Update on Us 8-21-10

21 Aug

I used to pride myself with the ability to multi-task and take on many projects all at once. Graham used to say that I could do the work in my sleep that most people spend all day trying to perfect. I am finding myself getting overwhelmed very easily these days. The thought of trying to tackle the once simple things in life are now hard to do, stressful, and I just feel like my head will pop! I used to enjoy cleaning my fridge out and keeping it clean. Cleaning it today nearly brought me to tears. I got it done, but you would have thought I was building a house, or something actually hard!

I went to visit Graham today with my sister, Renee, my mom, baby Keith and Renee’s youngest, Liam. Graham was in physical therapy when we arrived and it was very emotional seeing him see Keith and me. He instantly recognized us, and only wanted to be around Keith and I. He hugged me, and wanted to touch Keith. It was very sweet, but very hard too. I think he knows that he is hurt badly but he is also confused and hurting so much too. We spent the day in therapy together, and I was glad I was there. He seemed to be more calm with me helping him and encouraging him. The therapists are all so nice and positive about Graham and how he’s doing. I have to constantly remind myself that he’s only been in rehab for a few days, and he HAS come so far!

Graham is trying to talk, although, it’s not understandable yet. They are telling me that they really believe he WILL talk very soon, and I’m excited about that. He is still restless and irritated most of the time, but there are many times that he connects with me, the therapists, and others in the room. That is so encouraging to me!

I know I’ve said this before, but, I’m not wanting anyone to visit Graham right now other than my close family. I’m actually limiting them as well, just out of respect and love for him. I would appreciate your respect of my wishes in this. If you want to send a card I will make sure I read it to him.

Miracle of the day: I got my first kiss in 3 weeks! He actually put forth the effort and gave me a peck…..not the most romantic kiss ever, but I’ll take what I can get, and he knew that he was kissing me!

Humor of the day: I am officially addicted to Dunkin’ Donuts. They are everywhere and I just can’t get enough of those silly coffee drinks. I’m not so much for the Doughnuts, but the drinks are fun. I am not usually one to drink anything other than water. Not that I’m healthy, but rather because I just don’t like anything else. Well, that has now changed.

I am realizing more each day how hard and long this will be. Your prayers are working and the Lord IS healing Graham each day. PLEASE don’t stop praying! This will be months and perhaps years of getting my husband back to me, so please don’t become complacent and stop!

7 Responses to “Update on Us 8-21-10”

  1. Donna Langman August 23, 2010 at 1:18 am #

    Hello again. This is Donna Langman, the woman with the brain injured husband and 4 kids. I was thinking of rushing down there to talk with you but I think I will just write you instead as I know how busy you will be at this stage. Besides, it is a long drive for me!
    Graham will be scared of people he doesn’t know or people he did know well in the past. No doubt he is feeling very vunerable. The more you can be there the better but don’t run yourself down because you need to be his rock. He may also have a strange sense of time. I would leave for only 5 minutes and he would be thinking I was gone for an hour. I had put pictures of all of us with the kids names over their picture and also sheets with info about him such as, My name is Steve Langman. I am 43 years old. I live in Wasaga Beach. I am in Sunnybrook Hospital..etc. It was really helpful for him and he kept them up for several months. With his eyesight, he may be seeing double. An eye patch will help and it will get better as the brain figures it out. I also would go over his medications about every other day with the pharmacist to see what he could be taken off of. Some of his problems were being caused by the meds! Music and reading to him are all great things that you are doing. He will also need times of rest which is hard to get in a hospital. I would plan a rest time every day. We also went outside almost every day, tubes and bags and all. It took a few of us to get him there and we looke like a Three Stooges movie but when he was finally talking it was the only time that Steve even made any sense. When we went outside and layed on a blanket on the grass we would talk about everything. Steve has no memory of those first 7 weeks. I, of course, can’t forget them!
    I hope that I am not scaring you (or boring you!) with all this information. I truly hope that what I have experienced and learned will help you and Graham. Yes, you have a long road ahead of you but there are many blessings to come. Be strong and know that God knows what He is doing.

