Update on Us 8-31-10

31 Aug

Well, today was a little rough to say the least. I should have known this was coming, and to expect bad days mixed in with the good. I wasn’t going to post today, but feel I need to because it’s during these days that I need the most prayer!

Graham is extremely agitated and has to have a person with him ALL the time. He has fallen out of bed twice now, and has succeeded in getting out of his wheelchair. He just unclips his belt and off he goes; unfortunately though, he can’t really go anywhere yet. Today when I arrived he was restless and would not stop counting. Yes, counting! He says it helps him focus, but if I hear another number, I’m going to scream. He constantly wanted out of his chair, in the chair, back out of the chair and so on. He just can’t seem to sit still, and is getting a little mean to me with his speech. Yesterday he told me to stop whining and that if I loved him I would put him in bed. I wasn’t whining and you can laugh, it is kind of funny! I fear this is going to be a rough week, and have to constantly tell myself that this is good that he is doing this because it means his head is healing and he’s becoming more aware. I’ll be honest though, it just plain stinks ALL the time. I was so drained physically, and emotionally by the end of the day that I could barely keep my eyes open. Thank you God that my dad was with me and was able to drive!

Graham is not doing all bad things. Even though he’s extremely agitated, he continues to improve with sitting, standing and walking. I’m told once he gets over this hump will do much better. His left arm continues to improve, and although he still does not make sense at times, is making sense MOST of the time! He’s eating great and is still working really hard.

I have to count my blessings on days like this. Graham COULD be so much worse. Can you imagine trying to communicate to someone whose spine is severed as well as a bad brain injury? I am thankful that he is able to move, even though it’s kind of out of control today! I’m thankful that he does have a voice, even though it doesn’t always make sense and is sometimes not so nice. I am thankful that the secret is Christ in ME, not ME in a different set of circumstances.

Miracle of the day:

My miracle for today is in myself. I wanted to crack today and just scream and break down. Today was rough, but the Lord got me through it and I’m ready for His mercies to start afresh each morning as He has promised.

Humor of the day:

Graham told me that I should divorce him. He told me it would be a “positive” thing to do. Moments later he said: “if you want a divorce you shouldn’t have married me.” Oh man! I just reassured him that I wasn’t going anywhere and that I loved him. I guess this wasn’t really funny. I thought so at the time.

Keep praying! My husband was crazy today!

5 Responses to “Update on Us 8-31-10”

  1. Candi September 1, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

    Still praying Randi! You are such an encouragement to me, your faith and reliance on God shows how much God can do. He can strengthen us when we need it. He is always there. Love you Randi!

    Candi

  2. Donna Langman September 2, 2010 at 2:10 am #

    Randi, you have an amazing support system, that is obvious! Put them to work. You are right, Graham is going to need someone with him all the time and that may be like that for a few weeks. Put those friends and family to work. I had an around the clock schedule of friends and family that would spend time with Steve to help him in his craziness. All you need to do is ask. Get a family member to get that organized for you. Don’t do it all by yourself or you will be no good to anyone. Just talking from experience. It is a wonderful thing that you can post these things as you will want to read them later and have Graham read them as he may not remember any of this time and you will want him to know what a brat he was. 🙂

    You are awesome and can do all things through Christ, which you know. Keep on girl!

    Praying still,
    Donna

  3. Sharon September 2, 2010 at 4:26 am #

    Randi…I found your website from a blog and have read your whole story. I will be praying for you every day! I’ve helped “keep company” with different loved ones in similar situations and know how totally stressful and draining it can be! Just keep your eyes on the Lord and know that people are lifting you up in prayer! My favorite verse is “I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills,from whence cometh my help. My help cometh from the Lord, which made heaven and earth. He will not suffer thy foot to be moved: he that keepeth thee will not slumber.” Psalm 121:1-3 Don’t let the devil discourage you….know that people are praying for you and your family! God Bless! Sharon from Michigan

  4. Moira Brumwell September 2, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    Hi Randi & family:
    Just a short note to encourage you. Graham is going through the exact things that our son Brian did. Agitation is part of the healing process of the brain and Graham knows that things are not right and that is why he is agitated. I know this is a hard road for you but God is with you all the time. A friend mentioned to me to journal every day that I could and I found this helpful as the journey continues. You are in our prayers and thoughts.

  5. Grannie September 3, 2010 at 12:32 am #

    I found you through another blog – and hope you don’t mind if I join in on the prayer train. I am finding it SO encouraging to see how much progress has been made in such a short time.

    I’m a 63 year old grannie on the Space Coast of Florida who came into religion a little late . . and I’m just amazed watching this miracle happening right here in front of us!

    This may be one of the reasons that God has for letting things like Graham’s accident happen – – to show people like me the way! I have not just become a believer – I also share what I’m learning as well.

    Thanks so much for sharing your faith and your love of God and family with us. You’re not just helping Graham, you’re helping I don’t know how many others out here in cyber-space to see what God does!

    Will be praying with you daily for healing for Graham, patience and understanding for you and wisdom for the doctors.

    Grannie

Leave a Reply

