Update on us 8/13/10

13 Aug

Today marks the 2 week point in this journey that we are on. I feel like it’s been more like 2 months and with everyone telling me that it’s going to be at least a year before Graham is somewhat functional, (if he’s functional) I can’t help but feel discouraged. Every moment I have to tell myself to put one foot in front of the other and to keep breathing. I have to keep reminding myself that the Lord is here with me in these dark hours and that He does have a plan for Graham and for me.

One thing that has been so on my mind today is how we do as his children during the “storms” of life. What is key to me is the “during” part. There is a Casting Crowns song that I’m sure many of you have heard before “Praise you in this storm”. Although MY heart is torn will I praise Him in this storm? For me, it’s this process of waiting and not knowing that is melting my core away and exposing what’s really there. I would like to say that it’s all good and I am continually in His word, praising His work and loving Him right now. I would be lying to you though! I am wrestling with God at times and am not sure why He would do this to me. Why would He take a great husband and father, someone who was actively serving the Lord EVERYDAY and put not only him through this, but me as well? Shouldn’t this stuff happen to those who are not living for the Lord and who have chosen to live their own life how they want and don’t even care about the Lord? You won’t find someone more sold out for Jesus than Graham!

When I have these thoughts, which happen quite often. I am quickly reminded that Graham IS still very much alive. I am also reminded that I do have a choice during this time on how I handle this “storm”, and my heart’s desire is to praise Him, even though it hurts so much. I have to trust the Lord that He has a plan and quite honestly it’s out of my hands anyway, so I can either go with it, or turn my back on Him. If I turn my back on Him I have not only lost Graham, but the Lord as well, HE is all I have right now! Why would I turn from Him?

My miracle for the day: Graham briefly “woke-up” last night around 6:30pm for his nurse. He was looking all around the room and was able to “track” the nurse and move his eyes toward her and toward noises. He was also moving his arms quite a lot and trying to pull at his gown (probably trying to get at that urinary catheter :0) Can’t blame him for that!

Humor of the day: Yesterday the nurse came in to clean out the vent in his neck. In order to do that she has to unplug it from his neck, which is very weird to see. All this air came rushing out and he started coughing out of his neck. I know kind of gross, but what was funny, was that Karrie was right in the line of fire and got some mucus sprayed on her face from across the room. We just have to roll with it I guess…but it was kind of funny!

Thanks for the prayers, keep them coming!

19 Responses to “Update on us 8/13/10”

  1. Leah August 13, 2010 at 11:32 pm #

    Hi~you don’t know me but I came across your story. I went through something somewhat similar in January. My 2 year old son was born with a VERY serious heart defect. On December 30th, he went into the hospital for his 5th open heart surgery. On January first, my little boy went into cardiac arrest for 30 minutes. Despite having over 20 people working on him, they were unable to get his heart working. His surgeon had to open his chest in the room and put him on ECMO (heart lung bypass). Because he was down for 30 minutes, he suffered a very profound brain injury. He lost every single thing that he had worked so hard to gain. After 4 months, I finally brought him home. He too has a trach and is on a ventilator at home. He is a quadriplegic. It is very hard and very sad, but know you’re not alone. I’ll be praying for you. I know what a hard road this is.

  2. Allison August 14, 2010 at 12:26 am #

    “Be strong and of a good courage, fear not, nor be afraid…for the LORD thy God, he it is that doth go with thee; he will not fail thee, nor forsake thee.” Deut. 31:6

    You folks are in my prayers. Allison

  3. Beth Herring August 14, 2010 at 1:07 am #

    Randi – i know that you don’t know who I am, but I found your website on another one and just wanted to come here and encourage you in this fight!

    I read all the back story and I just want to say ‘don’t ever give up on God”. He is the one who has the ultimate authority and if He says right now, “graham – rise up and walk”, then that’s exactly what would happen!

    6 months ago, a young girl in our town was hit by a car gonig 55 mph. she was walking across the road and was just hit with no braking or no letting up. the doctors gave Chelsea NO HOPE. But God did give her hope and He gave her life. It was a looongggg process and she still can’t walk on her own, but she is talking and she is regaining function and she is learning to walk again.

    God has a plan and we don’t always understand His plan, but i can see that you are right there ready to go with it! Praise God that you are ready to be used of Him when Graham is healed and ready to roll.

    I am praying my sweet friend. Praying for God to wrap you both up in His arms and take you from strength to strength in this journey. Praying that His will be done and that He will give you the wisdom to discern His voice.

    Beth Herring

  4. Emily Thiel August 14, 2010 at 1:54 am #

    hey i am a friend of Jess Hartzler. I just wanted to let you know that we are praying for you all and hope that things will go well for you all…..may the LORD BLESS YOU TODAY AND ALWAYS!!
    Emily Thiel ❤

  5. steven sacks August 14, 2010 at 2:16 am #

    the stump family is an inspiration to us all, thank you for putting up this blog and making the time to keep us updated on graham’s progress

  6. Amber Baker August 14, 2010 at 3:15 am #

    Hi Randi! We are following your updates everyday and praying as a family throughout the day for you all!!! So encouraging to hear of each miracle God is doing!! ~ sending a hug!! Love, Amber

  7. Eva Hidalgo Bergerac August 14, 2010 at 5:31 am #

    Hi Randi: You don’t know me. I’m Carlos Hidalgo’s sister. Also, of course, I’m Michael,Heather,Bumper, Jennifer,Jay and Michelle Hidalgo’s aunt.

