Update on Us 8/24/10

24 Aug

Today was a good day at the ‘ol Sunnyview Rehabilitation Hospital. I am finding my way around now quite nicely, and am getting to know most everyone on the floor. It’s so sad seeing some of the patients and realizing that Graham is actually not one of the worse. Some are very young children and it just breaks my heart. My eyes have been opened to a whole new world….the world of hurting and broken people! I have learned so much from this and one of those things is to be more sensitive to these hurting people and their families.

Graham had an intense day of therapy and is moving right along, literally! He has to learn how to walk all over again and it was painful to watch him struggle through it. I thought he looked pathetic, but the therapist was thrilled with his progress. Obviously, I don’t know what I’m looking for, but he is trying to at least move his legs and take a step, even though it’s pitiful right now to say the least.

He was talking up a storm today too! He was talking so much that I wouldn’t be able to repeat it all here on Facebook. Some of what he says doesn’t make sense, but when asked his dad and mom’s name, his address, his kid’s names and mine, he got it right! Can you believe that?!?!?! You should see my face when he gets a question right. I’m like that proud mom at the spring play when their kid has the lead role and they get their lines right! I am just in awe with his speech today! I am slowly getting my husband back each day.

Prayer Requests:

1) It’s pretty obvious that Graham’s left arm is going to be his biggest challenge at getting back as far as the physical goes. I’m not even sure he knows it’s there most of the time and he keeps it very clenched to his side. The therapists are determined to make it work! But pray that God will make it work!

Miracle of the day:

There were too many to count today! He’s working harder at trying to stand and is getting stronger each day. He is working his legs better. He’s talking much more and telling me more of what he wants; like that he’s thirsty. He’s following most commands, although sometimes I think he thinks they’re dumb and won’t follow them because he’s stubborn. The therapists agree!

Humor of the day:

I walked into his room this morning and was so excited to see him. He immediately said something to me, but I had to ask him to repeat it because I couldn’t understand it. I got real close to his mouth and clear as day he said: “You’re smokin’ hot!” I laughed right at him and it made me feel good until 10 minutes later he said: “You don’t look familiar to me!” Oh well! At least he’s not telling the nurses they’re hot!
Keep praying!

One Response to “Update on Us 8/24/10”

  1. Leah August 26, 2010 at 6:48 pm #

    You are very lucky. I have one of those children who will never walk, talk or sit up on his own again. I’m glad your husband is progressing so much.

Leave a Reply

