A Style all my Own

14 Aug

Style—it hasn’t made her mark on me, not a lasting one anyway.

I’ve never been able to define mine because like the blowing of the winds here in the mountains, it seems to change everyday. Each month. Every year.

I scan my closet, old pictures, my house, and ponder the question:

“What was I thinking?”

Did I really at one time pull that shirt over my head, my arms sliding through, the fabric brushing my sides and actually venture out in public?

Why didn’t anyone stop me?

And worse—would it even still fit today?

My hair has been dabbled with more times than a child splashes in a new found puddle.  There were the bangs. Then no bangs.  Long.  Short.  Dark.  Not so dark.  Crimped.  Straight. And then repeated again over the course of 15 years.

I’ve picked things out for our home and later sat staring at the poor color choice for the walls, and doors, trim. I know at one time I must have liked it for it was I who picked it out, carrying it to the register and actually handing money over for it.

While my tastes and styles have changed dramatically over the years, I can’t bring myself to alter what I don’t like anymore.

So, the chair stays, the throw rug remains. I feel I have to live with my decisions—that and I’m too cheap to do anything about it.

Part of me hopes for that returned spark I had in the beginning. Something to bring me back to what I first loved.

I’m still waiting.

Still, there’s this one thing I absolutely love.

It finds its way to the top of my list any day.  I haven’t outgrown it. I haven’t gotten tired of seeing it.  Instead of wrinkling my nose in despair when I pass it by, I get excited, wanting to look a bit longer. I still love its color, its smell, its feel—even after all these years.

I like to think of myself as blessed, having nothing to do with the ‘picking’ of this thing in my life.  And you can think me corny, or sappy, but the Lord actually bought and paid for him, dropping him in my lap at the age of 20. I fell hard and fast and never once doubted that Graham was the one for me—even with all we’ve been through.

I vowed to him 10 years ago that I’d love him and cherish him and hold him dear through it all.  They were heartfelt words and I truly meant them, but it would be the words I’d say to him 7 years later that would really matter, the ones that would truly bind me to him until death parted us.

And death almost did do just that.  Part us.

He’d never hear me say how I’d stay with him as he fought through his coma, his brain injury devastating, the future unknown. He’d never remember any of it nor would he even repeat any sorts of words back to me. All I had in that moment was my commitment to him, my steadfast love and desire to keep on keeping on, even when it looked dire, impossible to do.

You’re a fool to think I did any of this on my own—the Lord’s words and love dominated and trumped anything I could’ve done in my own strength.

And so, here we are after all these years. Still together. Still fascinated in our ‘purchase’ of each other.  Sure, we argue; we fight like the crabs we sometimes are. But our ‘style’ remains. My taste in Graham has not changed.  And I have not grown weary or tired of the one thing I’ve been around the longest.

It truly must be love.

EK_0001

            We sure look like babies here, only 20.  August 9th, 2003

EK_0008

IMG_0292

3 kids and a traumatic brain injury later….

We’re only getting warmed up!

8 Responses to “A Style all my Own”

  1. Laureen Lawrence August 14, 2013 at 1:17 am #

    Stole Amber Johns’ copy of your book…it hurts to read it as it brings back so many memories of Joshua’s TBI but we know the end…we know God is still on His throne!!! The lady assisting in the PT photo with Graham was there with Joshua!!!! God bless you for sharing your story!

  2. Carlos Hidalgo August 14, 2013 at 1:25 am #

    Marvelous!

  3. randistump August 14, 2013 at 1:36 am #

    Thank you so much Laureen for your sweet comment! That is crazy that he was at the same place as your Joshua, with the same PT’s! CRAZY! I would love for you to leave a review on Amazon…if you have a minute! Coming from someone like you with a similar story would be really great! thanks for praying and supporting us!

  4. Mitzi Ackerman August 14, 2013 at 3:09 am #

    Randi, I am part of Onward Church with your family in Indiana. I was telling Abby how much I loved reading your book, and she asked me to let you know. I know we’ve never met, but I love your family, and I prayed for you all during the whole accident/recovery process. So it was so meaningful for me to read your book as someone who knows and loves the people involved, however, I would have loved it just as much if I never knew anyone. It is an AMAZING story, and you wrote it so beautifully. I’m having all my kids read it too. Such a testimony of God’s incredible power and your faithfulness. I am convinced that the whole thing needs to be made into a movie!

  5. randistump August 14, 2013 at 11:29 am #

    Thanks Mitzi! that is funny you think it should be a movie:)…I’m glad you liked it and thanks for praying for us!

  6. Martha Hidalgo August 14, 2013 at 12:21 pm #

    What a precious post Randi, both God honoring and a tribute to your marriage – it is such a joy to see how God has worked in both of your lives. In case I did not tell you I loved the book-I plan on reading it a second time. Love you, Martha

  7. Mona S August 14, 2013 at 4:54 pm #

    WOW!!! That’s incredible! Not that you stayed through it all, and are still staying, but that God has blessed you with the gift of writing….Doug started the book, but had to give it back to Jenny. We want to get one, please. I can’t promise I can read it yet….I get overwhelmed just reading the blog….still pray for you both, but I will get it read and we will cry and rejoice! So thankful for what God has done and is still doing in your lives….keep being a beacon!

  8. Tammi T. August 17, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

    What a blessing this blog post is. Thanks for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

