Update on Us 9/4/10

4 Sep

While work, family, fun and just plain life and routine goes on for the rest of the world, it has all come to a complete and total stop for me. I feel handicapped just as Graham must as I try to raise these boys and carry on as much normalcy as I can right now. When I’m not with him my mind is constantly wondering how he’s doing, what he’s doing and just aching for him. I also feel that we are both traveling down very different roads and in opposite directions. My road is filled with spiritual bumps, emotional pot-holes and physically steep hills to climb. I feel Graham’s road right now is strictly a very steep physical and mental journey, totally unrelated to mine. It’s scary traveling it alone without my husband and soul mate, but I also know this is right where the Lord wants us both. 

I’ve been learning so much lately about myself, and more importantly God. I wish I could say I’m learning all these deep and profound things about Him, but I’m not. Most of what I’m learning I’ve heard about my whole life and have accepted as truth, it’s just now I have truly experienced them first-hand and can call them my own. It’s refreshing getting back to these simple truths about God but it’s also kind of sad that it’s always me that makes it more complicated than it needs to be. I was really struggling last night at my house, by myself, without Graham; I was really sad! It was getting late and the thought of going to bed by myself again made me feel sick. 

One thing that Graham and I have always loved to do from as far back as our “dating days” is to look at the stars at night. Graham even bought me a book about the constellations complete with maps and directions. We thought we would become pros; but instead our stargazing nights turned into about 15 minutes of looking at stars and about an hour of making out. Come on we’ve all been there! Since then we have come to enjoy the actual stars more and the quiet nights. As I was looking at them last night I was reminded once again how everything on earth was designed to bring glory to God, including me. Whenever you look at the stars you can’t help but think how awesome our God is, how powerful, and how glorious. That’s what I’ve always thought when I look at them. Last night for the first time I felt so loved by the Lord just by looking at them. The Lord was totally telling me that He loved me and was here with me even though I might not hear the actual “I Love you” like you and I would say to one another. I believe He did put them up there for His glory, but I also know that He put them there to let us know that He is crazy about us and loves us more than our own spouses ever could and most importantly wants a relationship with me! Who am I that I deserve that? 

Matt and Abby arrived from Indiana and have been hanging with Graham today. He had a really good day with them. Matt was making him laugh really hard and he did well in his therapy sessions. He continues to work on walking, sitting, standing, his left arm, and his speech. We had some problems this week getting his medications figured out, but I think we finally got it. He is having some problems with his vision, and is going to see the eye doctor on Wednesday to just have some more testing done. I don’t think it’s anything too serious, but really after all we’ve been through, nothing seems serious anymore!

Miracle of the Day: 

I wasn’t with Graham today, but on Friday we hung out and we both got laughing together about something. It was just so awesome being able to laugh with my husband again. 

Humor of the Day: 

Right after we got done laughing and I thought that I had this “moment” with him…..he started counting again. UGH! I hate numbers! 

2 Responses to “Update on Us 9/4/10”

  1. Darlene September 7, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

    Randi,

    My daughter Heather Lipe and her family are members of Heartland Church (Your father-in-laws church) and My husband and I are members of Bethel Baptist Church in Greenfield, IN. We were at Heartland the Sunday that the church was told about Graham and what had happened. I just wanted you to know that we have added Graham’s name to our Prayer List at Bethel and we are praying for him and also for you and the family. It is very exciting to read about the progress that Graham is making. Several of the ladies from church have come to me asking for updates, so thanks for sharing with us. We can all rejoice together as this miracle unfolds.

    Keep your chin up, I cannot even begin to imagine what you are going through. God is in control!! Have a Blessed Day!

    Love and Prayers,
    Darlene Hobbs

  2. carol Lafontaine September 8, 2010 at 1:47 am #

    Your messages about Graham are getting better every time I look. Praise God for whatever this is about.

    “I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil”….”.My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD”. …..”Many, O LORD my God, are thy wonderful works which thou hast done, and thy thoughts which are to us-ward.”….”.I am poor and needy; yet the LORD thinketh upon me.”

    Randi, many of us are thinking upon you, too.

    We will keep on praying til you get Graham home and well again.

Leave a Reply

