8-17-10 Update on Us

17 Aug

Graham’s sister, Sarah, and brother, Rick, arrived from Indiana yesterday to see me and Graham. I am so thankful for them and how they are helping me during this time. That they would drop their lives, family, and very pregnant wife to be with me, is just so touching. We had a good visit with Graham last night and I think they were encouraged to see how far he had come in a week. They got to see him breathing on his own, and just being more active in bed and in his chair. Please understand, that it is very difficult to see Graham right now and the state that he is in. When he opens his eyes it does not look like my husband. It’s like the lights are just not on right now. But he is fighting and doing a little better each day!

He is moving both of his legs now, and is trying to follow commands more. There are times where it seems he’s trying to figure out what happened and he gets confused and agitated more quickly now. I don’t think he can “see” everything right now, but it seems like he’s trying to “see” with his hands (esp his right hand). He’ll feel along his chest at his back brace, and try to reach for his neck collar to pull it off. He has accomplished his goal of getting it undone once now.

My miracle for the day: Graham is on his way to Sunnyview! This is a rehab place where I am praying with my whole heart that he will break through this dense fog that he’s under. He has a long hard road ahead of him, and so do I. The Lord is keeping His promises everyday to me by not giving me more than I can handle for one day, and providing something encouraging to get me through. Graham also performed a “trick” for the nurse today by giving her a very weak high-five when she asked him to. I’ll take it!

Humor of the day: During one of Graham’s coughing fits I thought that I had dodged the stuff hurdling my way. I was all proud of myself, until I reached to pull my now very short hair back and felt a huge wad of….well, I’ll spare you the details. Just have to laugh and go with it. I’ve had worse happen to me!

Keep praying, and thank you for all the cards and notes. I am reading each one and treasuring them. When Graham can understand me, he will hear each and every one!

8 Responses to “8-17-10 Update on Us”

  1. Heather Evans August 17, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

    Randi,

    I guess Graham really didn’t like the new haircut! LOL! I am so impressed at the progress Graham is making in such a short time. This is a long haul, but he is working hard even though it doesn’t always seem so. I know he doesn’t seem like himself, but continue to provoke him to do more. Ask many yes/no questions and require him to do certain things to answer, like squeezing your hand. God bless you for finding something funny in each day. That is so important to keeping your sanity. We’re still praying!

  2. Sharon Faulkner August 18, 2010 at 2:50 am #

    Dear Randi, Are you aware of the Los Amigos Rancho scale and what each step may bring? If you get a chance to see it , you may better understand what is happening inside of Graham. God has made our bodies in such a wonderful way, brains don’t heal like bones or other parts of our bodies but they do reroute. Begin practicing an 8 second count when you give him a command. It may take his brain that long to process something. He really sounds like he’s coming along quite quickly.
    Oh, and the starry eyed thing… I saw that in my friends son, it is rather erie, but that means he’s coming out!!
    Thank you for taking the time to post, I know it takes a lot of effort, I’ve been posting almost 5 months now and I haven’t missed many days. Hannah had a nurse that had a wife that had a head injury before the internet and he shared his info via answering machine. He encouraged me to keep writing it will help people remember. So, when I feel like I can’t write anymore… i remember it is part of our life line and I post.:)
    You are letting Jesus live through you… keep up the good attitude and keep finding humor.
    Blessings from Pa. Sharon Faulkner ( TBI daughter we are 5 months out in our journey.)

  3. Shibu Simon August 18, 2010 at 4:24 am #

    Randy,
    Please know that there are so many people praying for Graham and you in India. -Shibu & Julie

  4. Clint Knight August 18, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    Randi, while i don’t know you personally, I do know Rick and Sarah (along with the rest of the family here in Indiana). You are all a special part of my life. I continue to pray for all of you to have the strength to get through this. It is so encouraging to read your blog entries. I too have been going through some personal battles right now, but am encouraged by you to know that God is at work and it is okay to question every once in awhile why this is happening. I think deep down that the more we question, the more we realize how much we NEED God and how much He is so there for us. Love you all and am praying daily for your whole family.

  5. Hannah Didier (Friend of Joshua Brown, Katie Brown's husband) August 20, 2010 at 1:26 am #

    I agree with the post regarding the ranchos los scale. I am a physical therapist assistant and use that scale with our brain injury patients. It will be exciting to see how Graham progressess along the scale. You can look it up on line or ask the neurologist for a copy of it. They should be able to give it to you.

    Praying for you this evening and your boys as I am sure this is hard for them to be seperated from the daddy they know.

    Blessings on you

    Hannah

  6. Kirstin Nelson August 20, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    Hello,
    I have deleted my fb account and I’m so happy to see updates on this website. Are there any recent updates? We are praying for your family.

    God Bless
    Kirstin (Montgomery AL)

  7. Marlene Hibbard August 21, 2010 at 3:21 am #

    Praying for you and appreciate the comments of others and their encouragement. We love you

  8. Mary Ann & Del Benner August 21, 2010 at 4:36 am #

    Dear Randi,
    Just viewed the photos of dear friends praying for Graham and you. Please know though physically we’re not in Schroon – our prayers are for you both. You are on our hearts & in our prayers here in Harrisburg, PA. As you walked through today your photo reveals a woman whose confidence is in the Lord, Jesus does radiate through you. May His peace & comfort sustain and carry you. Much love & much prayer in the Lord!!!!

Leave a Reply