    I’m so sorry to hear what happened to Graham and want to let you know that daily my prayers are with you, him and all the family. I’m sure there are hundreds of people out there that like me, even though we don’t know you personally, are praying for a complete recovery! I believe in miracles, and are praying that Graham will be one of them. Stay strong, know that you are not alone and keep your faith. One day you both will look back at this terrible time, smile and thank The Lord for HIS MIRACLE!! A warm embrace, your sister in Christ,

    Eva Hidalgo Bergerac

  8. Sarah Alley August 14, 2010 at 5:52 am #

    Randi, this is Sarah Alley, a friend of Graham and his family since Rick and I were in kindergarten. 🙂 As I read your update, this verse came to my mind and I wanted to share it with you. It just seemed really applicable to your situation.

    Isaiah 61:1-3
    “The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me, because the LORD has anointed me to preach good news to the poor. He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners, to proclaim the year of the LORD’s favor and the day of vengeance of our God, to comfort all who mourn, and provide for those who grieve in Zion—to bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair. They will be called oaks of righteousness, a planting of the LORD for the display of his splendor.”

    This was meant for you because you are in a time right now of mourning (for the life you had before the accident–though we don’t know what God has in store for you and Graham in the days and months ahead), brokenheartedness, and captivity, esp. with all that he is not able to do and the emotions you are feeling. God will show you “the day of His favor” and cause both you and Graham to be released from your captivity. Keep your eyes on Him and trust in Him; He will see you through. As I read Isaiah 63, the Crystal Lewis song “Beauty for Ashes”, taken from this passage, also came to mind. Here are the lyrics:

    Beauty for Ashes

    (Chorus)
    He gives beauty for ashes
    Strength for fear
    Gladness for mourning
    Peace for despair

    When sorrow seems to surround you
    When suffering hangs heavy oer your head
    Know that tomorrow brings
    Wholeness and healing
    God knows your need
    Just believe what He said

    REPEAT CHORUS

    When what you’ve done keeps you from moving on
    When fear wants to make itself at home in your heart
    Know that forgiveness brings
    Wholeness and healing
    God knows your need
    Just believe what He said

    REPEAT CHORUS

    I once was lost but God has found me
    Though I was bound Ive been set free
    I’ve been made righteous in His sight
    A display of His splendor all can see

    REPEAT CHORUS

    Love,
    Sarah

  9. Bunnie Fuller August 14, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

    My prayer went out for you and your children. They enemy has struck. God did not cause this. BUT he has give us the Authority to fight back. Pray over your husband. Speak Life into him every day. Like Christ, having the blind see, the lame walk, the deak to awake!! Prais him for giving you the power to overcome this horrible thing that satan has put in your way. Prayer is your weapon. I lost my husband who was in the same capacity as yours is. Only being able to move his eyes. I did not pray enough, I gave up. Others may pray, but you lay hands on him and put on the Armor of Christ and fight the enemy…

  10. Donna Kline August 14, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    My husband and I know Gary, Kathy and Rick — and we’re praying for, Graham and your family.

    I heard the song “What Can Separate You?” (Babbie Mason)while reading your post this morning, and the words of the song jumped out at me. Hope they encourage you, too!

    “His love reached from the heavens to the far ends of the earth, to give you life forever, He left no stone unturned. And before the birth of time, Jesus had you on His mind, so you never need to question His concern.”
    “He numbered each and every star and calls them all by name. He counts them one by one and sees that they are still in place. If He cares for every star, then He sees right where you are. You can trust you’ll never fall from His embrace.“

    “So what can separate you from the precious love of God? And who could ever come against His strong and perfect love? So when you’re in the valley, and your nights are cold and lonely, the darkest hour is just before the dawn. Remember nothing can separate you from God’s love.“

    We’re praying you feel the power of His love, His presence, His healing hand.

    Al & Donna Kline

  11. Diane Robinson August 14, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    I heard about the accident from the Matt Friedeman web site.
    I am praying that God himself will walk the hospital halls walk up to Grahams bed and touch him. I have ask for strength for you, courage, to stand by his bed. I told willliam you post it everyday, I’ll pray everyday. god will have a miracle for you, Hold on.

  12. Phil Ackerman August 14, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    Ramdi and family, I sit here in Fishers, Indiana and remember my first contact wiith the Stump family. It was probably before you were born. Dick Stump would greet me at the Businessmens Prayer Breakfast and we would come in and sit at a table and just begin to pray and keep praying until Breakfast was served. How fitting it is as I remember those days that some 30 years later I am now praying with Dick’s granddaughter for the healing of his Grandson, Somehow I feel that the Lord is NOT finished with Graham. Throughout the Bible we see where God, before He would begin a ministry would take His “Annointed Ones” through a period of testing and trials. Jesus, as you know was tested for 40 days and nights. But Praise God, we know, “The rest of the story”, so if I may encourage you, this is all part of God’s Devine Plan. I am excited to see what our Lord has in store for you and Graham. I will NOT cease to pray for you. Please take a deep breath and receive ALL the prayer support that is being lifted up for you. Allow it to carry you my dear sister. We LOVE you !!