  2. becky gray August 23, 2010 at 1:40 am #

    Hi Randy,
    I just want you to know that our family will keep on praying for however many months, and maybe years, it will take for Graham’s healing. We’re in this for the long haul with you, even though you only know us as Lauren Gray’s family. We’re still part of the body of Christ together, and we rejoice with you over every step forward and hurt with you during the painful times.
    With love,
    The Dave and Becky Gray

  3. Sharon Faulkner August 23, 2010 at 2:24 am #

    Hi Randi, Hannah’s mom here again, the mom of the 14 year old with a TBI. I just want to affirm you in the whole coffee thing. I was a Starbucks junkie when Hannah was in the hospital. Simple treats like that are just what you need now.
    I continue to lift you up in prayer. The shearing injury is one we are aware of also. Hannah has a lot of shearing to heal from.
    Waiting.com is a very good website to explain the los amigos rancho scale and the stages of recovery you will walk through.
    I also want you continue to be strong in your no visitors policy. I also continue to monitar how many visitors we have still even after 5 months of recovery under our belt. I often morn over the quiet private life we once had… we have become very public after the accident. We also have a lot of people coming in our home to help with Hannah’s care.
    Praying for God’s healing and perfect will in your life, He is good and as Hannah says by typing( that’s how she communicates) He is loving and powerful.
    Blessings from Pa, Sharon

  4. Elizabeth Nelson August 23, 2010 at 3:11 am #

    Dear Randi and Graham, just a quick note to say that we are thinking of you and praying for you! I am sorry that John and I didnot make it up to the park for the prayer meeting but we pray for you every day. When Bryan was little and soooo sick, I remember days of being overwhelmed and not sure that I would make it thru. One of my favorite songs during that time was, “Jesus Loves Me THIS I KNOW”. I would sing it while driving back and forth to Albany for 2 weeks and then 3 weeks to Glens Falls and then Bryan was discharged from the hospital and we did 3 days a week to the hospital for 6 months. I thought it was over and then he developed sever allergies and we spent the next 4 years in and out of the hospital with him at one point missing 40 days of school. Thru it all, God was faithful! He will be faithful to you also and we will continue to pray for you, Graham, your children and your family.

  5. Heather Evans August 23, 2010 at 3:54 am #

    Randi,

    While I was reading a couple nights ago, I came across Psalm 20 and it struck my in a new way. I decided to look up the multiple ways it has been written and chose to share the Message version with you. This is my prayer for you and Graham.

    Psalm 20
    “God answer you on the day you crash, The name God-of-Jacob put you out of harm’s reach,

    Send reinforcements from Holy Hill,
    Dispatch from Zion fresh supplies,
    Exclaim over your offerings,
    Celebrate your sacrifices,
    Give you what your heart desires,
    Accomplish your plans.

    When you win, we plan to raise the roof and lead the parade with our banners. May all your wishes come true!

    That clinches it— help’s coming, an answer’s on the way, everything’s going to work out.

    See those people polishing their chariots, and those others grooming their horses? But we’re making garlands for God our God. The chariots will rust, those horses pull up lame— and we’ll be on our feet, standing tall.

    Make the king a winner, God; the day we call, give us your answer.”

    2 Corinthians 4:9
    “But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us. We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed.”

    We are all broken vessels being crushed and resculped by a master potter. Graham is just one of God’s beautiful masterpieces. We haven’t seen the work in its finished state. He’s not done. Each day Graham’s progress is amazing, and yet not possible for any man. Take in each day as God makes His presence known in your life.

  6. Vanessa Landers August 23, 2010 at 4:07 am #

    Just wanted to let you know what an incredible blessing this accident and you have been to me! You have been an amazing testimony of faith through this. It has made me look at my life again and realize how precious everyday with my husband and kids is and to not take the “everyday” stuff for granted because in a second it could be gone. I know you had said that Graham told you he felt like God was calling you guys into some kind of ministry…well maybe this is what He meant!! This has reached the hearts of soo many people already! God is using you both in an amazing way! When Graham is recovered, you will both have an incredible story and testimony of God’s grace, healing, and faith to spread to others whether you remain where you are or if you travel the world! I just want to tell you as a fellow mother and wife that my heart breaks for you and I would love to just hug you and tell you it’s all ok. I know I can’t but I have been praying that the Lord would just wrap His arms around you and that you would feel His love and strength. I will continue to pray for fast and complete healing for Graham and for strength for you to be able to make it through each day! It will be a hard road and just know there are so many people that love you guys and that you don’t have to be strong all the time- that’s why God’s there to lean on, along with everyone around you! Thank you for sharing this with everyone!

  7. Lura August 23, 2010 at 11:04 pm #

    Randi,
    I know you don’t know me, but I go to church with Rick and the family. When i saw this update it made me so happy. Im so glad he’s doing better! You are such an amazing person. No matter what it is you always stay positive and trust in God! ❤

Leave a Reply

