Update on Us 8-30-10

31 Aug

I was very encouraged today during my time with Graham. I hadn’t seen him in a couple of days, and just in that short time, has come so far! When I got off the elevator (maybe I should be taking the stairs!) he was taking a lap around the floor and doing great. He still has two people helping him, but the important part is that he is doing all the work with his legs. He’s initiating his steps, moving his legs faster, and placing them in a more correct and “normal” way. He also sat up today all by himself on the mat. This is HUGE! For him to be able to keep his balance at this point, is only because the Lord is healing my husband. My husband should not be alive, and yet the Lord is doing an amazing work in and through him. The therapists are all very excited about his progress and how far he has come in 2 short weeks. Once he regains more of his balance, we’ll move to a walker and cane.

Graham also keeps improving with his speech, and although his voice sounds a little different from normal, it’s becoming more “Graham” everyday. He worked with his speech therapist today on all sorts of reading and “attention keeper” tests. He did really well. He also is eating all his food, and is starting to really get an appetite back. I fed him today and the only reason I did is because he eats too fast and takes too big of bites. They are afraid he’ll choke still.

Miracle of the day:

Graham can WRITE!!! He wrote his name, address, phone number, my name, and the kids’ names. He’s not winning any penmanship awards any time soon, but I could read it and I know it’ll only get better. He couldn’t do that a couple of days ago. The Lord is so good!

Humor of the day:

Some of what Graham is saying is still not making much sense! He was actually being really funny today and making everyone laugh. He told the therapist that he thought he had a baby in his belly! Not sure where that came from!

Keep praying. I miss my husband!

3 Responses to “Update on Us 8-30-10”

  1. Jim & Doris Rooks August 31, 2010 at 11:13 pm #

    Hi Randi,
    We are friends of your grandparents Ken & Esther. That is a result of our association at WOL Florida. At a PA reunion that was held recently in Lancaster your grandfather told of the terrible accident that took place in Schroon Lake. We have been praying for your husband as well as the family. Praise God for this wonderful report of his progress. Be asurred of our continued prayers. Trusting someday our paths will cross.
    In Christian Love,
    Jim & Doris

  2. Heather Evans September 1, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    I am so excited at the progress! How awesome! It’s funny that he mentioned having a baby in his stomach, because my husband just told me about a dream he had about Graham and a baby yesterday. Of course, who knows what any of that means. I am just so proud of Graham that he is working so hard and happy for you, your kids and family, and your church family who I’m sure are still praying.
    I will continue to pray and definitely give praise for all that God is doing in your life!

  3. Barb and Ray Payne September 3, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    Randi and Graham … we finally got the email contact and just wanted you to know that you are constantly in our thoughts and prayers … Isaiah 26:3 and 4

    In His Love,

    Barb and Ray

Leave a Reply