  13. Geri Hedden August 14, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

    OK, Sweetie Pie…I just read your latest update. My advice to you, even though you don’t KNOW me…is not to worry about what ANYONE ELSE THINKS!!!! Do what you have to do to get through the night. Been there done that. It does NOT make you any less a Christian to take Tylenol PM, or ask the doctor for some help with anxiety. There is NOTHING wrong with that! Honey…your body is going through a whole different stress than Grahams. Sometimes I think it’s the patients family that has it harder. The patient…Graham, is recieving the meds he needs to keep him calm, comfortable, and he is helping him heal. You need the same thing, but for some reason we think that we don’t. Go to the doctor. I’m sure he know’s your story. If he’s unaware, tell him, and let them HELP YOU to get through this. You are on a long journey….God is working miracles in your entire family…but please…Sweetie…don’t be afraid you will look weak if you ask for help….You will look responsible, strong and healthy, rather than exhausted…well, you’ll still be exhausted, but in a different way. OH I hope I’m making sense. You are young…yes. Graham is young…yes, he’s getting what he needs….God understands. Praying hard for all of you…

  14. Esther Copley August 14, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    Hello Randi,
    I have been praying for Graham, you, and the entire Stump Family. I am so glad to see that Graham is doing better a little each day. It shows that GOD does listen to the prayers. you are one of the Strongest people I know. I will continue praying for Graham, you, and everyone else that is hurting from this.
    God Bless

  15. David Bubar August 15, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    I read about you thinking about Casting Crown’s “Praise you in the Storm” and it got me thinking, remembering all kinds of songs on the same theme. “Leaning on the Everlasting Arms”, Christine Wyrtzen’s “Carry Me” came especially to mind.

    The chorus goes:

    Carry me, carry me, wont you carry me now.
    I’m too weak to travel and walk on my own.
    I’ll rest in your love till once more I can stand
    And journey beside me and follow you home.

    Her whole album “For those who hurt” is a real encouragement. As is Ginger Millermon’s work.

  16. Cami August 15, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    Randi,
    I know you don’t know me, but I am one of Austin’s cousins. I have just been thru a similar accident with my nephew. He was crossing the street and was hit by a car that didn’t even slow down until after he hit my nephew. We were told that my nephew was going to have severe brain damage as well. This accident happened in March of this year. Right now my nephew is in rehab hospital learning to walk again. Keep the faith and keep praying and know that there are friends, family and people that you don’t even know praying for your family. My family will add your family to our prayer lists. The doctors tend to give the worst so that you are prepared for the worst, but they pray and hope for the best. Continue to talk to Graham and pray with him and do things with him, because even if he doesn’t remember, he will sense your presence there. Keep praying to the All Mighty Father and he will give you the wisdom to know what to do and when to do it. And most of all touch Graham. Don’t let the wires, tubes and hoses scare you enough that you don’t touch him. Your touch will be a comfort to him, and will give him the strength and willpower to fight to come back to you. Benjie, my nephew, took what seemed like forever to get the sedation medication out of his system and the more that he got out of his system, the better he became, and the less “brain damaged” he actually was. He started out like Graham tracking and following directions, but continued to improve. I know that it is scary to be in this situation, and my best advice is to give your fears and worries to God. And let your friends and family do what they can for you in this your time of need. Take advantage of them now while you can. They are offering out of love, and it is their way to be of help or service to God and you. Love and Prayers Cami and Family.

  17. Bert August 15, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

    I am a member of Westport Bible Church and we all have been praying for you and Graham and will continue to do so.

  18. lauren kunz August 15, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

    I have a 3yr old son who was diagnosed with a severe brain injury at 4mos old. When the doctor came in to give me the results of the MRI he told me that my baby would NEVER be able to do anything he had no white matter in his brain. His words to me were take him home and love him the best you can.
    My son by GOD’S GRACE has done amazing things. He is not what the world would call normal but I have seen a living God who performs miracles and my son is one of those.
    At a recent appt with a new doctor I had given the nurse the latest MRI report for the Dr. to review. He came in the room and started looking around not seeing another child he said to me is this Grant. He then proceeded to tell me that he would never have put my child together with the MRI he had seen b/c my baby is doing so well.
    GOD is bigger than any test results.
    You are on our paryer list at Midlothian Bible Church Midlothian,Tx our pastor is Dave Wyrtzen.

  19. Christa August 15, 2010 at 10:51 pm #

    Last year I had to watch my 20 month old daughter suffer thru a 10 hospital stay last year, and I kept saying ‘why does she have to shed all this blood and suffer this much pain?’ But I was reminded that He sent His ONE and ONLY son to suffer even worse and it was only so many could be saved!

Leave a Reply

