Update on Us 8/26/10

29 Aug

Graham’s parents have safely arrived to be by Graham’s side until things settle down and become more “normal”. They will be staying near the hospital and I will be commuting each day to be with him. I am seeing that when I’m there he responds better to commands and tries harder. I just have to be with him right now and it kills me leaving him at night all by himself. It’s rather sad walking out of the room and him looking at me with his sad eyes!

I miss everything about Graham. I miss him driving me everywhere and how he would play air drums and sing, and how I’d try to every once in awhile only to get his sheepish smile like “what are you trying to do?” I miss his laugh, his smile, his walk, the way he led worship and tapped his foot to the rhythm, the way he played with the boys, and how he always served me. I’m making myself cry as I write this. I wasn’t meaning to do that! I almost wrote that I missed how he said he loved me, but he is saying that still, and I have to hold onto that. His dad told him today that he was praying for him and Graham’s reply was that he was praying too. Even when things are a mess in his head he still knows what he believes and is crying out to the Lord as best he can.

I need to make clear how serious Graham is hurt. When I post on here I try to share mostly the positive things and not so much of the negative. I do that out of respect and love for my husband; but please understand, Graham is hurt very badly. When I say he’s talking I’m not lying to you, but you have to know that he’s not talking how you or I would talk. He’s not doing anything how you or I would do them right now. I just need to let you know the severity of Graham’s situation mostly so that you can keep praying for a complete and full recovery! I could never thank you enough for all the prayers that you’re continuing to lift up for us.

Miracle of the day:

Graham did much better walking today than yesterday. He fed himself ½ a bowl of oatmeal and will be getting a tray of food tomorrow to try. The food will still be like baby food consistency, but it’s a start! He told the therapist that it was excellent!

Humor of the day:

Graham’s dad asked him if he wanted a Big Mac. Graham came back with “I’d like a double-cheeseburger”. The therapist then asked him where he likes to get his burgers from and he said “Jerusalem”. Poor guy. He’s so confused!

As you can see I miss my husband more than words could ever express on paper. This is such a long and hard road the Lord has asked me to travel. I need you all on the sidelines cheering me and encouraging me on for this long and most difficult journey. Thank you!

6 Responses to “Update on Us 8/26/10”

  1. becky gray August 30, 2010 at 1:26 am #

    Randi,
    We’re praying and cheering you on every step of the way. Every joy and success is “our” success, and every pain is “ours” as well. We pray that you’ll continue to sense the body of Christ, around the world, embrace you and Graham in love and prayers, and that the Lord’s great work He is doing will end up being more wonderful and more staggering in its eternal scope than you could possibly fathom!
    We love you guys!

  2. Sharon Faulkner August 30, 2010 at 1:53 am #

    Dear Randi, We are praying in Pa. The Faulkner Family also traveling with a TBI family member.
    PTL Graham still is communing with Jesus.
    I will pray for continued strength for you personally… as you are wife, and mother in this hard time.
    Praying God’s perfect time table in Grahams healing and Hannah’s too.
    Praying a peace that passes all understanding and quiet rest when you get a chance to lie down. Health for the boys and yourself.
    God’s warm love sent with hugs for us.:)

  3. Woods Family AUSTRALIA August 30, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    Randi, Garry and all, just reading what Graham is doing and I am so encouraged. I believe he is making WONDERFUL PROGRESS.Try to step back and just see what Graham has done in this past week. He is certainly putting his best foot forward. Good for you Graham. Love and prayers,

    The Woods “Downunder”

  4. Carol Lafontaine August 31, 2010 at 1:09 am #

    Randi, I am amazed at how far Graham has come since the accident. He is a far cry from when his eyes were just following the nurse around the room. We in our church in Canada and friends in their church in MIchigan continue to hold you both in our prayers often each day. God is working! You are going to get him back !

  5. Donna Langman August 31, 2010 at 1:48 am #

    Yes, you will get him back. He won’t be exactly the way he was but neither will you so you can change together. Patience, love and tolerance will need to be in abundance. Have you considered having close friends or family come in for the night shift to stay all night with him? He is most likely not sleeping for very much of the day or night and is probably scared at night since he is so confused. Steve had to have around-the- clock helpers for several weeks. It may not work for you if he is in a room with other patients. Just a thought. Keep your chin up, cry when you need to and stop when you don’t. These are great days when he is making new progress every day, they are also dark days of worry and many unknowns. Every day will get better from here but the journey is long. You can and will do it and God will be with you every bit of it.
    Still praying,
    Donna

  6. Moira Brumwell August 31, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    Dear Randi & family:
    Just a note to encourage you. Our son was in an accident 23 years ago last May and he has made remarkable progress. He went back to university and has 2 degrees and as of June he finally got married. He is 45 years old now. The progress you are seeing in Graham is just a reminder of the way our Brian progressed too. Brian is not perfect physically but God is the only perfect one. It is really hard to see the big picture but we know that the Lord is with you all the way.

Leave a Reply

