only to get the reply “I don’t know”. We’ve been trying to work with his left arm more and he is starting to understand more that it’s not working right. This is just going to be a long road to recovery and patience for me each day is probably the biggest thing you could all be praying for. This past Friday marked the 6-week point and I feel like it’s been more like 6 months!

The great news is that Graham is NOT going to have to go to a long-term rehabilitation facility. Where he is at is a more short-term rehab hospital, and if patients need more in-depth therapy will be transported there. I don’t know for sure when he will be coming home but it will be sooner rather than later. I cannot wait for that! Graham will still not be “Graham” when he does finally arrive home; whenever that is. He will still need A LOT of therapy, but I’ll most likely have to drive him to it, or they will come to the house. Being home will be so good for him and I know he’ll just thrive here with me, the kids, dogs, bed, bathroom, horses, yard etc.

Miracle of the day:

Graham and I prayed last night on the phone together! I obviously have been praying so much since this whole thing has happened, but never with Graham because he was always so out of it. I asked him if he was up for it and he said “we should definitely do that”. I prayed first and than he actually prayed! It was short, but so sweet and VERY real. He asked the Lord to heal him and to heal him soon. He asked for strength for me and more importantly, HOPE! It was a very special moment; one that I will never forget

No humor for today….sorry!

3 Responses to “Update on Us 9-11-10”

  1. Grannie September 13, 2010 at 1:37 am #

    We don’t need humor for this report. Just hearing your report of your joint prayer left me with the biggest smile! No humor could have topped that! Thanks so much for sharing this journey with us. Still praying in Florida, too!

  2. David Lenahan September 18, 2010 at 6:29 am #

    This would not have happened if there was not a rodeo. Rodeo’s are cruel and very un American, I vote the rodeo is discontinued. Rodeocruelty.com

  3. Grannie September 19, 2010 at 4:18 am #

    Oh Randi,

    How I wish I could delete messages that I disagree with! All I intended to do tonight was give you a little hug and remind you that I was thinking of you.

    If the writer above knew the whole story, I want to think that he would never have left that cruel message. This was not some huge rodeo with 100 cowboys wearing sharp spurs and horses and bulls with flaming eyes trying to buck some human from their back. This was a friendly ranch animal show for little kids at a family ranch. Graham could just have easily fallen from a hay loft – or from a ladder while painting.

    Please don’t let this get to you Randi. This man has his own problems to deal with – and should not become one of your problems.

    Hope all is well and that God is helping you find some patience – He does hide it well, doesn’t He!

    Still praying,
    Grannie

Leave a Reply

