Update On Us 8-29-10

29 Aug

I took a much needed break this weekend and spent it focusing on my kids and myself. I feel recharged and ready to tackle this week. Graham’s parents have been with him all weekend, so I’ve been getting my updates through them. I hang on every word they tell me! I will be leaving first thing in the morning to be with Graham and will most likely settle into that routine for the week, with the weekends off. I was home alone with the kids and it was nice just the three of us. It was also very sad and hard too.

Graham is still improving everyday. His speech is really doing well, and he is making more and more sense with what he is saying. Bonnie and Dan were with him today and could not believe how well he was doing with that. I even got to talk with him on the phone and I didn’t do all the talking! Graham is not much of a phone talker anyway, but he did great! I was crying while talking because it was the most “him” that I have experienced in a long time. I hid my tears, because I didn’t want him to become alarmed. He couldn’t understand why I couldn’t just come over and kiss him goodnight. I wish so badly it was that easy.

He is also getting stronger each day with is a big deal. In order for him to be able to walk again he will have to regain his balance and strength. They are both continuing to improve each day. They are teaching him how to get up out of his wheelchair himself, and although he has a long way to go, I know he will get there. When standing he still needs one person on each side of him helping him with his balance. At this point if they were to let go he would fall. He can also not sit up on his own either. It’s just a matter of time, which we have plenty of now!

I went to church today with the boys, and I was doing well, until we started singing along to a song on tape. It was great, don’t get me wrong; but, I couldn’t help but long for the days that Graham and I would be up together leading that very song. I miss that time with him and I know the church family does too. It’s just not the same without him. He is a great worship leader! He’s a drummer at heart, but plays guitar and sings only because he knew that was the hole he needed to fill at our church.

Miracle of the day:
Graham laughed several times today with Dan and Bonnie! I wasn’t there to experience it, but to me that is a miracle! To me that says the fun spirited Graham is still in there and is coming back out! His left side is doing a little better too! EVERYDAY the Lord is healing him! It is so cool to watch it unfold before my eyes!

Humor of the day:

Not only am I now not getting much exercise, but my two dogs are not either! To make matters worse, with so many people coming in and out of my house and my dogs being the master actresses that they are; are getting fed WAY too much. They are outside dogs and only get dog food, but are excellent at convincing people that they have not gotten fed, when in reality they have! This is the heaviest I have ever seen them. We all will have to cut back and go for a run! Maybe tomorrow morning!

Keep praying!

Leave a Reply

